We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Claxton Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Claxton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 152: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My second visit to this hotel, it was just a few months ago we visited Redcar and stayed at the Claxton Hotel. And we both liked the hotel, so we're back. I have to say I love the place it's like home from home, only at home the sea isn't outside my window. Wonderful, helpful & friendly staff. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsdecan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just got back from a night at Claxton Hotel, check in was quick and hassle free, all staff were very friendly and helpful! We booked a double superior with sea view, and a friend booked a standard double, I would strongly recommend booking the superior! Our room was clean and fresh as the standard was quite tired and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarthCoote
huddersfield
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Room was very nice , only criticism is that the breakfast room is freezing in the morning . Breakfast is very good though ! Location is good for sea front walks and Wetherspoons is only 150yds away . Room 10 where I stayed is fairly small with a single bed but nice new bathroom with big shower area .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HuddersfieldMick
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Arrived to a freezing cold room, dirty carpets, lumpy ancient pillows. The door was not lockable from the inside which made me feel vulnerable and unsafe.Very small room and even smaller en suite. Sit on the loo and each elbow is touching a wall. No shelves to put toothbrush, make up or wash bag. The towels didn't look very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m155mills
dawn s, Owner at Claxton Hotel, responded to this review

we are always sorry to hear that a customer is unhappy, however when you spoke to the manager on arrival and explained your issues you were offered a full refund for your two nights stay. The manager also offered to help you locate accommodation in the area in which you would be happy, as you turned these down and chose...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Romantic get away, sea views, parmo's over the road. Bloody gorgeous. Recommend this hotel. You should stay here, snug, cosy room, bed had 2 pillows. T E N OUT OF T E N ******************* Jeff and Babs were amazing hosts. Amazing breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VANESSA L
Rotherham
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Well what can say apart from it was fantastic, I wasn't expecting too much from the hotel from the photos looked a bit old but clean other reviews I read sounded pretty ok and they also said the breakfast was good, when we got there staff was amazing very friendly nothing too much trouble then they took us to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I had my wedding do in this hotel last weekend. I cannot say how fantastic everything was. The meal was absolutely gorgeous as was the buffet on the evening. I did not need to think about anything, just enjoying myself. I cannot recommend this place enough. The room was spacious, contemporary and very clean. The staff could not have done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen W
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We were working in Teesport this week and our company booked all our contracors in the same digs,The Claxton was a pleasant surprise due to an oversight by our company the rooms had been booked but not paid for,this was no trouble"get your company to E-mail us tomorrow and it will be sorted". . We got pot luck on rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickied00
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Stayed two nights to see our filly Castle Hill Cassie make her debut at Redcar she came third we were over the moon,making our stay even more enjoyable.the hotel is excellent with some ground floor rooms making it great for us disabled guests,the rooms are warm and comfortable with comfortable beds.this year we have stayed in several hotels due to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Les W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Room size reasonable, but decor tired and dated. Only one towel per person, and only one lumpy pillow. Bed linen didn't feel totally fresh. Shower cramped and cubicle door did not close securely so water all over the floor. Not a great experience and would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edna B

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
6.7 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
436 reviews
6.8 km away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
109 reviews
8.9 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
401 reviews
12.7 km away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
10.2 km away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Claxton Hotel

Address: 196 High Street, Redcar TS10 3AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Price Range: $71 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Claxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Claxton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Claxton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles 805teresah, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floors aplenty great for disabled”
 of 5 bubbles LesW298, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No lift so any problems setting up stairs choose ground floor they are steep.”
 of 5 bubbles Mel186336, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 or the one above gets some morning sun and a superb view”
 of 5 bubbles BET1941, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a seaward facing room looking north north east”
 of 5 bubbles stephendP61YQ, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay