We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos
 Click to rate
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is unbelievable stunning. I ended up staying two extra days. Quiet and beautiful, and a great base for walking. The interior is very outdated, not sure its changed much since the early 80`s, not the most comfortable, but if you are all about nature, stunning views, friendly staff and quiet unreal surroundings - suddenly the colours and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GorilHebnes
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a really lovely hotel. Views are great and it is in a fantastic location if you want to go walking and explore the hills and levadas. You can easily drive down to the coast if you want. The food is excellent and breakfast was good, but if you are a tea lover then bring your own tea bags!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EssexPianist
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Shropshire,UK
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Our room was in the main building and seemed stuck in a time warp of several decades ago. Very little comfort availabile, no window cover in the bathroom. Problem with availability of hot water. The area around the taps of the washbasin was filthy as was the case in the public toilet areas. All needed updating. Very thin towels. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynetteP41
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos. We regret that not everything was to your liking and we will pass on your comments to the appropriate departments for imediate improvement. We hope you will give us another chance to meet your expectations!

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed here for one night to get a break from our stay in Funchal and what a gem. The views are to die for and the accommodation had the real log cabin effect. A refreshing change from the modern hotel we had been staying in so far. Our room was in a separate building from the main hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnhc339
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review of our Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Hidden out of the way up in the mountains this special restaurant is a unique find. Situated amongst the natural theatre of the peaks and ravines the views alone are worth the journey. We just popped in for dinner but we're made to feel very welcome and started with drinks on the terrace to take in the views. We then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cluderay2013
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed dinner at our restaurante and hope that you will return to stay a few days on your next trip to Madeira.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed for 3 nights. We enjoyed the great views, being near wonderful landscapes and walks. It was also good to be away from Funchal and the coast. The room was cosy and the staff were friendly. The room felt a little dated - especially the bedding and bathroom. The wifi didn't work for the entire time we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickiwilson2016
DorisolHotels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your time to comment on your recent stay. We are very glad to see, that you remark our hotel great views and the perfect location. We were also very pleased to read your comments about the friendly staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced...

Eye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This small hotel is perched high above a valley in the centre of the island. The views are fantastic. We stopped for coffee on one day and a light lunch on another. On both occasions that we've been here, there have been no other customers. It's well off the beaten track but well worth searching out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John L
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos. We are small, only 21 rooms, but we do offer cozy accommodations and fantastic views. We hope many other people will get off the beaten track and come stay with us!

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after a few days in Funchal and it was a great place to hit the northern towns as well as the mountain levadas. Both breakfasts and dinners were pretty good and the mountain views from our room were spectacular. The staff was very accommodating and I almost stole the little kitten. I did name him/her maracujá. If they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg B
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments to the appropiate departments for improvement. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Mappleborough Green
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We found this restaurant by total accident but we were so glad we did. We pulled over for a coffee mid afternoon and the views were so intoxicating that we stayed for our evening meal. The food was lovely and although the gentleman that served us was rather brusque he did have a sense of humour. We thoroughly enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilia10
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are very happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that you will return, this time to spend the night as well! We have 21 rooms distributed between the stone house and the wood cabin and offer the same views from every one!

Reviewed 20 June 2016

For E50 a night we had a nice room with a stunning view - extremely comfortable and charming without overplaying the 'quaint cottage' thing like I feared from some of the photos. The bathroom was fairly spartan compared to the bedroom but was clean and large. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (we generally found Madeira to be quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chiara B
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our Pousada dos Vinháticos! We do offer charming accommodations with stunning views, perfectly located for levada walks. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribeira Brava
13.9 km away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#71 of 87 in Funchal
327 reviews
14.0 km away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#65 of 87 in Funchal
355 reviews
13.9 km away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#56 of 87 in Funchal
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#84 of 87 in Funchal
380 reviews
6.6 km away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
13.9 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos

Address: Serra d'Agua, Ribeira Brava, Madeira 9350-106, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ribeira Brava
Price Range: $74 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Pousada Dos Vinhaticos Hotel Ribeira Brava
Dorisol Pousada Dos Vinhaticos Madeira/Ribeira Brava, Portugal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the rooms at the front in the main building”
LynetteP41, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Annex rooms are excellent except they are very badly insulated so you hear the people above walking and talking.”
monknash, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main hotel are quieter than rooms in the Log Cabin. Free Wifi available in the hotel bar and lounge.”
Nanjanx, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in the lodge, if you don't mind noices made by other guests”
dinanth2014, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Free wifi in main building. Wake up early to the roosters and goats :)”
dianelovescruising, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5