We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cabinas Las Arenas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Cabinas Las Arenas
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Las Arenas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 19: English reviews
None
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My first though on going to Cost Rica, came to me on January 2009. I am not a surfer but, still, I wanted to go to this country and enjoy some time at the beach. 'Doing something close to nothing' as the Prince song goes. Searching the Internet, I came by Cabinas Las Arenas and initiated some contact back then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunSeaAndPiracy
arnold001, Owner at Cabinas Las Arenas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please contact me again if I can help you further arnoldlfather@hotmail.com Arnold

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Booked through Priceline. Arranged transportation from San Jose to Jaco through Arnold Flather, owner. Paid for transpo to and from airport and hotel as well as 7 nights at hotel in advance. Dirty toilet and windows, dilapidated room furnishings, no restaurant, as advertised, inappropriate decor in room, etc... Stayed long enough to get taxi to take us to find suitable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zimma
queenarn, Owner at Cabinas Las Arenas, responded to this review

As the owner, Arnold Flather, of Cabinas las Arenas I would certainly like to reply to this review, and I encourage the guests to email me at aflather14@hotmail.com so that we may rectify the problem and if justified make the necessary refunds. The guests only made a reseravtion for 6 nights and not 7 as stated, We do have a...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I read all the reviews on this site and was extremely worried but took the chance because it was within the budget. We arrived early & the manager Roger let us keep our stuff in the office until a room became vacant in the afternoon which allowed us to roam around & not waste a day. I don't understand what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust1979
arnold001, Owner at Cabinas Las Arenas, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply. If I can help you furher please email me at arnoldflather@hotmail.com

Florida
Reviewed 8 April 2008

I've been to Costa now several times and will keep going back. I always stay in Hermosa because it's away from Jaco and all the noise and chose Las Arenas this time. BIG MISTAKE! I was trying to get some sleep on a Tuesday night but the noise from the owners house Roger was too loud. People were coming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coakley
Washington
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We received exceptional service from this hotel. We were upset and stressed after our stuff was stolen from the bus, and the management at Cabinas Las Arenes went out of their way to help us. They were extremely kind and understanding, and we would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasdance
Florida, USA
Reviewed 9 March 2008

The other reviews are all correct in saying that Cabinas Las Arenas is a basic, no frills kind of place. Whether that is a good or bad thing all depends on your outlook (and budget) and what you are looking for in Costa Rica. I did a lot of research online before deciding to book our stay at this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank floridian_traveller
Cypress, California
Reviewed 21 February 2008

It's very important to know what you're getting into when booking a room at Cabinas Las Arenas. The hotel is very basic and even rustic. It's really aimed at surfers and those more interested in the flora and fauna of the Costa Rican coast than the amenities of the hotel. The rooms do not have actual windows, just mesh to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ianbob
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We got to the hotel at 1am and there wasn't anyone around. I had told someone that would would be arriving really late. We had to drive until we found a bar open and they let us use the phone to wake up the manager. He told us which room we were in and we drove back and went to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kateseyer
San Francisco, Ca
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Before I begin, let me say I've worked in 4 and 5 star hotels for years, and served as concierge for a private millionaire's club in Hawaii. Let's say I know good service when I see it, but I'm not so stupid as to expect more than what I paid for. I was very attracted to the pictures of Cabinas...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Johnzane

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.0 km away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
143 reviews
0.0 km away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
178 reviews
0.0 km away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
Las Brisas Resort and Villas
#2 of 8 in Playa Hermosa
123 reviews
0.0 km away
Marea Brava
Marea Brava
#2 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
246 reviews
0.0 km away
Casajungla Hostel
Casajungla Hostel
#17 of 65 in Jaco
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For the greatest surfing in Costa Rica come to Cabinas las Arenas, on the beach at Playa Hermosa. Enjoy the best surfing beach in Costa Rica and surf the great waves only 50 yards from your room. Our affordable beachfront hotel, restaurant and surf shop are waiting for you. The hotel has 10 rooms all with their own private bathrooms. Each unit can easily accommodate up to 4 people. Waiting for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cabinas Las Arenas

Address: 400 meters south of school Pochotal | Garabito, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Price Range: $47 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Las Arenas 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cabinas Las Arenas Hotel Playa Hermosa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cabinas Las Arenas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid #5 - that's the one that smelled like urine.”
 of 5 bubbles mindeeforman, 29 Dec 2011 | Read review
1 of 1