We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Insight Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Insight Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of Insight Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Outstanding , excellent and lovely place . We have spent 10 days in the hotel and it was just perfect , the staff are kind , the food is good and the location is the best in the area with an amazing beach and a very good pool . If you are with kids this is the place for you....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ADVAandITAY
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you ever so much for your honest and appreciative comments about our Insight Resort and its staff. Yes, the location of the resort has been praised by many of our guests especially the stretch of beach in front. We are happy to note that you and your family were well looked after by our staff. We do...

bingley
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having had 2 weeks wounderfull and hectic Sri Lankan tour the Insight Resort was the perfect place to enjoy and relax in the sun .Next to the beach with a lovelly pool in cooling gardens with friendly sqirrels. we recieved a lovelly freindly wecome and the staff were always friendly and helpfull.the bed room was extremly comfortable with large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon d
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir We are indeed pleased and flattered. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and that everything was to your satisfaction – including the tuc tuc rides you managed on your own. We always strive to the maximum to give our guests an enjoyable stay, Sir, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I do not recommend the hotel if you want to feel safe and at ease. The employees washed my clothes without a request for this service.... and while they were at it, helped themselves to 6000 rupees in my pocket. I addressed management about the issue who responded first in a defensive manner and then with a simple shrug. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisa V
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Elisa, Let me first of all extend my apologies to Elisa V for her disappointment. Sorry about it. And I do accept the fact that there had been poor handling on the part of our reception staff. However madam, if you felt that the front office manager was not handling the issue fair, we are sorry about it...

Knesselare, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were welcomed with a fruit juice and shown to our room. Most rooms have a beach view. We were unfortunate to have rain and clouds every day during our trip but still enjoyed the swimming pool that is well maintained and clean. Dinner was very nice and so was breakfast. There were not many guests in the hotel when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Globetrotters01
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you ever so much for your good comments of Insight Resort, Ahangama, especially of the pool. Yes, our pool in the middle of a nicely landscaped garden overlooking the sea has been an attraction to most of our guests. Happy to note that you have enjoyed our spread of buffets. You will always see friendly staff...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

Fabulous location and good pool, beach and spa. The quality of food was poor and the service in the restaurant was dreadful. Breakfast was especially disappointing (ran out of food/drinks easily and slow to replace) but generally the quality of food (lunch and dinner) was below par and therefore over-priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HoddersHodders
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments about the location of our Resort and the facilities we provide. If you look at our usual comments of quality of our food, they always talk of good food and variety of it. We have not experienced any complains about the quantity or the delays in refilling either. However, we are trying our best to locate...

surrey
Reviewed 14 January 2017

service is good food is worth the cost sea view is brilent for a resonably price hotel this dileverd what you need from a resort hotel .the beach is the best asset of this hotel the new wing is very good staff are help full

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank herbiefrogg
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, We appreciate your good comments about the Insight Resort. Your comments surely contribute to the discerning traveler with the correct facts and information in finding the right product. Thank you very much for choosing “Insight” and hope to see you again soon.

La Croix-Valmer, France
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Fantastic location!!! ahangama is a small village but it has a train station which is 300meters from hotel so access to galle / matara is easy.the hotel has a private beach and good sized pool.breakfast is buffet stye and large.we payed a bit more for a balcony facing the beach well worth it.after our first week travelling around the country...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alectweedie
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you very much for your lovely comments of our Resort. Yes, the resort is in the close proximity to the train station as well as the main road and also just by the beautiful stretch of beach. We are happy to note that the cozy atmosphere of the newly renovated Insight Resort has catered your much...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The property is very appropriately located just by the beach.The beach and surroundings are very well kept.Room decor is nice and staff is very helpful cordial and hospitable. I liked the pool and juice bar in particular. Rooms are nice,bright and airy. Nice arrangement to keep children busy with various games.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sonali T
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Sonali, Thank you very much for your lovely comments and happy to note that you liked our resort very much, specially the pool and the juice bar. We would like to welcome you again to enjoy and discover more about our resort “Insight”. Thank you.

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Greeted with a beautiful view but in the room we were welcomed by 500 mosquitos. The rooms are budget like and our 3rd cot was a rickety uncomfortable metal fold bed which is not we expect in a resort of this size. The service is poor with friendly staff but they lack training and professionalism. This hotel can be huge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thirukkumaran N
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you and welcome your comments. There may have been a few mosquitos out in the garden and in the restaurant as the gentleman has stayed in the hotel from 26th to 28th December and just prior to that there was a shower. However, with the fogging treatment done three times a month, we refuse to accept...

Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 December 2016

As I was travelling with an organised group, I didn't pick the place myself. So I didn't have any special expectations. The hotel is right at the beach, but also close at a busy road (although we didn't notice that in our room) with a bus stop very close by. There is also a supermarket very close by. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana F
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. It’s true that the hotel is situated by the road side but you have noticed that there is no noise disturbance in the resort area. This is because the hotel has been Architecturally Designed in such a manner, that the road side is well covered by the service buildings, so that there is...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
4.6 km away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
377 reviews
2.7 km away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 4 in Ahangama
130 reviews
4.0 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
192 reviews
6.9 km away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Weligama
114 reviews
5.8 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Price Range: $41 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Insight Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Insight Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room we had was large with great veiws over the garden and sea but did not have a balconey on the backI”
 of 5 bubbles simond546, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor balcony rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles HoddersHodders, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“501 good sea view higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles herbiefrogg, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach facing balcony”
 of 5 bubbles alectweedie, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with a balcony on the front overlooking the sea”
 of 5 bubbles CCG2012, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5