We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Misty Mountain

Traveller (156)
Room & Suite (38)
Pool & Beach (9)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Misty Mountain is a relaxed, informal, family friendly, owner managed establishment. Our accommodation comprises 27 chalet units and 1 self-catering farmhouse (total of 94 beds) offering comfortable, country style accommodation with easy access to the restaurant and all other facilities. A nature lover’s haven, situated on 280 hectare South African Natural Heritage Site on the spectacular Long Tom Pass (31 km from Lydenburg (Mashishing) and 24 km from Sabie), Mpumalanga, South Africa. Perched at an altitude of 1700 metres above sea level in a malaria free area, Misty Mountain is uniquely set in mountainous countryside with majestic views across the escarpment and into the Lowveld.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
Long Tom Pass Long Tom Pass on R37, Sabie 1260 South Africa
Getting there
Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport50 km
See all nearby hotels
239Reviews
160Photos
3Q+A
44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 99
  • 30
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+4
Beautiful venue with natural scenery adding to its charm. Free wifi adequate. We stayed in the farmhouse accommodating 10 people. Bedding clean and rooms neat. Each bedroom is allocated its own bathroom. Kitchen well equipped and gas stove helped when we experienced
Read more
Response from Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 346KarenJ, Many thanks for your good review. The farmhouse is very popular, particularly with family and friend groups. It seemed to suit your group well too! We look forward to seeing you in the future. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain
Read more
I have been visiting misty mountians for many years but never again. Me and my wife stopped there for some chill time and refreshments. We were the only two customers. When we walked in nobody greeted us and we waved friendly. The manager ,arc sat outside and made no attempt to
Read more
Response from Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain
Responded Dec. 28, 2018
Dear W00dy1968, We have noted your review. According to our CCTV camera footage, you account of things is inaccurate. From your arrival at 17h02, followed by your visit to the toilets, sitting down at the table, your order being placed and received, took a total of 8 minutes. We believe that this is totally acceptable. As far as your personal interaction with Lillian is concerned, it would appear that you too contributed to the unfortunate situation that ensued. We have discussed the incident with Lillian. And perhaps you, like her, should also consider how you speak to other people. Maybe a cooling off period is a good idea. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain
Read more
I have been coming to Misty mountain for a number of years now and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very cosy and well appointed. The grounds are amazing with walks and the famous tabogan ride. It has two pools one with a spectacular view into the pine forests and low
Read more
Response from Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain
Responded Dec. 16, 2018
Dear Constant N, Many thanks for your great review. I guess that consistency is very important in the hospitality industry, so we are pleased that you have had consistently good times at Misty Mountain over the years. Hope to see you soon again! With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain
Read more
Great little lodge in just after the long Tom pass, friendly service, good food and good management. Chalets have a view of the Great mountains and the lodge always has mist. Only gripe is one hears the car from the nearby Sabie/Lydenburg road.
Read more
Response from Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain
Responded Nov. 17, 2018
Dear Mike_G6308, Many thank for your good review. We try to ensure that everything pertaining to the lodge itself is well managed and pleasurable to our guests. So we are glad that you noted this and that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, we cannot control the road noise or vehicles that choose to drive this route. But it's still much quieter and more tranquil than being in the city - and that is why most of our guests visit! With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain
Read more
We stayed in the farmhouse and our stay was excellent. The kitchen was well equipped and the house very cosy. Beautiful views from the lodge and the Toboggan ride was simply amazing. We had an excellent stay.
Read more
Response from Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain
Responded Nov. 17, 2018
Dear Narishad, Thank you for the excellent review. The farmhouse has proved to be gem for those that prefer the self-catering option. Glad it met your expectations! Please visit us again. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Kaminecke
Blick ins Badezimmer
Doppelbett
PreviousNext
1234568
Many people visiting Panorama Route stay with us. It is as convenient as any other hotel in the area. Thx
0 votes
Show all answers
Can one obtain early breakfast say 6am please?
Hi there. Yes, the pool is ready for use. Please note that our pool is not heated, but it is summer time here, so water temperature is pleasant at this time of the year. See you soon!
1 vote
"Go to another hotel and stay away."
"Not room 6"
"Chalets are almost identical but the south row has fantastic views with the north facing row looking out over lawns and trees."
"any of the front chalets"
"Ask for the ones with a view"
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaSabie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing