We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ferry House Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ferry House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Cuxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I chose the Ferry House Inn as a quiet birthday surprise for my other half and we weren't disappointed ! The room was great as were all the staff without exception. The food was great and the smoked pheasant was not only locally sourced, as was the majority of the food we had, but was some of the best I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Don2016
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This place is quite out of the way, practically in the middle of nowhere but what a place. Really well decorated, food was great and most of the staff were great. Drops a point because one member of staff was a little abrupt to the point of being rude. Good range of beers and nice menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdw72
VictoriaFerryHouse, Owner at The Ferry House Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your review - I am glad you had a great time. I am however really concerned about your experience with one of the staff, and urge you please to contact us by phone or through our website to let us know more.

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended and allegedly one of the nicest places to eat on the island. Beautiful views and good service but my rack of lamb (£16) was lacking in flavour. Limited menu but there is something for everyone, fish, burger, steak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Spending the night at anchor in the Swale, we visited for dinner. After motoring to the shore and having negotiated the mud, we arrived at 8:50pm. Told that the kitchen takes it's last orders at "about 8:45"by disinterested kids working there, we wont be returning. When you turn up at most waterside restaurants in lifejackets, the hospitality is good. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meNher599
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Really nice and quiet place. We went there with my Finacé to celebrate and it was brilliant! My surprise was well organized and the mini cakes were more than delicious. We had fish and chips for dinner, we just loved it as it's breaded by themselves. Highly recommended by us is someone want to hide from a busy days!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judit B
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I have never had the misfortune to stay in a glorified broom closet before! To state it was the pits would be an understatement, the room had two bedside cabinets,that was the total furniture, apart from two single beds!..no telephone, unreliable internet access, a rod angled in the corner acted as a place to hang your clothes! A TV which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwh727
VictoriaFerryHouse, Owner at The Ferry House Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your room choice. Presumably you did not ask to change to another room, as no complaints have been made of this nature so we were surprised to read your damning review. Whichever online booking medium you used, there will have been pictures of the room. They are accurate photos - they...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Went there today told to sit in the lounge and they would call us when our table was ready half hour later I went to the bar for a drink and heard a lady say the restaurant is closed when I told her I was still waiting she looked shocked and said we will seat you straight away we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
Northamptonshire, England
Reviewed 11 February 2016

I've stayed a few times now and always enjoyed the food both dinner and breakfast and the staff are always polite and helpful, but each time I have niggles. Fresh milk is provided on arrival, but then there's no milk in the room for the morning. It would be good to have some long life milk pots. I've been put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agarton1
VictoriaFerryHouse, Manager at The Ferry House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We have passed on your comments to our housekeeping team and are sorry you have been disappointed with your stays. We provide fresh milk as we believe it superior to long life, and are always on site from very early in the morning should you like fresh, or to come...

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Booked to stay at the ferry house inn New Year's Day. Communication prior to visit was great with regards to there being no restaurant facilities available due to the date. This was fine it was a long drive and we didn't expect to make it by 5, we could eat elsewhere. What was not explained was exactly how remote this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Donna R
VictoriaFerryHouse, Manager at The Ferry House Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Prior communications to your visit confirmed you were eating elsewhere as did not expect to arrive much before 10pm, therefore we did not offer prior advice to stop off to eat. We are not open on New Years Day evening and would have happily offered dining advice over...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

If only all work trips were this good!! Best burger ever, lovely staff gorgeous room and oh what a great surprise when I woke up early and saw the view as was dark when I arrived. Will be back, next time for pleasure! Clean, great breakfast, great job!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
VictoriaFerryHouse, Manager at The Ferry House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very positive review I shall pass on your burger and breakfast comments to our chefs. We look forward to your future visits with us.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harty
6.2 km away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
97 reviews
8.3 km away
Tonge Barn
Tonge Barn
#6 of 6 in Sittingbourne
164 reviews
8.6 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
5.0 km away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
340 reviews
9.0 km away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ferry House Inn is a beautiful 16th Century Country Public House situated at the edge of the Swale Estuary on the peaceful Isle of Sheppey. It is set in three acres of terraced lawns and offers a superb panoramic view over the water.The Inn has recently undergone major refurbishment throughout with particular attention to retaining its old character and charm, by incorporating open log fires, traditional wooden beams and solid oak floors. In December 2005 we opened the doors to the new Barn Restaurant.The Inn also has three double bedrooms and one twin bedroom, all beautifully furnished with en-suite facilities and offering visitors all the comfort needed for a perfect nights sleep. We can also cater for a variety of events, so whether you need a peaceful and idyllic setting for your Wedding, or a venue for your corporate event, the Ferry House Inn is quite simply ‘the perfect venue’ ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ferry House Inn

Address: Harty Ferry Road, Harty ME12 4BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Sheppey > Harty
Price Range: $124 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferry House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Ferry House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ferry House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room with the four poster bed has fantastic views over the estuary”
 of 5 bubbles The_Don2016, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose the front views are brill”
 of 5 bubbles cheedarcheese, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have a view”
 of 5 bubbles BarryP574, 28 May 2015 | Read review
“The double bed in the lilac room has a great view across the estuary as the window is in front of the bed. There are also opening windows at the side of the bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Yvonneandkeith, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Room 3 - light and a wonderful view”
 of 5 bubbles 822AndyE, 7 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay