We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wrights by the Sea Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wrights by the Sea Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Wrights by the Sea Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night only, a very well appointed, clean and modern look/feel motel room. Excellent and friendly service....very impressive for a moderately priced property. Location fantastic! Great parking. Would definitely recommend and will stay again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorron N
FranknZoe, Owner at Wrights by the Sea Motel, responded to this review

Dear Dorron, Thank you for taking your time to review your stay, and wow, what an encouraging review this is! We are happy you liked the rooms, service and the location of the motel and we will continue to strive towards offering exceptional service and comfortable experience for our guests. Looking forward to having you back with us when you...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a very comfortable stay in this accommodation. The room was spacious having one double bed and a single bed. It also had a receiving area for guests. Equipment for cooking is complete and can definitely help you prepare a decent meal. Dining ware is also provided for with a complete set for at least 2 people. Rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prudence L
FranknZoe, Owner at Wrights by the Sea Motel, responded to this review

Dear Prudence, Thank you for taking your precious time reviewing your experience with us. We are happy to know the cooking facilities were adequate in the rooms for your need and you have enjoyed our reception and service. Thanks for the kind words and encouragement, and we certainly look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Frank & Zoe

Karratha
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were welcomed here by lovely man and were greeted with a very clean, soacious room. 1 bed upstairs downstairs. There was even a slow cooker for our use which was somethi g special! A short walk to the terminal for kapiti island. We would visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique K
FranknZoe, Owner at Wrights by the Sea Motel, responded to this review

Dear Dominique, Thank you kindly for reviewing your stay with us :) We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your time here and the amenities in the rooms. Looking forward to hosting you in the near future!

New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2017

First time at this motel, easy to find and quick check in.Rooms were very clean..Close to shopping centre and the Beach.Easy to find as it is opposite a very tall apartment building. Good off street parking, Expensive but what accommodation in New Zealand isn't. Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigaff
FranknZoe, Owner at Wrights by the Sea Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we will continue to do our best to provide a comfortable hospitality environment for our travelling guests. Looking forward to your next stay with us! :)

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived late on a holiday weekend, he held the room for us and provided and over-flow room for the next night because they were fully booked. He went out of us way to make sure we were comfortable. Stayed here for a third night in a different room. All of the rooms were clean and comfortable. We are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adslogan
FranknZoe, Owner at Wrights by the Sea Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to have you staying with us for the last few days and it was lovely talking to you two. We will continue to work hard with the goal to provide outstanding hospitality experiences for our guests and we look forward to your next visit! All the best for the year 2017!...

Marco Island, Florida
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We were on our way to Kapiti Island for an overnight, so we booked Wrights for the night before Kapiti, and the night after. The location was perfect, and the room clean, comfortable and well equipped. But the real highlight was that the staff understood our complicated situation of a night at Wrights, then gone a night, then back a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kittiwake L
FranknZoe, Owner at Wrights by the Sea Motel, responded to this review

We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay, and it is our pleasure to serve our guests to the best of our abilities. Looking forward to seeing you again! :)

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Very unpleasant stay, this is a very tired motel, broken towel rails, smelly pillows, very noisey, no hairdryer, awful bathroom and many other aspects. The website and photos are totally misleading. The road noise and noise from guests next door and above was significant. I would not recommend this motel at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AddyAuckland
FranknZoe, Owner at Wrights by the Sea Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to learn of your unpleasant stay. We have noted your precious feebacks and have made arrangements to amend them as soon as possible.

Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Had heaps of space in this room. A double bed & one single. Has a heat pump, 2 seat lounge & 4 seat dining table. The only negative is the bathroom. 3 steps up to the bathroom which in the middle of the night could be quite a hazard. Also there are 2 steps to get in or out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 255370Lily
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend. Stayed there for a week. Very satisfied with the hospitality and cleanliness. Management and house staff are very professional. Very central all amenities. A great place set back of the road with no traffic noise. I will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trent W
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We stayed here 2 different nights. The first night we had an older unit and the second night we had a refurbished unit. Both were clean and more than adequate. The staff was extremely helpful and willingly stored some provisions in their refridge for us for our continuing journey after our second night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally F

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraparaumu
4.2 km away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
81 reviews
3.6 km away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
0.5 km away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Barnacles Seaside Inn
Barnacles Seaside Inn
#4 of 4 in Paraparaumu
44 reviews
0.2 km away
Copperfield Seaside Motel
Copperfield Seaside Motel
#6 of 7 in Paraparaumu
34 reviews
7.5 km away
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Kapiti Gateway Motel
#1 of 2 in Waikanae
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best location on the Kapiti Coast just 200 meters from the beach, golf club, cafes, restaurants and bars Great interisland stop over north and south bound 35 minutes to the ferry terminal Free Unlimited WiFi 50+ Sky digital Freshly renovated warm units with air conditioning in some units Awesome down to earth hosts Kapiti Island Tours by arrangement Conference Facility available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wrights by the Sea Motel

Address: 387 - 389 Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu 5032, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paraparaumu
Price Range: $107 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrights by the Sea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Wrights by the Sea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wrights by the Sea Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor corner unit has air con, downstairs units cool with private small patio.”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms on thetop floor may be better”
 of 5 bubbles AddyAuckland, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second story rooms have a balcony while ground floors have a patio which is street level with traffic passing by.”
 of 5 bubbles 80sallyf, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Try another motel”
 of 5 bubbles DELTAK, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The tui room is very spacious, well located with an excellent balcony”
 of 5 bubbles neilb996, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5