We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Mile Beach Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingwall
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Four Mile Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Tucked beneath the shadow of Sugarloaf Mountain, Janet and John have been welcoming adventurous travellers to their B&B for more than 19 years. Originally a general store, the front room preserves those memories from the past with a treasure trove of antiques but if you really want to learn about the present, spend some time with Janet and she will...

1Thank Janda_11
Cantley, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2015

The Four Mile Beach Inn offers a warm and comfortable stay in a slightly off the beaten path location. Situated north of the National Park, it is just a bit more remote, a bit wilder and a lot more out-of-the-ordinary than the rest of Cape Breton. Set your expectations accordingly, and be relieved (grateful) that there is not the blare...

1Thank Brenda P
Brockville, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2015

When I called from Halifax to book a room at this "Inn", I was aware that it had always been an inn and therefore was quite old What I didn't realize was that it was actually still a very old B&B with very old furnishings. I asked if they served dinner and was told that they don't (fair enough) but...

1Thank Rudi E
JanetCSugarloaf, Owner at Four Mile Beach Inn, responded to this review

This gentleman was a difficult guest. He wouldn't look you straight in the eye, was very jittery/nervous and wouldn't stand still long enough for you to explain something to him. Not sure why. In response to his concerns.... There were restaurants open at that time. There is one with superior cuisine and good prices 15 minutes from here. It is...

Chester, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I have read the reviews of other travelers and am wondering why some find the place clean and others don’t. I didn’t find it clean. I can’t imagine inviting guests into a building as un-maintained as this was and on top of that, having guests pay to be there. We entered the Four Mile Beach B&B at the same time...

1Thank CPMO2013
JanetCSugarloaf, Owner at Four Mile Beach Inn, responded to this review

So sorry this reviewer had this experience. Our lodge is a heritage property constructed in 1886. There may be aspects of this that aren't for everyone but we guarantee the house is cleaned from top to bottom EVERY SINGLE DAY. The statements about mold are absolutely not true. Talk about sensitivity, we feel this reviewer is totally insensitive. She was...

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We used the 4 Mile Beach Inn as our home base for 4 days of hiking and sightseeing through the Cabot Trail. John and Jan were wonderful hosts and provided outstanding morning breakfasts to kick off our day. The greatest surprise was that we didn't leave enough time to explore the immediate area around the inn itself. Gorgeous setting surrounded...

1Thank Robert C
Perth, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2015

My first and only foray to date to Cape Breton Island. We went about as far north as you can go and used this as a base for touring the island by car. That means we didn't take advantage of what I am told is a great place for hiking. The beds were comfortable, the entire place was immaculately clean,...

Thank Bob M
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Stayed here three nights with my partner and teenage step daughter as part of our Cape Breton adventure. The owners are a great resources for planning excursions to sights around the northern tip of the Cabot Trail- every recommendation was spot on for us. If you are looking for a place with character that is clean, off the beaten track...

1Thank sandraC7171ZQ
New Haven, Indiana
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I keep thinking back over our stay here with great memories. God bless you, John and Janet! I hope to someday come back and spend more time at your inn. I pretty much knew what to expect after researching where to stay and was still pleasantly surprised. The owners were were warm and knowledgeable. Take the hike Janet recommends! I...

1Thank Patty G
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Its all about expectations. If you want shampoos and shower caps and up to the minute maintenance, you will need to go elsewhere. This is a place for those of us who do not shriek at seeing a spider in the bathtub or a window screen askew. It is a genuine old house and general store, and Janet and John...

Thank Kathie M
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I've read the reviews below. If you're looking for the Ritz Carlton, you're going to be severely disappointed. Our 3 nights at The Four Mile Beach Inn was one of the highlights of our 3 1/2 weeks in Canada. If you like cozy, warm, homey- this is it. Our room- it was the "attic" room- was spacious and quiet and...

1Thank Robert722

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (36)
Dining (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
View from Room (3)
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
27.9 km away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
8.3 km away
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
#1 of 1 in Bay St. Lawrence
141 reviews
27.8 km away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.1 km away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
165 reviews
32.7 km away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
82 reviews
27.2 km away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Four Mile Beach Inn is a large heritage property with a long history in the community, dating back to 1880's. We have five rooms and three efficiency units with modern facilities, including a honeymoon suite. Our rooms range from $89 - $140 per night. We also offer a complimentary buffet breakfast inside or on the back porch.The area is rich in activities ranging from kayaking, biking, whale watching, beaches and hiking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Mile Beach Inn

Address: 1528 Bay St Lawrence Rd, Dingwall, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Dingwall
Price Range: $79 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Four Mile Beach Hotel Cape Breton Island
4 Mile Beach Inn
Four Mile Beach Inn Dingwall, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Mile Beach Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Four Mile Beach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 has a small fridge and microwave, also separate entrance”
lovethebayarea, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If ensuite is important to you be sure to inquire”
JoanneA856, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Main flloor room.”
gordonk902, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had the 3rd floor room which was great, although guests who have difficulty with steep stairs will want to stay on the lower floors.”
BugsyAndBoomer, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Top room had kitchenette and air conditioning and was perfect for us, but saw the other room as went by and they looked great.”
531pattyg, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5