We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Strumhor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Connel
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Strumhor
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of Strumhor
 Click to rate
Monster
Reviewed 29 September 2016

What a delight to stay here! Large clean room, spotless bathroom, wonderful breakfast, coffee and tea faciliiies in the room. I eat glutenfree, and Olga had bought special breakfast items for me! Every day, there was a breakfast special, f.i. Eggs Benedict. Thank you so much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaW
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

It was lovely having you to stay. Thank you so much for your nice review. Good to see the photos of the spur dog !

Solihull
Reviewed 8 July 2016

This is how it should be. We booked for two nights and a good job we did as we had problems with the car the day after arrival. Olga swung into action and could not have been more helpful as we organised the RAC to sort out our problem using a local garage. We were allowed to use our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much - you are very welcome and we are so sorry about the spoiling of your holiday by the fault in your car. We were glad to help. I hope the rest of your holiday was without incident!

Mid Yell, Shetland
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This is an outstanding place to stay for a visit to this fascinating part of Scotland. The hosts, Olga and Tony, are very friendly and obliging and offer much of the ground floor of their beautiful house for the use of guests: two comfortable and well-appointed guest bedrooms, a lovely conservatory overlooking the Falls of Lorn, a very comfortable lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian G
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am already looking forward to your next visit!

Brisbane
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in the Lorn room which has a very good view out over the water and the Falls of Lora. The host, Olga, met us on arrival and made us feel welcome with tea, coffee and scones. Our room was very comfy with an ensuite and also a small private sitting room (also with a view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WidelyTravelled_11
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this. It was a pleasure to have you to stay. I'd be very happy to have you here again!

habana
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Never heard of Connel until i watched a programme on tv & thought how lovely,i'll have to go there,i found Strumhor on another website & liked the look of it too,well i wasn't disappointed, the owners Tony & Olga were so nic & helpful with recommendations of where to visit,,my room "Etive" was bright,clean,modern & spacious,with a superb view,the bonus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_cuban
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

How very kind! Thank you so much for your nice review and we would be pleased to see you again.

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Should you be travelling to the Isle of Mull from Oban and need an overnight stay then don't stay over in Oban, stay here instead! The welcome you receive is as warm as you'll find anywhere. The rooms are clean, bright and airy. Breakfast is "top notch" especially the home made pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Oh, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasfarley
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this! It was a pleasure to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You'll just have to come again!

Reviewed 21 December 2015

This was my first trip to the Oban area and Strumhor B&B, although my partner had visited the area before, . We received a very warm welcome, which was more than can be said for the weather at that point, from our hosts. The double room itself was fantastic with a separate shower/bath/toilet and a small sitting area with TV....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenH2968
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this. It was a pity about the weather but that is, of course, out of our control! Glad you were happy here anyway. You were most welcome!

Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

My wife and I, along with my 76 year old father-in-law, have just enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at Strumhor. From the ample parking at the rear of the property there are a few easily climbed steps (my father-in-law has mobility problems)into a large hallway that also serves as the breakfast room, both of our rooms lead of of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this, Nigel. Your visit was good fun and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We have just had the most amazing visit to Olga and Tony's B&B. The rooms were spotless, extremely comfortable beds and the facilities were truly excellent. The breakfast choices were amazing and so incredibly tasty. I loved every single thing about our three nights except having to leave! Nothing was too much trouble and we cannot wait to go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you so much. It was a complete pleasure to have you all here and I'm looking forward to Hogmanay with you. Let's hope for better weather!

Paris, France
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We spent 2 nights at Strumhor, and honestly, we were a bit disappointed, all the more since the reviews on Tripadvisor are very positive. We had the Morvern room, and it clearly needs renovation : the paint is flaking and the furniture is quite old. Another problem is that the room directly communicate with the lobby, which means you'll hear...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CapablancaTraveller
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

I am shocked and disappointed by this review and do apologise for the non-cleaning of the toilet. The little bit of bubbling on one wall is due to a new damp proof course being put in mid-season when we have been unable to repaint the room due to constant flow of guests. It will be dealt with as soon as...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.0 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
422 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.0 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 9 in Connel
544 reviews
0.0 km away
Ards House
Ards House
#4 of 9 in Connel
48 reviews
0.0 km away
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Lochnell Arms Hotel
#2 of 9 in Connel
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lochside accommodation with contemporary decor. Superb views over the sea, hills and islands. Variety of freshly cooked breakfasts and good buffet. Conservatory with panoramic views. Library of books and DVDs. Tea/coffee with home baking on arrival. Dinner three nights a week. Woodburning stove in lounge in winter.Sea kayaking also arranged. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strumhor

Address: Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Price Range: $83 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Strumhor Connel, Scotland - Oban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Strumhor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Etive on the first floor has great views”
 of 5 bubbles the_cuban, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Lorn offers the best views”
 of 5 bubbles 293nigelh, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“ask for the room with the snug and additional seating.”
 of 5 bubbles leonardm687, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The Lorn is the biggest and most spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Speckul8r, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The LORN room is ,while the most expensive, really lovely.All the roomier nice.”
 of 5 bubbles tamar115, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5