We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Rimba Ecolodge is really the only place to stay when coming to visit Camp Leakey and the orangutans. The only other option is to rent a boat and stay on it. The advantage to Rimba is that they have air conditioning, electricity, and hot water for the showers; a real luxury in the jungle of Kalimantan. The rooms are clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank La-arana
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your report on our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge. We do have a soft drinks bar as we are not allowed to sell alcohol due to local regulations in this area. We would love to have a bar. Also we do have internet and a cell phone service in our office for those who need it. Thank you...

Calgary
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Worked with Ecosafari Indonesia to put together a 4 day visit to the Tanjung Putting National Park including an overnight on a local boat and 2 nights at the Rimba Lodge. Ibu Nyoman really helped us out to get things in place and we didn't have a hitch throughout. Hakim was our guide when we arrived in Pangkalan Bun and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TedT278
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for your review of our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge. Your support is greatly appreciated.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

We opted to stay at the Rimba Ecolodge instead of the klotok and we were very happy with the accommodation and food there (we also had great breakfast, lunch and dinner in our klotok by an amazing cook). It really felt like staying in the middle of the forest, and being surrounded by water was like a novelty and all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SafNazli
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Rimba Orangutan Rimba Lodge, which is greatly appreciated. Our new solar energy plant must have started during your stay now giving 24/7 electricity. Thank you for your support.

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

Rimba is a basic lodge in the national park. It has to cope with limited water resources and without mains electricity because of its location. Internet and telephone access are extremely limited, it would be even better if there was no access at all. I hope it stays that way for a very long time. We found the staff polite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TerryBanham
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Friends, The management of Ecolodges Indonesia greatly thank you for your report about what we are and what we stand for. You have described what we are very well. We believe that the only way to fight rapacious palm oil companies eating this precious forest is to empower local people with sustainable jobs that depend on the forest. Thus...

Varese, Italy
Reviewed 27 April 2015

First of all: I managed for the last 6 years a dive Resort with Restaurant & Accommodation in a remote part of Indonesia so I know very well which are the logistic and staff problems a similar business has to face. Nevertheless even when considering this difficulties my experience in Rimba Lodge was very, very disappointing. We (me and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geremiaMilano
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry you had such a poor experience and certainly take your comments seriously. We feel you are a bit hard on us as during your visit we were putting on a US$ 350,000 solar energy system and many of our staff were involved in this thus probably reducing our service to you. Your poor welcome procedure is recognised...

Buderim, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We spent 4 days and three nights at the Rimba Eco Lodge. It was clean and comfortable with air conditioning, fans, hot water, drinking water and comfortable bed. Rimba eco lodge is set amongst the jungle and hence is not your five start accommodation but was perfect for the trip we were on. Breakfast included eggs any way, tea coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Libby C
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We greatly thank you for your comments about our operation at the Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge especially your remarks about Ucok Hakim our senior guide. Hakim is a great example of what our company is about - empowering local people with sustainable jobs based on the environment as a CONSERVATION measure. Through the company Hakim has become utterly dedicated to...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Just returned, 3 weeks ago, from Indonesia and it really was…. the “holiday of a lifetime”. In fact I cannot stop enthusing about it, and the 2 nights at Rimba were a brilliant highlight. The joy for me was being away from the luxury of an anonymous hotel, but instead being in the heart of the rainforest, surrounded by wildlife...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hazel S
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for wonderful write up about your Rimba experience. We are just about to commission a 24/7 electricity system driven mainly by solar power. Thank you all so much

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Rimba Lodge should be viewed as an alternative to staying on your klotok (boat). It is up a river with poor land transportation with all services arriving and departing by boat. Therefore the price is higher and also a percentage of the money goes to the Orangutan Foundation. It is basic but there is air conditioning and the beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jane W
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your realistic report. We are a conservation company dedicated to empower local people with jobs to fight off the illegal attempts to destroy this wonderful national park with its eight primate species and millions of other species of fauna and flora dependent on the conservation of the orangutan. We are not a 5 star establishment; however we...

Waimea, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Travelled to Rimba Lodge in February 2015, the accommodations were not for us! We ended up leaving the Rimba Lodge after one night, and asked the guide and boat captain to take us back to civilization to get a hotel room for the night. Our Emerald Room (supposedly the best room), we could see water stains from the roof leaking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diana M
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We refheer to your report and certainly the room report will be investigated. This is likely to result in staff member in charge of your room being removed. Regarding your complaint re no power between 1000 and 1700. This has always been our policy but will change when our new solar power plant (currently being installed) is operational in around...

Reviewed 7 February 2015

We ‘only’ stayed at Rimba Ecolodge for 5 days, but what a big impact it made on us. It started with emailing about the possibilities. We got quick replies every time and with the help of ecolodges we decided to adjust the 3nights/4days to our wishes. We gave them our flight number, and from there on we didn’t have to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JosuaEnKim
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your report on our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge especially mentioning our guides and boat staff. You have captured the magic of the Rimba experience, which has been missed by many. Our company only employs local people, empowering them as a conservation measure and it is with such pleasure to know that the persons you mentioned looked after...

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkalan Bun
24.7 km away
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
#1 of 2 in Pangkalan Bun
149 reviews
23.7 km away
Arsela Hotel
Arsela Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
42 reviews
25.2 km away
Grand Kecubung Hotel
Grand Kecubung Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Antoneri Lodge
Antoneri Lodge
#4 of 8 in Moni
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Noah Maratua Resort
Noah Maratua Resort
#2 of 2 in Maratua Island
1 reviews
25.5 km away
Gloria Rooms
Gloria Rooms
#5 of 7 in Pangkalan Bun
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Address: Sekonyer River | Kumai, Pangkalan Bun, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Pangkalan Bun
Price Range: $103 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge Pangkalan Bun, Kalimantan - Central Kalimantan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great - woken by the delightful proboscis monkeys as they like the sound they make on the roof!”
, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“listen for monkeys on your roof”
alantS401JI, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A flat screen is NOT important. Depends on what you value in life.”
intrepidtravellernz, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to have aircon, as we didn't choose the cheapest rooms.”
jackact, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask about different types”
OrangutanEngland, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Ctrip.com
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates