We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Otterskloof Private Game Reserve

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Otterskloof Private Game Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Start your review of Otterskloof Private Game Reserve
 Click to rate
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

On arrival greeted with such friendliness and enthusiasm! Welcome drinks even for children and wet cloths to clean hands from road trip. Lodge and food excellent, Accomodation is clean, air conditioned, comfortable and catered for all our needs. Pool sparking clean, lawns beautiful green and neatly maintained! A definite must !!!!! Well worth the price and very accommodating for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelique v
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The Accommodation was clean functional and more than adequate, unfortunately, the dinner was absolutely terrible. The meal was said to be 3 course but the mushroom starter was non existent along with the nominal desert. the main meal was simply unacceptable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurences349
AbelErasmus, Owner at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your review - we're very glad that you found our accommodation up to standard. We have taken your comments in respect to dinner to heart and have revised those dishes as per your e-mail communication. We appreciate the time you took in providing feedback and would like to invite you to visit us again in...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

For the price we expected more 4 star quality..there was bot even a tv in the room. It was also quite a big turn off from the N1 for a over night stay..but we had the time to do it..and places on lekkerslapo was really fully booked already. The owner phoned us and asked if we wanted to join in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeaninec2017
AbelErasmus, Owner at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Jeannine, Thank you for the detailed review - we take all guests' recommendations to heart. We specialise in game dishes, locally sourced, but do accommodate our visitors' special dietary requirements on request. Our menu's are set due to the remote location of the Reserve. The breakfast complaints were escalated and addressed. There are televisions in the public areas, but...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I needed a place to stop on the way to the Cape but have been disappointed by accommodation in Colesberg as it is often noisy. By driving a few kilometers off the beaten track you get a beautiful quite and hospitable place to stay. It really does not add much to your travel time and the views are spectacular. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter John C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We spent one night at Otterskloof. The views from the farm are beautiful but very dry. You can see the effect of the drought on the farm. The food was delicious. I would highly recommend getting taking the dinner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob_Kirchmann
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Will definitely be visiting again! An experience that makes one feel like you are on holiday! Amazing sunsets, amazing food. An experience worth experiencing!! Staff are amazing and always willing to help!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 811Gow
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Very nice great wonderful beautiful quite peaceful tranquil great food amazing service very well managed wonderful people beautiful setting crazy cats that chase buck lovely wild life. Clean well kept

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N5387JFgaryd
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

The beautiful sunset over the Van der Kloof Dam was great. Alot of game and the ideal place not only for the game but also bird viewing, hiking, fishing, ect. Makes you feel at home the moment you arrive. After the rain this place will be a gem in central South Africa.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Casparus93
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Arriving at Otterskloof is like arriving at an oasis in the desert. The lovely green laws and swimming pool and air conditioned rooms were just what we needed after a long hot drive from Cape Town. The home cooked meal and friendly staff also made it a memorable stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 376marinan
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2015

The stay was amazing, great spacious rooms, enough entertainment to keep family busy and bonding, excellent service, great views. The place is really cool in summer, nice morning and evening breeze, enough shade due to number of trees, lawn well maintained, the place is magnificent. It's bit in the middle of nowhere but it's all worth it. Thanks Marelize for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glom1117

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Otterskloof Private Game Reserve lies on the border of the Free State and Northern Cape along the majestic Van Der Kloof Dam - the Reserve is 34 000 acres in extent. Set in an unique part of South Africa, this jewel of the Free State awaits to surprise our visitors. Otterskloof Private Game Reserve offers high standards in accommodation, close wildlife encounters, beautiful vistas, and personal service. The accommodation is spread over 2 lodges, each with it's own character : Safari Lodge is the main lodge and offers luxurious catered accommodation in a revamped farm homestead - each room with it's own separate entrance. Bush Lodge is set in a reclaimed hunting outpost and offers a close-to-nature private self-catering lodge with 3 en-suite bedrooms.Bush lodge is rented out as a unit and is a 45 minute drive from the main lodge in a high-clearance vehicle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Otterskloof Private Game Reserve

Address: 30 km on the Road to Luckhoff, Philippolis, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Philippolis
Price Range: $94 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Otterskloof Private Game Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Otterskloof Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Otterskloof Private Game Reserve staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Maun, Botswana
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Otterskloof Private Game Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1, 2 is perfect facing pool, 4 is spacious, 6 has bath and shower, rooms 11 and 12 are also in good view of the swimming pool.”
Glom1117, 27 Dec 2015 | Read review
“No aircons”
AMB646, 6 Feb 2015 | Read review
2 of 2