We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$851
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-03
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$652
View deal
TravelocityUS$851
Booking.comUS$1,103
Prestigia.comUS$1,368
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3132)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (900)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Boasting elegant beach bungalows , Junior Suite and beautiful over water villas, Diamonds Athuruga is a paradise located at just a 20 minutes scenic flight away from Malé International Airport. The wellness centre offers a variety of treatments and Ayurvedic massages and a well equipped diving centre provides enthusiasts with the very best underwater experiences. Athuruga is the ideal resort to discover the Maldives from a centre of excellence, where attention to detail will make your journey unforgettable. Let yourself be charmed by one of the most unique, enchanting well known coral reefs in the Maldives and discover its secrets thanks to the marine biologists on the island. At Diamonds Athuruga the uniqueness of our all inclusive formula allows our guests to enjoy every second of their holiday in total relaxation
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Italian

Location

Contact
00130
Getting there
Villa Intl Airport46 kmSee all flights
Male Intl Airport86 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1495Reviews180Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,233
  • 184
  • 43
  • 25
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pbro217 wrote a review Jan. 25
Portsmouth, United Kingdom36 contributions13 helpful votes
Athuruga can only be described as a holiday paradise. You’ll discover a s small, intimate Island with great character only 250 metres long, you can walk around in 10 mins. I booked the Over Water Villa for our Honeymoon. I was expecting a great deal but what I experienced was more & actually exceeded our expectations. Its not often you can say that ! The OWV is luxurious accommodation with large decking area leading to steps into the ocean. Cleaned & changed out daily by our lovely housekeeper Nazeer. Wifi /mini bar walk in wardrobe. From the moment we arrived until we left you really feel like a VIP. Upon arrival we discovered our bed made up with” Happy Honeymoon” adorned all over, champagne on ice & a congratulations card from the Resort manager. The best is the wide sliding doors opening up to the view of the Indian Ocean…amazing ! As a previous member mentioned …the stand out highlight is Athuruga’s team. The staff at the bar, restaurant , housekeeping, water sports & management team were incredible & couldn’t have done more to make our holiday feel so special. Thanks to all of them but Saba at the bar & Naish at the restaurant stood out. I must mention the food also…fresh fish each day marinated & grilled simply delicious. The restaurant has a different theme each evening eg Italian, Maldovian…. Such a vast range of cuisine, you will never be disappointed. The OWV restaurant has a better range of fine wines & is table service. The waiting staff look after you so well. The snorkelling on the reef is outstanding. The first time I snorkelled I couldn’t believe the marine life on show. Many different types of fish with an array of colours you’ll never get bored of, I was lucky enough to see a 5ft black tip reef shark swam right in front of me. You may also see turtles, Rays, eels. It’s perfectly safe to snorkel on the reef yourselves but each day the water sports team do an accompanied snorkel on the reef which is free part of the holiday package. To conclude : Simply the best location, along with the best staff & the best food. I hope to visit again in the next few years. If you can a must visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Portsmouth Thank you for choosing our island to celebrate your honeymoon in the Maldives! The team and I at Athuruga are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a fantastic time during your stay. We certainly look forward to many more opportunities of helping you celebrate significant moments in the future. The marine file so blesses us that it makes it challenging to be boarded Hope to hear from you again soon! With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nina O wrote a review Jan. 15
La Fouillade, France40 contributions8 helpful votes
This was a fabulous holiday destination. We had a beach room, fully air-conditioned with an outdoor bathroom and private balcony straight out onto the beach. Beautiful ocean views. The room was cleaned twice daily and bathroom and beach towels changed at least once a day. My dressing gown was also changed regularly and lovely crispy sheets were replaced daily, The food was very good with a huge buffet so there was something for all tastes. The restaurant theme changed every day. The snorkelling is excellent and I went swimming with sharks. We also went on a sunset fished trip when we caught lots of red snapper and a dolphin cruise. Kayaks, yoga mats, snorkelling gear, surf and paddle boards and catamarans are free to use.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It's a long trip so a stopover is a good idea.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Oakwoman Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback on your stay after the trip to the Maldives. It is lovely to hear that overall, you had a good time. Thank you once again for choosing Diamonds Athuruga to be one of your stops in the Maldives to spend your vacations. We hope for another chance to be at your service one day if there is anything the team and I could assist with in the future. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wilfred wrote a review Jan. 11
Durban, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
Athuruga diamonds has it all.. house reef on your doorstep with, besides turtles, sting rays spotted eagle rays a huge variety of different fish. The foods outstanding from a la carte to buffet, even people that don't eat will eat here for sure with something for everyone. Service is impeccable with the most pleasant and friendly staff. The accommodation is luxury from beach villas to their over water villas... The island is small with everything easily accessable. The Bar, the restaurant, dive shop and entertainment area all within a stroll from each other. The safe and protected swimming beach is great for kids and more than sufficiently replaces the need for a swimming pool which they haven't got. Their "all in" package is excellent and includes all popular alcoholic drinks such as wines, beers, whiskey, gin etc. water and cool drinks aplenty. We've been to many different resorts and islands in the Maldives but rate this as one of the better ones if not the best. Strongly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Louise & Wilfred It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed a great time with us in the Maldives! Thank you very much for the feedback And; there is certainly nothing more important than indulging in good food while on holiday; therefore, I am happy to know our culinary team did not disappoint you either. The resort's location blesses us with wild marine life varieties. Please keep in touch and let us know if there is anything the Diamonds Athuruga team could ever assist with later. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Korowy wrote a review Jan. 4
Rheinfelden, Germany63 contributions17 helpful votes
We had 2 weeks over Christmas on Diamond Athuruga. This is a beautiful island with one of the best reefs we have seen in the last 10 years. We prefer a beach villa and were in a Junior Suite Villa. We selected this because it came with wifi. The villa was spacious, clean and opened to an amazing beach. The food was amazing and every day/night over Christmas the team went out of their way to create a special theme or event. The grill is an absolute highlight and if there for Christmas you will enjoy the most spectacular feast. The best thing by far on Athuruga is however, their team. Everyone is super friendly and what is lovely is that they enjoy the island and events as much as you do. You are made to feel like you are part of a big family. Things to highlight: the reef is regenerating and has lots of new corals, a lot of colourful fish, turtles, a large pod of stingrays, an eagle ray, lots of black and white tip reef sharks +++; all villas are amazing but be aware that the standard beach villa does not have wifi and you will need to go to the reception or bar area for connectivity. Christmas attracts a lot of Italian families. This make for a lovely festive feel but can be quite loud. The island has an amazing lagoon which is calm and like a big pool. You can canoe, stand up board, do laps and its great for kids. There is talk about putting in a pool on the island. I think this would be a pity and will spoil it. Dont do it! Consider to put wifi in all rooms instead and leave the island as is. A special call out to Sabarish who was the best barman every! Also
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Junior Suites 36 and 37 are the best. 34 is next to a standard villa which tended to have...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Korowy I want to thank you once again for choosing Diamonds Athuruga to be one of your stops in the Maldives to spend your Christmas vacations. I have share with all our staff your fantastic comments with the entire team. as well as our bartender Sabarish. We are very blessed by our lagoon and its own wildlife. I hear your message regarding the wifi, and we will work on it. Please keep in touch and let us know if there is anything the Diamonds Athuruga team could ever assist with later. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
17GandG wrote a review Dec. 2022
Rotherham, United Kingdom107 contributions63 helpful votes
Had two very special weeks staying in a wonderful beach villa, the island is perfect for a truly relaxing Break. The staff were all very friendly and helped make our holiday special (thanks especially to Sabarish in the main bar he is a big asset and is so friendly and good fun). The food is amazing with lots cooked to order, sometimes not warm enough for us but that's buffet food. Total brilliant holiday would love to return one day.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beach villas are just that,you get your own piece of Beach with allocated beds and the sea yards...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Dec. 19, 2022
Dear 17GandG Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback on your stay after the trip to the Maldives. It is lovely to hear that you had a good time overall. We have taken your points about the buffet food and let the culinary department know. Please keep in touch and let us know if there is anything the Diamonds Athuruga team could ever assist with later. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne P wrote a review Dec. 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
A great little island, a proper Maldivian get away. No TV, no swimming pool, just perfect to relax. Very good beach with fine soft sand. Excellent buffet and a BBQ cooking station with freshly caught fish, chicken and succulent beef, and fresh delicious pizzas served every day. All cooked and served by the wonderful Athuruga restaurant team. You should be so proud of your team Monsieur Perrin. They are the best. The boys serving at the beach bar are also outstanding and they remember every drink you have and always served with biggest smiles. Our beach bungalow was of a good size but the decor is looking tired, furniture with peeling paint and out door bathroom could do with being replaced. We had a fabulous 2 week stay and have just returned home totally relaxed. Well done Diamonds Athuruga. Send our special wishes to our waiter Abdulla , a real star
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Dec. 3, 2022
Dear AnnepN152BG Thank you very much for taking the time to share the feedback on your stay with travelers around the world. It is truly reassuring to learn that you have enjoyed the overall experience with us. The points you have highlighted have been looked at, as painting in a marine environment is a significant issue. Thank you very much for the feedback, the message to Abdulla, the bar, and your kind words to the entire team. Yes, I am very proud of the team here for ensuring that guests like you are amazed and satisfied with the property. We hope for another chance to be at your service one day if there is anything the team and I could assist with in the future. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krisztina75 wrote a review Dec. 2022
Budapest, Hungary4 contributions4 helpful votes
You feel like the most important person in the world from the first step when you arrive to this magical island. Interior decoration of this place is like a dreamland. We were in beach bungalow, nr. 2, it has very big sandy beach and very nice interior. The bed and linen and general room fittings are luxurious, the bed is huge and the most comfortable I have ever slept in. - Staff is so friendly and we cannot thank them enough. Especially Shahir our waiter who took special care for us and served our wishes, he is such a great person. We were celebrating my birthday and they made it a really special occasion. Every dining was wonderful experience. There are different theme evenings with special culinary experiences. Three different live cooking actions: appetizer, main course, grill barbecue with many kind of fishes. Try the red snapper. Italian cuisine and local specialties available every day. The guys in the bar are always so nice and friendly. Best ever beach with crystal clear water.The house reef is amazing with many many colorful fishes. Snorkeling is so much fun due to the variety of fish and alive corals. It’s amazing and one of the best in terms of marine life. We will most certainly be visiting again. Many thanks to the team making our holiday perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There are only good rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Dec. 3, 2022
Dear Krisztina It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed a great time with us in the Maldives! Thank you very much for the feedback and the message to Saphir. And, there is certainly nothing more important than being able to indulge in good food while on holiday, therefore I am happy to know our culinary team did not disappoint you either. Please keep in touch and let us know if there is anything the Diamonds Athuruga team could ever assist with later. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matty wrote a review Dec. 2022
2 contributions
We stayed in November, 3 nights in beach bungalow and 2 nights water villa and we were meant to stay 2 nights in the suite but they offered us 2 nights in the sister resort which was a lovely gesture. Out of the two we definitely preferred Atharuga. The accommodation is amazing, the privacy of the beach bungalows make it so surreal, and the outdoor shower is a real feature. The water villa was tremendous and the views are to die for and this was a great place to get engaged which we did! We seen loads of wildlife including a turtle and eagle rays which came right up to the shore. The food is the best food we’ve ever had it is so fresh and the bbq live cooking is amazing. We couldn’t get enough of it. Our waiter Ahmed, a special mention he was so helpful, always checking up on us and just having general conversation which is lovely. All the staff were brilliant and they really do look after you. The bar was a great place to relax and enjoy the World Cup and the staff were always checking if you need another drink. The entertainment was great as you might think because it is such a small island you may get bored but we certainly didn’t. Again it is definitely the staff that make the stay 5 star, we can’t wait to come again and have already been recommending the place to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The trans Maldivian air is to the far right when you come out the terminal we got a little lost
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Dec. 3, 2022
Dear, Matty_Rowan Thank you very much for taking the time to share the feedback on your stay with travelers around the world. It is truly reassuring to learn that you have enjoyed the overall experience with us. There is certainly nothing more important than indulging in a good Culinary experience while on holiday; therefore, I am happy to know our culinary team did not disappoint you either. Thank you very much for the feedback and the message to Ahmed and the bar team. We hope for another chance to be at your service one day if there is anything the team and I could assist with in the future. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katarzyna L wrote a review Dec. 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We spent in the hotel an amazing week.Everything was great. The hotel is placed on a beautiful Ari Atol. The villas and the rooms are very nice and cosy. We had a fantastic view on the ocean and a nice beach with a white sand in front of our terrace. The crew was super nice and helpful. I was very nicely surprised by the surprises they made on my birthday day. The food is delicious. Titu is a master chef preparing great grilled fish and meat, Abdulla - super nice and helpful waiter, the cook making salads offers really great choice of them, decorated with the wide smile. I also recommend SPA , particularly balinese or Adam & Eve massage. Sport center offers the equioment for snorkling, SUPs, kayaks, yoga sessions and other activities. We spend a great time there , really enjoyed with the stay and felt tge great care. Hope to come back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Dec. 3, 2022
