We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Devonshire Hotel

25-27 Main Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AD, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Linton Falls
    0.4 km
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviewed yesterday
Fantastic Stay
We booked fairly last minute but managed to get a 'dog friendly... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked fairly last minute but managed to get a 'dog friendly' room. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and ate there both evenings. The atmosphere and surroundings are simply charming and the newly refurbished rooms delightful with lovely furnishings, comfy bed and bedding and fabulous bathroom with complementary toiletries. There was a good selection of coffee and tea with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shez5422
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at The Devonshire in Grassington for one Friday evening at the end of November 2016. The pub/hotel has a lovely atmosphere and we enjoyed a really good quality meal on the Friday evening. The accommodation is very nice and in keeping with an old character building in a Yorkshire market town - with excellent facilities. The bathroom had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex1515S
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alex1515S, I enjoyed reading your review. We pride ourselves on our characteristic building and try to keep things somewhat traditional. Our breakfast is all locally sourced as are most of our restaurant delights. I am pleased that you found them to your liking. ~We thank you for your recommendation to your family and friends and look forward to seeing...

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying in Grassington for winter weekend away, called into this lovely hotel for pre dinner drinks. Beautiful inside, cosy and comfortable, with friendly staff. Unfortunately, we had a previous dinner booking elsewhere, but looking at the food being served we will definitely go back there to eat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 578jacky
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hello 578jacky, Nice of you to call in for pre dinner drinks. We look forward to seeing you again in our restaurant shortly. Hope you enjoyed the meal you had elsewhere. Jayne

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely pub with gorgeous rooms. We had a tiny room due to taking a dog with us but the room was still of a high standard. The pub is lovely a cosy and the food both on the evening and at breakfast was great. The location is fantastic as it is so central, the only issue some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyJar
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi EmilyJar, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately the car park issue is something we cannot do very much about. We look forward to seeing you again in March. If you haven't already booked your room please give me a call and I will reserve a lovely room for you. Regards Jayne

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From booking it went wrong but to be fair that was late room.com. Our room was ok but the bathroom was dusty behind the door. The beds where comfy so had a good night sleep. The room was warm for us but hotel rooms always are, would rather that can always open window as we did. Now the restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sweetingthorns
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sweetingthorns for you complex review. I would like to bring to your attention that we have just had a new head chef started with us and he is currently looking at all the menus and suppliers. We are hoping shortly to correct the issues concerning the restaurant (inc breakfast). Your review has come at the perfect time. I...

Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Our room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the lovely square.Large and comfy bed and large tv.However there was no soap in the bathroom and the toilet needed thumbs of steel to flush it.There was the last guests water still in the kettle and the the cafetière only served one cup so had to cleaned out before we could make another....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Chris. We have taken on board all of the points you made and are working on correcting them. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the parking. The hotel is very old and obviously parking wasn't an issue back then. Our menu is also being reviewed for the new year. Thanks again, Jayne

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Went to Grassington for the Dickensian Christmas Festival this weekend. Thought we'd get in the Devonshire early before the crush and were pleasantly surprised by the choices on offer for the set menu. Placed our order after deliberating for some time over which main course to choose as they all sounded delicious. However, when we saw the meals coming out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GalaxyRider50
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us during the Dickensian Festival. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed. As you pointed out this is a very busy time for us therefore our menu has to be greatly reduced. After reading your review we took on board your comments and changed the wording on our menu for the following weekend. We...

Buckden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We didn't stay her but had a very nice meal at the Devonshire today with the family - staff demonstrated a good level of customer service and were very friendly - The different areas add character - thank you very much and keep it up

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuckInn1
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you chose us to visit for your family meal. We look forward to seeing you again perhaps in the new year when we will have a new menu to tempt you. Regards Jayne

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights - room and bathroom recently refurbished and comfy, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast excellent, location right in the centre in the square. Will stay again and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MTB99Mike
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you MTB99Mike. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard here at the Devonshire to create the perfect atmosphere for all our guests and very pleased to receive such lovely feedback.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

In early November our family party stayed at the Devonshire in grassington. We had a very pleasant time, good food, excellent real ale and comfortable rooms. The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble, all the ladies chatted away to us when serving food or drink. All in all a very enjoyable 3 night stay and we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john b
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John B. It is always a pleasure to hear such lovely comments. Hopefully we will see you all back here soon to enjoy more of our "excellent real ale" and "good food". Spring is a picturesque time in Grassington and makes for a beautiful time to visit. Maybe we will see you then. Regards Jayne

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
86 reviews
4.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
738 reviews
4.3 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.2 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
861 reviews
4.7 km away
The Tennants Arms
The Tennants Arms
#1 of 1 in Kilnsey
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Devonshire Hotel

Address: 25-27 Main Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Price Range: $121 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Grassington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Devonshire Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Devonshire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The reception staff would be the best to offer advice”
 of 5 bubbles 578jacky, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 overlooks the pretty square and has a window seat,perfect for gazing out from”
 of 5 bubbles WakefieldShakywakey, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms off the main square would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Sam538, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Ainton suite room 6”
 of 5 bubbles stevemacAshbourne, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 1”
 of 5 bubbles AnnualOxford, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5