We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We used to bring our children: now we bring them and their children. This must say something about how we enjoy our annual holiday here. We stay in a two storey "Patio" with an immediate view onto the 9 hole golf course with long views over the hills. Our accommodation had been recently upgraded, though the WiFi was still a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StaffordSteve49
Christopher A, General Manager at Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review of your stay with us. We are working on the WIFi as we speak, as we do know there were some black spots on the system, and I am sure we will have it all sort out very soon. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Really good fun and value for money. Beautiful part of the U.K. And easy to explore from the resort. We stayed in a bungalow. Very comfy. Lounge furniture a little tired but bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen great with everything very clean and excellent linen (towels and sheets). Pool and gym both great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Jackson22
Christopher A, General Manager at Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am please you and the family enjoyed your stay at Macdonald Plas Talgarth Resort.

Manchester
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Just spent a long weekend here. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Scenery spectacular. The accommodation was roomy, clean and comfortable. The pool and spa facilities were ace. The restaurant did the job as well! All in all a great base to explore that part of Wales. I will be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelweary87
dunblane
Reviewed 17 April 2016

stayed here for a week on a points exchange. the resort is surrounded by beautiful scenery and very relaxing. our accommodation was first class although we had no wi fi which would have made it perfect any issues we had were resolved by the reception staff who were very helpful my big disappointment was the y garth pub which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charles r
Christopher A, General Manager at Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. With regards to dogs, I would just like to clarify for all reader about our policy. Plas Talgarth is dog friendly, but you do need to inform us that you are bringing a dog and at an additional charge. Please call us to confirm the...

The Wirral, UK
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stayed at Plas Talgarth via an exchanged with Interval International. Prior to arriving, I telephoned and requested a refurbished room as there were some bad reviews posted on TripAdvisor. I was told that a note would be entered on my booking for a refurbished unit. We arrived earlier than the official check in time, and were allocated Lapwing 5,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wilsonjenny
Christopher A, General Manager at Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the in dept review of your Apartment. I would just like to add a few points. Plas Talgarth was build 35 years ago and due to it being in the Snowdonia National Park, there are planing restrictions on all building, so as to fitting in with the surrounding. You are correct you did mention about the possibility...

staffordshire
Reviewed 16 March 2016

I stayed here in November with friends and decided to return last week for a quick 3 night break. Even in Winter the resort is kept immaculate both inside the buildings and in the grounds. We took advantage of the indoor pool,spa, sauna and steam rooms as the weather wasn't that good. There is plenty to do on site without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank globetreka1
Christopher A, General Manager at Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you once again for your kind review of Macdonald Plas Talgarth Resort. Its great to see guests returning time and time again. Next time you stay with us , ask for myself so I can say hello to you and your party. Hope to see you soon.

Consett
Reviewed 14 March 2016

This resort has the most glorious countryside all around it. Why then,when the resort is practically empty, are we stuck with a view from the kitchen of the back of other units and their bins. So disappointing. There are lots of empty units with lovely views. Avoid Villa 25 if at all possible. Unit is also very cold as although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy H
Christopher A, General Manager at Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Wendy thank you for your review which you have written half way during your stay. I would just like to mention that the maintenance issues you had all happened during your stay and I am please to hear that they were all dealt with quickly. The WiFi as mentioned on check in to all our guests was still under progress...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Lapwing 4 was the worst accommodation we have ever stayed in, terrible mold outside our front door (whole roof needs replacing), apartment freezing cold (had to have electrical heaters on all the time), disgusting smells throughout, very tired and worn, dog hair all over the carpets, limited hot water - barely enough for 3 x 10 minute showers (unless you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smllewel
Christopher A, General Manager at Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your resent stay. I do apologise that you felt your Lodge was not to your satisfaction. On reading though your comments i would like to add the following: The Entrance Hall to the four Lodges did have a bad leak and we have been waiting for the dry weather to fix the leak and...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The Macdonald Plas Talgarth Resort is really a lovely place! Great accommodation and facilities. The Bungalows are lovely its like staying in a really nice hotel but self catering! The views are breathtaking stayed in June last year and took the whole family this time so 12 of us and we had a fabulous time. Definitely recommend this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller777771
Christopher A, General Manager at Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for that lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Macdonald Plas Talgarth Resort in the near future.

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Stayed in one of the bungalows .Clean, tidy but requires additional heat in winter time. Did not use the leisure facilities so cannot comment. On site food is excellent. Staff most welcoming .Good base to explore area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johncfc1

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennal
8.2 km away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
583 reviews
18.7 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
308 reviews
6.7 km away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
130 reviews
19.1 km away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
359 reviews
5.2 km away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Address: Talgarth Hall Hotel Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Price Range: $153 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely food at the walkable Riverside hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Snowdon123, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great views from Patio and Bungalows”
 of 5 bubbles globetreka1, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we only spent the day here.”
 of 5 bubbles HeatherP159, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the House or bungalows after research”
 of 5 bubbles ethelred, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Apparently Villa's 27 & 28 are extremely good”
 of 5 bubbles MyCues, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5