We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Happy Apple Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Happy Apple Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Happy Apple Backpackers
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, because of proximity to Abel Tasman. There's very little positive to say about this place; the kitchen & bathrooms were all filthy, the beds were incredibly uncomfortable & the rooms poorly ventilated. We hardly slept the whole time we were there. The staff were incredibly rude; we were scolded for cooking breakfast at 10am....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
Bordeaux, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is really nice, the rooms are really nice, comfortable, nice beds, good nights, the lounge is very pretty we feel like home in french Britain. I liked the kitchen as well. The garden is also very cool, few tables outside to enjoy a friendly dinner in summer. The rules are very stricts, like nobody in the kitchen after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexishak
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is amazing! is clean and the staff is very friendly!!! We rented a double room with privet bathroom, the only problem is that we don't realize that the bathroom isn't ensuite! and that could be a big deal, but the room is just outside of the reception, so any chance to go to the toilet only with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaPuntoLore
Picton, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided at the last minute to visit the area and this was the only place I could find that could accommodate myself, wife, and 5yo son for a night. We got a triple room which was very basic but had 3 comfortable beds which was all we needed. Bathrooms were very well equipped and clean. We liked the look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
exeter
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you so much for our stay last night. Fresh warm muffins on arrival. My partner doesn't like banana so I scoffed them both :). Lovely surroundings and a glow worm walk definitely worth doing. Our best stay in new Zealand so far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnny85belle
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for just under a week and thought it was great! The owners are lovely, specially Jarrod who is hilarious! Nice kitchen, large outdoor area and I especially loved the garden - swing chairs, volleyball court and a Jacuzzi! Nice and clean. Wish you could smoke in the garden and the timer on the showers can be a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buaidhnobas90
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed our garden even without a cigarette! Happy Apple is smoke free, there is no smoking on our premises. Thanks for taking the time to review us, glad you enjoyed your stay and best wishes with your travelling.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked through TripAdvisor. TripAdvisor integrates with a lot of booking agencies, one of them is called WotIf. For some reason, WotIf has Happy Apple Backpackers registered into their website, and we booked through them. When we got to the accomodation, the rude receptionist told us they had no association with the booking agency and that they are fully booked,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank André K
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear you were able to get your money back and we were very sorry to be unable to accommodate you in the manner you expected. It was a difficult and perplexing situation for our new receptionist, as we hadn't received a booking for your room, were unable to provide you with an alternative as we...

Bordeaux, France
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Pleasant and clean youth hostel with charming owner (Janet) and staff (Jared and Bill). The rooms are a bit small but there are so many nice other places that, in the end, it's not really important. The garden is very big and you can play volley ball and table tennis. In the lounge, you can play pool, video games or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deffieux L
Janet G, Manager at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us, we enjoyed having you! We here at the Happy Apple wish you all the best on your journey and hope you have safe and adventurous travels. Cheers, Everyone here at the Happy Apple

Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The facilities are what you can expext from a budget accomodation (ok but worn out kitchen, uncomfortable beds etc). The outside area is quite nice. But what drags down the overall experience is that one of the staff members (owner?) has a really bad attitude. Makes you feel like you're under constant surveillance. Would not recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
Janet G, Manager at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry you feel this way, and have written you privately to see what we can do to rectify this for the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a few nights with my friend over the new year period and I believe we got the last few beds as it was fully booked. This place was awesome - in particular the friendliness of the staff (a great American guy who did such things as immediately change a light bulb when it was pointed out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mokoglides
Janet G, Manager at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Happy Apple, and I wish you safe travels on your journey and adventures ahead!

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
34.8 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
251 reviews
1.7 km away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
2.2 km away
Hat Trick Lodge Backpackers' Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 km away
Fernwood Holiday Park
Fernwood Holiday Park
#11 of 13 in Motueka
30 reviews
1.9 km away
White Elephant Backpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Happy Apple Backpackers

Address: 500 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range: $32 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Apple Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Happy Apple Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Happy Apple Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't pay extra for the privet bathroom! don't worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles LaPuntoLore, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not book through WotIf!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 371andr_k, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a large room with no long term people!”
 of 5 bubbles 158alexm, 31 Dec 2013 | Read review
“If you want a double room and light sleepers don't sleep opposite the toilets. The doors are a bit squeaky”
 of 5 bubbles KimjaA, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the dinning area.”
 of 5 bubbles Aklu, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5