Dear 577katarzynal I want to thank you once again for choosing Diamonds Athuruga to be one of your stops in the Maldives to spend your vacations. We hope for another chance to be at your service one day if there is anything the team and I could assist in the future. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karen-tea-20 wrote a review Nov. 2022
Wishaw, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon trip. It was lovely but by no means the perfect finale to our honeymoon we had planned or expected. It is the Maldives so the island itself it beautiful. It is picture perfect and exactly what you see/expect from the Maldives. We stayed in a water villa, it was lovely and the room itself was clean and comfortable. That said there were a lot of small flies in the bathroom area. The curtains at the patio door a little mouldy and the external shutters dirty. Perhaps it shows more because it is all white. The food in the water villa restaurant was lovely and staff were attentive enough during service (the only criticism is that drink service can be a little slow). Out with the set meal times I did not see and wasn't aware of any snacks provided only the main bar for drinks. The biggest issue I have with the resort is the distinct lack of communication and the attitude of front of house staff. We had this 'perfect' end to our honeymoon planned for months. We sent several emails to the hotel none of which got a response (unless my husband called them at 0630 GMT). They did manage to provide the honeymoon package however, we had requested dinner on the beach on our first night and a few other things (all additional cost). On arrival we had to wait 2 hours to be shown to our room, we then discovered that the dinner on the beach had not been booked nor had any of the other things. We got a phone call to say that they could not book us in that night as it requires 24 hours notice (despite being emailed and called weeks in advance) they also said the weather was not great that night (it was fine) and in the end we settled for the following evening.... Romantic dinner on the beach with the first games of the World cup blaring in the background..... not quite what we had planned!!! We also asked in the emails we sent if we could have a late checkout, this was met with silence by email and phone calls. We asked when we got there and during our stay and in the end were told no which is fine however, we had to wait 2 hours to check into our room after we arrived on the island (we arrived 1500 got to our room at 1700) I can only assume this was due someone else having a late checkout. We were advised we could leave our luggage at reception and use the public shower prior to our departure (not until 1640) which meant we could still enjoy our last day. We went to get changed only to discover our luggage had been put on the boat, with staff looking blankly, my husband ended up going to retrieve our luggage so we could get changed . In all it was good, definitely not 5 star though with terrible communication which tainted the 'perfect' end to our honeymoon trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frederic Perrin, General Manager at Diamonds Athuruga
Responded Nov. 30, 2022
Dear Karen-tea-20 Thank you for sharing the feedback online. Regrettably, you did not enjoy the holiday with us, and our service did not meet your expectations. I am so sorry to read that we could not provide you with the ambiance you were looking for. All the areas you have highlighted have been pointed out and reviewed throughout these days. If you ever consider giving us another chance, the changes and improvements will be seen when you return. Once again, thank you for choosing Diamond Athuruga as your holiday destination in the Maldives. With best regards and wishes from the Middle of the Indian Ocean.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$655 - US$1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diamonds athuruga beach & water villas hotel south ari atoll, diamonds athuruga beach and water villas, athuruga hotel south ari atoll
LOCATION
MaldivesAlifu AtollSouthern Ari AtollAthuruga Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Diamonds Athuruga - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Athuruga Island, Maldives) - Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Diamonds Athuruga
What are some of the property amenities at Diamonds Athuruga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Diamonds Athuruga?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Diamonds Athuruga?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Does Diamonds Athuruga have airport transportation?
Yes, Diamonds Athuruga offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Diamonds Athuruga located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Athuruga Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Diamonds Athuruga?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diamonds Athuruga?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Does Diamonds Athuruga have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.