We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dunard Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Dunard Hostel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Dunard Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Annex had very warm rooms, good kitchen and shower facilities, easy walking to shops, great views, log burner in adjacent hostel and good value for money. Bus can be arranged to drop off and pick up. Jim King and Aileen Morrison

1Thank Jmskingdrum
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed in the garden cabin, which was cosy but small (a bit inconvenient when you have to hang up all your wet clothes inside to dry) however when the sun shines you can enjoy your own picnic table just outside, it’s also good for drying wet clothes! The only downside to this place was that there were some spiders...

Thank Cate_L_D
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The hostel is pretty good, and rather good price of £18 a night for the bunk rooms. - It has a load of info of the are, and there is an OS map of the island which is helpful - The sitting area is really nice, especially with the fire on the go. - It's very close to the Co-Op...

Thank Andrew M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We visited the Dunard Hostel as part of our cycling tour of the island. We booked the Garden Cabin, hoping for some privacy away from the main building. However, you do not have access to any mains power and the main light you have to charge by hand (its a do it yourself charing light). We had to use the...

Thank DanAdventure
outblueyonder, Owner at Dunard Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Dan, Thank you for your review, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful island. We have posted up pictures of the cabin, and all our hostel rooms, both on Tripadvsior, and on our website, so people will know what to expect before they arrive. Many of our guest love the 'back to nature' cabin in the...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed in hostel for one night & was appalled at the family room. The duvets were very old & lumpy & didn't look clean BUT the worst part was the mocked up door handle. Surely this is not safe. J cloth & duct tape as a means to open a fire door. Pretty shoddy.

Thank Sheila C
outblueyonder, Owner at Dunard Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sheila, We are sorry that you were unhappy with your visit. It is always very disappointing when we get a trip advisor review that is out of character from the majority of reviews. We can assure you that the hostel is cleaned daily, and that all the bedding is changed daily. We take great pride in our family run...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Due to the insanities of CalMac scheduling I needed to spend a night on Barra when travelling from South Uist to Oban (don't depend on the Mallaig ferry to get you to the mainland - it only sails if there is no r in the month AND there isn't so much as a breeze). The hostel is beautifully situated 200...

1Thank Duncan R
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed in double room with my wife. Facilities were excellent, kitchen was clean, tidy and well equipped. Owner tried valiantly to arrange Coasteering trip when there were few takers. Premises are a couple hundred yards from ferry terminal and therefore ideal when arriving on ferry from Oban. Would highly recommend to any budget traveller.

1Thank Robert1961000
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I last hostelled in my teens, and as I now qualify for a bus pass, I was a bit uncertain about booking. As we wanted somewhere for a couple of nights, but did not want to put the tent up again, we booked the garden room. It was great. The cabin was cosy and warm, two single beds and a...

1Thank pusscatglen
Maidenhead, England
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I'm not a hosteller so I wasn't sure what to expect. I didn't fancy sharing a room so I booked the garden cabin with two beds, up the back. I had access to the common room, well equipped kitchen and two bathrooms. It was a very convenient place to stay and I met a lot of interesting people. The manager...

1Thank Shieldsman
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Having camped our way down the outer hebrides we managed to book into this hostel for our last 2 nights before the ferry home. The weather had taken a turn from bad to worse and we wanted a break from camping. I had trouble booking due to bad phone internet connection but the owner was extremely helpful getting back to...

Thank Lovetogadabout
outblueyonder, Manager at Dunard Hostel, responded to this review

It is always so nice and refreshing to get such a genuine positive review - thanks! As you say, hostellling is not for every-one but as long as folk realise that they are paying for budget accomodation and expect no frills, then it works! We do try 110% to be accommodating to all the folk that pass through our door....

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (37)
Dining (1)
View from Room (3)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (18)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (9)
View from Room (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Barra
0.0 km away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
388 reviews
0.0 km away
Tullochard House
Tullochard House
#3 of 9 in Dunvegan
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Dunard Hostel

Address: Castlebay, HS9 5XD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunard Hostel Isle Of Barra, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dunard Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For privacy and quaintness book the garden room”
 of 5 bubbles pusscatglen, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The garden cabin is great if you like privacy”
 of 5 bubbles Shieldsman, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“First floor front....I think it was number 3”
 of 5 bubbles jeasav, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The 4 bed bunk room at the front had a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles CJM067, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We liked the Garden room”
 of 5 bubbles caitrionaw2014, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5