We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Devonshire, Grassington

176 reviews
Save
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good17%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“timothy taylor”(9 reviews)
“the pub”(13 reviews)
“full range”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (176)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Devonshire, Grassington
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
80
29
32
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
80
29
32
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimothy taylorthe pubfull rangepoor stafflarge car parkfabulous weathernice friendly staffrecent experiencethe sofa bedoverlooking the squaresteak and ale pieother customersoff the menuhot showermins walk awaycask alesfeel extremely welcome
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were meant to be staying at another hotel but on arrival it was a building site. We then ventured back into Grassington to the beautiful Devonshire Hotel. We were so glad we did. From the young man Liam behind the bar. The manager John...More

3  Thank paulandmandycaden
Response from Mike W, Owner at The Devonshire, GrassingtonResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Paul & Caden, Thank you for your positive review, it was great to meet you. I'm glad you chose to stay at the Devonshire and you enjoyed your stay with us. John and the Devonshire team will be pleased with this great feedback as...More

Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night on 1st january. It’s the third or fourth time we have stayed here over the last 2 years and we have seen a steady deterioration. On this trip the room was nice albeit we found a previous...More

1  Thank upthedale1974
Response from Mike W, Owner at The Devonshire, GrassingtonResponded 5 weeks ago

I am sorry your recent visit to the Devonshire was not a pleasurable one. The Devonshire was one of our tenanted pub estate, however from Monday 15th Jan it is now part of the Timothy Taylor's Managed group and you will now find a full...More

Reviewed 17 January 2018

Popped in for lunch with the family. Nice atmosphere, nice fire and good food and great beer. Top tip: Grab the table by the wood burner or one of the small booths. Really nice friendly staff. What more do you want?

1  Thank Cracoe-123
Response from Mike W, Manager at The Devonshire, GrassingtonResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Devonshire and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Many thanks, The Devonshire Team

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed last night. Overall very disappointing. Decided to stay as was hoping to enjoy range of Tim Taylor’s beers as their website promises - well we couldn’t as most were off. My evening meal was good, Mrs W’s was so so. But we didn’t want...More

2  Thank Andy W
Response from Mike W, Manager at The Devonshire, GrassingtonResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Andy, I am sorry your recent visit to the Devonshire was not a pleasurable one. The Devonshire was one of our tenanted pub estate, however from Monday 15th Jan it is now part of the Timothy Taylor's Managed group and you will now find...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

We stopped in here after a marvellous walk along the River Wharfe (wish there was a place to write a review of that…). We had a beer before we went back to Skipton on the bus. I think this was the place that had many...More

Thank Wendy V
Response from Mike W, Owner at The Devonshire, GrassingtonResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Wendy, The Devonshire was one of local family brewer Timothy Taylor's (not Greene King!)tenanted pub estate, however from Monday 15th Jan it is now part of our Managed group. You will now find a full range of our beers, roaring fires, great food and...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345635
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Room Service
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NatashaUK1
3 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Robert W | Reviewed this property |
Hi Natasha, It is in the centre of Grassington and we were a large party. One car managed to park in the spaces available outside the front of the hotel, while our car was parked a short walk away in the pay and display car... More
1
Vote
Zoe K
9 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Leighanna A | Property representative |
Hi there Zoe We have live music on every two weeks and unfortunately we do not have anything om Friday 19th May. Very sorry - we hope you enjoy your stay with us. Kind regards Ann Wild
0
Votes
Zoe K
19 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ladyshipfi | Reviewed this property |
All rooms have en suite that I am aware of...
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"First floor rooms overlooking the picturesque square are lovely."
Read review
"The suites are great, and most overlook the market square"
Read review
"Views to the front have great vilage views"
Read review
"We were booked on the very top floor but the views of the square were great."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing