Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron

Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron

6 Heron's Nest St, Charlo, New Brunswick E8E 2L1 Canada
la vue de la baie
Traveller (26)
The bridge that separates Eel Island reservation from Charlo, and spans Eel river and Chaleur ba
Pool & Beach (7)
la vue de la baie
View from Room (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 2 campsites in Charlo
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Charlo New-Brunswick, gateway to the Acadian Coastal Drive and Appalachian Range Route!The Heron’s Nest cottages offer vacationers an unforgettable panoramic view of the Chaleur Bay, the Gaspe coast and the Appalachian mountain range. The most breathtaking view in the province! Some of the most spectacular sunrises and sunsets you'll ever see!Our cottages are only a short walk from the beach and have direct access to wonderful walking, biking and snowmobiling trails. Outdoor enthusiasts will be thrilled with the number of activities available to them and the beauty of the surroundings! Our twenty cottages are open year round. We have also just recently opened a bistro-pub on site and are proud to have Savoie's Brewhouse micro-brewery brewing their award winning craft beer on premise!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Golf course
Hiking
Ski rentals
Skiing
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
First aid kit
Laundry service
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French
50Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 13
  • 4
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sk0925 wrote a review Sep 2022
45 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the cottages for a few days in august. Our cottage was spotlessly clean, and while I find the decor a bit on the sparse side, (it is very very brown inside. Too dark, but that's just my opinion.) The bathroom was huge, it was well stocked with towels and facecloths as well. The kitchen was so well stocked with all kinds of dishes, pots and pans, utensils, everything you need. That was very much welcome. Again, so nice and clean and welcoming. Now having said that, they need to step up their maintenance game. The chest of drawers in the bedroom has one drawer broken and it won't slide in properly. Fix that. It would literally take 5 minutes. The light fixture in the kitchen had only 1 lightbulb, yet it was able to hold 3. Fix it. The main door must have had a blind at one time, it's gone now, except that the brackets to hold the blind in place are still there. It really needs a blind. Fix that. The front door wouldn't lock at all the last night, so we had to place a chair under the door so it couldn't be opened. I would not hesitate to stay here again, but please, take a look around and fix the little things. It honestly looks like no one cares.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scott M wrote a review Sep 2021
39 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have had the pleasure to stay at this location on a number of occasions. There are many styles of cabins to choose from for all kinds of different types of stays (Couples, guys\girls night out, families).
Right by the provincial beach with a playground, close to a convivence store with adult refreshments, nice restaurant near by and walking trails starting at the site. Camp ground right around the corner as well.
The site has lots of free parking, a communal firepit and a Bar with local brews are on site.
Cabins are very clean and well stocked with all the amities of home. Appliances are up to date with Heat pumps in the cabins and ceiling fans in most rooms. Beds are comfortable and living spaces spacious.
The staff are super friendly and will bend over backwards to ensure you have a great stay.

Pro tip: Pack food and use the fully stocked kitchen
Pro tip: Visit the on-site pub on the weekend for a good ol' kitchen party where the bartender will sit in on the drums for a song or two!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Pick your cabin according to your party size, not all are the same.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LAT wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this location for 2 weeks. We had a great view from our cottage. It was very clean, we would stay there again will visiting our family. I had a couple of issues with the internet dropping, called the managers and it was reset immediately and the issue was resolved. We wanted to use a BBQ, called the manager and we able to get one. The only issue we had was towels, could have used more dish towels as we were there for 2 weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely stunning views from Cottage No.7 but all of the Cottages face the water, so the views there would be great as well.

Everything you need is in the cottage and the Staff are all amazing! They are very helpful and really are second to none for great customer service. The location of the cottages, is not far from all the amenities, should you need them.

This was such an amazing few days retreat and I know the next time, we will stay longer. Reserve in advance though, given this place is extremely popular.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elias S wrote a review Aug 2021
Montreal, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend the cottages at Heron's Nest. Clean, convenient, well located beach front. Would definitely consider returning in the near future. Easy to find the cottages. There is a park that is perfect for the kids. Very safe and family friendly spot. Thanks again for your hospitality Dan.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mericachase wrote a review Aug 2020
Fredericton, Canada32 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our go-to spot when visiting our home town. Nothing beats the views - sitting on the porch enjoying a coffee and watching the sunrise is good for the soul.
Thank you to Dan for his hospitality, quick response to questions and requests.
Heron’s best will always be our first choice!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunny Sally wrote a review Jul 2014
Nova Scotia39 contributions81 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This location is basically like a strip mall crossed with a subdivision. No privacy, right on the main road across from a rocky beach. The noise starts at 6:00 AM with back up beeps from trucks. The trash was collected at 5:30 AM by a big noisy truck right outside our cottage. Not a very relaxing vacation spot. There is lots of traffic on the road in front so it could be dangerous for pets and children. There is very little to do in this area. The beaches are not sandy or suitable for swimming, there are no nice places to eat. You can only eat fish and chips so many times. The cottages are fairly well supplied however they have no oven proof dishes. It makes it hard to feed large groups of people. I would take a pass on this place unless you are just passing through. I think the Bay of Chaleur is highly over rated. We went to Beresford Beach and found it dirty. I don't think I'll ever visit this area again. Not a good vacation destination. It was not very picturesque or interesting. Few things to do and lots of mosquitos.The cottage staff are great and make every effort to helop however it doesn't make up for the short comings of the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Proprio-Marc, Owner at Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron
Responded Sep 16, 2014
Sunny Sally, Sorry you didn't like our area at all. We had a few workers staying with us this summer and yes they do get to work early, sorry for the inconvenience.... for the garbage truck, well that's once a week and out of our control. And the road has a bit of traffic, but seriously we're in a village... But for the Bay of Chaleur!!!! The Bay of Chaleur is considered one of the most beautiful bays in the world by many, and the beaches are not 100% sandy and suitable for swimming..., they are beautiful natural beaches, great for swimming with some of the most fantastic scenery in the maritimes. And for the area not being picturesque or interesting.... I guess this area is for the more adventurous, open minded people who like to get off the beaten path a bit and experience some more authentic and natural things, so I can understand if that's not your thing. There are tons of activities for the whole family, ranging from deep sea fishing, clam digging, honey house experience, mountain biking adventures, hiking and cycling trails, boating, canoeing, live music venues, local craft shops, a microbrewery, farmers market, festivals, and a few great restaurants. I respect all our guests opinions, but when someone doesn't even try, it's just a little disappointing to hear for myself, my staff and the people from the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cathy L wrote a review Mar 2017
New Brunswick, Canada7 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Really cute spot and enjoyed our stay. Some cottages are more updated than others but overall it works for a family. Management was accommodating with a late check-in and checkout. The micro brewery with live entertainment is great and highly recommend.
The poor rating is because if you leave something behind, you are NOT going to get it back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shelley C wrote a review Jul 2014
Tillsonburg, Canada1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great vacation spot, close to all amenities. Staff was very courteous. The only thing I would suggest is having a bit a maintenance done inside. Front door stuck alot, along with bathroom door. Bathroom fan was not working, We did have someone come in and try to fix the doors to no avail. They were still not working when we left. Another idea would be to include some air conditioning in some of the units...especially the A-Frames. Very hot sleeping in the loft. Aside from that, we were treated quite well. The scenery was impeccable every morning, and evening. Extremely friendly staff. Would definitley stay again, and try a different cottage as well. Thanks Marc!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Proprio-Marc, Owner at Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron
Responded Sep 16, 2014
Shelley, You're right about the maintenance in a few of the cottages, and that will be taken care of this fall. We know which ones need some TLC. Sorry about that. Also right about the AC... seems we used to need it about 1 week a year, but summers are getting nicer and warmer and on the second floor of A-frames will definitely be needing some cooler air. Happy you still enjoyed your stay and would consider us again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CecileSmith wrote a review Jun 2012
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada7 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family stayed here last summer for a week during the Bon Ami festival in Dalhousie when we were visiting family. It was such an awesome week, I can't even tell you. The cottages were a lot of fun, and busy, we even made new friends since people staying there were so friendly. The beach is so convenient, the weather is so much warmer there than it is on the Bay of Fundy where we live. It was a dream, truly, the sunrises in the morning were breathtaking, I found myself waking up at 4:30 AM just so I could get outside and sit on the beach to enjoy the sunrise. Our kids were played out because they had so much fun. At the same time in amongst so much activity, it was also very peaceful. The cottages are much nicer and better equipped than many we've stayed in all over the Maritimes, we do a lot of travel in the summertime, and these are among the best. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Proprio-Marc, Propriétaire at Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron
Responded Aug 23, 2012
Really, really happy you enjoyed your stay! The way you've described our property in summer is pretty much bang on. Fun and busy, but at the same time very relaxing! We'll be adding new activities for next summer and a big announcement in the following months. Thanks for staying with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Scott M wrote a tip Sep 2021
39 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick your cabin according to your party size, not all are the same."
Read full review
Mariette L wrote a tip Nov 2016
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For the quieter cottages, ask for the ones at the end. Front row cottages have unobstructed views of the Baie des Chaleurs and the beach."
Read full review
BenN.B. wrote a tip Aug 2016
Perth-Andover15 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no air conditioning but there is a nice breeze at night and there are fans."
Read full review
jmckerch wrote a tip Jul 2013
Ottawa, Canada45 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cottage 11 faces the ocean and has three singles in the loft, plus a pull out couch."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Charlo area.
PRICE RANGE
C$157 - C$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickCharlo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron
Which popular attractions are close to Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron?
Nearby attractions include Inch Arran Point Range Lighthouses (5.2 km), Bijoux Sail Away Jewellery (0.6 km), and Charlo Honeyhouse / la Miellerie de Charlo (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moulin a Cafe, Bonaventure Lodge & Motel Restaurant, and Osprey 4 Saisons.
Are pets allowed at Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Charlo HotelsCharlo Hotel DealsHotels near Heron's Nest Cottages - Chalets Le Nid du Heron
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars