We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Booking.comUS$132*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$266*
US$132*
US$266*
US$131*
US$266*
US$132*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,772: English reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

My husband and I loved this resort. We had a pool villa which was amazing. The resort is very central and the staff were great. We had champagne and cake in our room on arrival as a honeymoon bonus and I also got a cake a few days later as it was my birthday. Amazing stay!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kelly H
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Kelly H., Thank you for sharing your amazing review. We loved hearing that your honeymoon was a fantastic getaway with memories to last a lifetime. We hope you’ll return next year to celebrate your anniversary (and birthday!) All the best, Joe

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We spent a week in the Centara Grand in Koh Samui, our first visit to the island. Its a lovely place and very different from the vibrant Patong, the only other place in Thailand where we have been before. Samui feels more like an island. It has that small island feel similar to the caribbean islands generally. The main area...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank elstnico
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear ElstNico, Thank you for sharing your review of your first visit to Koh Samui. It’s certainly true that Koh Samui is very different from Patong! Still, as you say, there are elements –many centrally located shops, restaurants and bars-that make the two places similar. We’re delighted that had a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015

On first impression's the hotel looked lovely.The rooms were a little tired and not 5 star.Although the food was excellent it was very expensive with service charge and taxes,but plenty of places to eat outside the hotel.It was about half an hour walk to the nightlife and many taxi drivers trying to rip you off but they is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 5,101,969
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear 5101969, Thank you for sharing your review. We’re delighted that had a great holiday. Readers of this forum will benefit from your taxi advice. We generally suggest that guests take advantage of the songtaews (covered trucks with benches in the back) to travel to central Chaweng –if they don’t feel like walking. Thank you also for the compliment on...

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2015

The hotel presents very impressively with a colonial type appearance, expansive lobby and beautifully tended gardens. However the rooms, we had a deluxe ocean facing room, are tired and dated. The bathroom is in need of an update and the room is in need of maintenance. On arrival our room wasn't ready but this was not a problem as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Chris S., Thank you for reviewing your stay. We’re disappointed that you weren't happier with the experience, but thank you for your candid observations. Warm regards, Joe

Jaipur, India
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We had little issue of the rooms allotment. we were four couples three were given on one side of the hotel... tower 1 and one room on the extreme other side..tower 8. ( the distance from tower 1 to tower 8 is almost 300 meters). they did not made any effort to get us rooms together. make sure you get...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sanjaykala
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Sanjaykala, Thank you for sharing your review. We want to clarify for other readers that the resort is actually comprised of 8 buildings. They aren't towers as such at 3 floors. Also, I'm sorry that you were given the impression that our Reception team did not want to help- locate your group together. The fact is when the resort...

Orange, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2015

This hotel is pleasant enough. The bathrooms could do with an update and are not cleaned each day. Pool area is nice, we had no trouble getting sun beds. Staff are very friendly. The main problem we found was the location it takes at least 20 min to walk to the centre of things and when you are staying for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle B
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Michelle B., Thank you for sharing your review. It’s good of you to mention the appeal of the pool and the service of our staff. Your comment on location though gave us pause. We find the vast majority of reviewers on this forum suggest that our location makes accessing the shops and restaurants a breeze. Still, on a hot...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 17 April 2015

I have never been the backpacker type who likes to wing it nor one of those left-wing liberal types fleeced of Baht day-in-and-day-out while soul searching in the Thai countryside. For us, after a day of activity under the sun and an evening of bucolic festivity and gastronomia, we need an isolated, comfortable, quiet and relaxing environment with reliable service....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JaceyL723
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear LaceyL723, Thank you for sharing your detailed review. It’s very kind of you to recall the names of staff members who were especially helpful. We’ve posted your review on the staff board so that the whole team can read it. You certainly covered all the bases and I personally think your suggestion to have HoeGaarden on tap at the...

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 16 April 2015

My wife and I and our two children (7 & 5) stayed in a pool suite in April 2015 for 9 nights. The position of the hotel is perfect, right on Chaweng beach. Most of the hotel facilities were very good, the pool was magnificent and the new resturant "The Coast" was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and overall...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David C
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear David C., Thank you for sharing your review. It’s gratifying to learn that our location, staff and facilities all got high marks. We thank you also for your constructive observations on other aspects of your stay. Hopefully we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming your family back again. Kind regards, Joe

Thailand
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 night in May 2014, almost a year a go! Just have time to leave review. We had a pleasant stay in Centara Grand Samui as we had in any other of Centara properties. The room is ok size with full quality of amenity, our room and all areas in the hotel were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BelAmore
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear BelAmore, Thank you for sharing your review…better late than never! It’s so nice that your experience was nice enough to create lasting memories. We passed your kind mention on to Tiew –she was thrilled that you remembered her. We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Joe

UK
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Just returned from the Centara Grand, it was our second visit the first being in 2012. I'm sorry to say that whilst the location, size of grounds, pool area and the beach always make this a 5* resort the hotel itself is sadly lacking. On check in we noticed other guests were given a drink and a cold towel, we...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Lindaho1
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Lindaho1, Thank you for sharing your review and observations of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that overall you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our location. We thank you for your constructive observations. Apart from the points that you rightfully mentioned, we hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back...

2,318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1922)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (405)
Viewed
View from Room (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (340)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (97)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (757)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean Facing Room (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Pool Suite (50)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (5)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Premium Deluxe Ocean Facing Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.3 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,310 reviews
0.6 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,692 reviews
0.5 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,383 reviews
0.4 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
656 reviews
2.5 km away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: $182 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui, Thailand - Chaweng
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui staff and other travellers.
137 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (137)

Questions? Get answers from Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have beautiful views of either the gardens or beach”
connieb722, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel.”
  • Worn out lightswitch
  • New bedsheets, dirty
  • Dirty bathroom light
  • Torn bedsheets
  • Mouldy door frame
  • Mouldy door frame
  • Mould around sink
  • Tired bedroom lights
Slyman21, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Ocean deluxe on 2nd floor. Rooms 822 to 825”
, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Very quiet suite with private pool”
gcbond, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in building 8, level 3 and it was great, but any top floor would be good I think.”
442patricer, 21 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$132* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$131
TripAdvisorUS$132
AMOMAUS$266
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates