We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bunyonyi Overland Resort

Jumia TravelUS$48*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bunyonyi Overland Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Stayed here as part of a tour, stayed down at the campsite. The place is beautiful, stunning lake with amazing views. Staff were friendly, showers and toilets clean. Tricky showers as the water would go from cold to really hot and hard to get something in between. Also, only one womens shower down by the camp. The campsite being so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amixtika
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Dear Amixtika, Thank you for reviewing our resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be friendly. It is our desire and goal to offer our clients the best comfort and experience while staying with us. We appreciate your comments about the difficult terrain and Management has been informed of your genuine...

Manchester, Vermont
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We took a boat trip from Bunyonyi Overland for 1hr and visited another island, the place was clean and beautiful the staff were nice we had a drink when we got back the toilets were very clean though we never spent a night or go to rooms the place looked nice. Hope to try it next time. Visited February 2016.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheena134
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sheena, Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We are pleased to learn you liked the ambiance and that you were impressed by our staff and facilities. We would have loved to host you for the night and look forwards to receiving you back soon in the not too distant future. Do let us know when to...

Clarington, Ohio
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We spent 2 night at Bunyonyi Overland. The first night we stayed in one of the tents and it was nice. The bed was kind of saggy so we decided on a cottage the next night. We got a newish cottage at the top of the hill and it was very nice. clean and new. The beds were very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Drbob9019
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us positively for the travel community. We are pleased you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed the experience. Management has been informed about the saggy beds and efforts will be made to make improvements. We are sorry for the delayed service in the dinning. This is an issue that management is working on...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 11 August 2016

A nice place on a very strategic place. The view is fantastic and it's a very good place to just sit and relax. Originally we were in a double room, with shared facilities. The shared bathrooms and showers looked ok, not that clean and we didn't really want to use them, so we asked to change the room to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fozgirl
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fozgirl, We appreciate your kind review of our resort and for rating us pretty highly. We are real happy that you enjoyed your stay despite the minor hiccups. Management has been informed of the need to improve on our cleanliness of the shared facilities especially the showers and we shall ensure that this is done. Our desire is to...

Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewed 7 August 2016

My family and I just returned home from a wonderful weekend at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, the customer service we received was amazing! After living in Africa for over 4 yrs, this was the best service I have received. The front office was great at fixing an issue with our cottages to quickly move us to better accommodations. The wait staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dlphin99
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and positive review of our resort. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you well and took good care of your family. It is our desire to satisfy our customers and we appreciate your reviewing our resort for the travel community. We are sorry that some of...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights here and the views of the lake are stunning. You can hire a dugout canoe for $10, jump off a 20ft platform or just chill out on the pontoon or pier looking out for birds or watching the world go by. To be honest though I think they are victims of their own success: passing trade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmB1000
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review of our resort. We are very sorry to learn you experienced some service hiccups and delays while visiting our resort. Management has been informed and efforts will be made to offer more professional training to our staff to ensure they improve their customer relations and service. We are constantly striving to meet the needs...

melbourne
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

This place is stunning!!stayed here whilst on a g adventures tour. We got here n it is so picturesque u can sit n just stare out!! We had the option to upgrade to rooms or camp, we chose to camp on the grounds by the lake. Nice shower facilities. Great restaurant/bar where our group spent a lot of time chillin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonia8587
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sonia, Thank you very much for your kind review of our resort. We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the ambiance and surroundings. It is our joy to make our clients satisfied and ensure they have lasting memories of the Resort. We are sorry about the supposed 'mammoth stairs' which you seem...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Nice and orderly management gave me the comfort to feel at home while at Bunyonyi Overland RESORT.. They have their own transportation which makes it very easy and fast to get to the resort and back to town. They have great tour guides with high level of hospitality. I would never hastate going back or taking my friends to these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 775,407,637
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our resort. Management is pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to satisfying our customers and look forwards very much to receiving you at Bunyonyi Overland Resort again soon. Appreciate your reviewing our resort for the travellers.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I visited this place on a weekend and I enjoyed my stay.The beautiful view of Lake Bunyonyi and the cottages were comfortable. The evening fireplace was one of the highlights where I got to mingle with people from diverse backgrounds. The service was good and the food was great. I definitely look forward to visiting this place again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Kryptonite
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew for your kind review of our resort. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We value your appreciation of the fireplace, food and service. We all look forwards very much, to hosting you again pretty soon.

Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The facility is huge and nicely located with different room choices from tent to rooms. We took the most expensive for USD 70 with breakfast. At breakfast they wanted to offer us English breakfast and we had a big argument and we were at the end given a good breakfast. The mattresses were terrible. The lunch was excellent on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hisham L
Chilli-Bite, Director of Sales at Bunyonyi Overland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review of our resort. We are glad you did somewhat experience our good hospitality but excuse us for the few shortcomings. It is our utmost desire to satisfy all our customers. We are sorry you didn't quite like the mattresses and that you experienced some disappointments with the food. Management has been informed of your...

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
30.0 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
81 reviews
0.0 km away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#11 of 29 in Kabale
33 reviews
1.9 km away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
2.8 km away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
66 reviews
3.4 km away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#5 of 20 in Kabale
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering Spectacular views of the lake, Bunyonyi Overland Resort is set on the shores of Lake Bunyonyi. The resort has a children's playground and sun terrace, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Free WiFi is featured and free private parking is available on site. With over 40 rooms Bunyonyi Overland Resort offers accommodation in Lake Bunyonyi for all budgets. A terrace or balcony are featured in certain rooms. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. You do canoeing,bird watching, hiking at this resort, and the area is popular for diving. The resort also offers bike hire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bunyonyi Overland Resort

Address: Plot 1, Kazooba Road | P.O Box 710, Kabale, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Price Range: $69 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bunyonyi Overland Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bunyonyi Overland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bunyonyi Overland Hotel Kisoro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bunyonyi Overland Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bunyonyi Overland Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a tent by the lake for a good view”
OrlaD764, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only the cottages can meet a certain quality level, even because they are the only ones self-contained. Avoid both the cabins and the tents.”
, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Negociate price of the canoes... They ask for too much money...”
240jordig, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lots of activities in the area”
129berylw, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms by the lake offer a great view of the lake”
MsKosgey, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$48* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$70
Expedia.comUS$63
Orbitz.comUS$63
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates