Northern Cross Resort

Northern Cross Resort

13 Km West of Goodsoil on Highway 954, Goodsoil, Saskatchewan S0M 1A0 Canada
Traveller (8)
1/2 Mile Long Blond Sand Beach
Pool & Beach (15)
Our Three Bedroom Cabins
Room & Suite (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Goodsoil
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Beach
Badminton
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Boating
Canoeing
Golf course
Hiking
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Dining area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Suites

Location

13 Km West of Goodsoil on Highway 954, Goodsoil, Saskatchewan S0M 1A0 Canada
31Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve E wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second year at Northern Cross. It is a great place for our group which requires both campsites and cabins. The cabin we stayed in has very comfortable beds and some of the furniture had been updated since our last visit. The beach is a short walk which is great for the kids. There is fuel on site and it is a short drive to town if you forgot something. The lake and area is beautiful and the fishing has been very good for us. We are looking forward to coming back this summer!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JeannineBC, Owner at Northern Cross Resort
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Hi there, thank you for your positive review and kind words! We are consistently looking at ways to improve the experience of our guests so are very happy that you enjoyed the upgrades! We look forward to seeing you this summer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray Horyn wrote a review Jan 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I have been coming annually to Northern Cross Resort for more than 40 years! The cabins and sites are clean and well looked after, the lake is great for fishing and swimming, and there is a nice golf course just minutes away! We will keep coming back! The Horyn Clan
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JeannineBC, Owner at Northern Cross Resort
Responded Jan 23, 2019
Hey there Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us and for your kind words. We hope to provide a welcoming, peaceful and enjoyable environment for our guests to enjoy and we especially love it when guests return year after year! We look forward to seeing you this summer :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mccaine wrote a review Jan 2019
Drayton Valley, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the best place to go for a summer vacation. We have taken our children there for past 22 years and now grandchildren as well. Jeff and Jeanine are very helpful and welcoming. The cabins are clean and close to the store, beach, fishing and playground. The natural environment makes it a very relaxing spot for a family vacation and we all looking forward to it each year. Thank you Jeff, Jeanine and staff!

Glenn, Marlene and Family
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JeannineBC, Owner at Northern Cross Resort
Responded Jan 19, 2019
Hi Glenn, Marlene and family Thank you so much for your kind words, we are very happy that you choose to return to us year after year. We very much appreciate our long term clients and look forward to seeing you this upcoming summer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry M wrote a review Aug 2017
Irricana, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked into Northern Cross Resort hoping to have a nice view of Lac Des Isles as it appeared to show on the map. Instead, when we arrived we found that the trailer site we had booked was nothing more than a roped off section of lawn with no view of anything, and on such a slope that I could have never have leveled the trailer. When I asked for a refund, it was refused. The entire resort appeared to be in dire need of upgrading. The provincial campground just down the road was 10 times better and far cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JeannineBC, Owner at Northern Cross Resort
Responded Aug 7, 2017
Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your site. After you came in to complain about the lack of lake view I was very concerned that we have accidentally misled you (or others) so went through our both our website and facebook page to see if we had inadvertently given that impression. Our map shows the meadow and the trees between the sites and the lakes and we also have photos of each and every one of the new sites prior to commencing work on them, and they also show that they have trees but not lake view. When you made the reservation, I spent quite a good amount of time on the phone with you over several days and I do wish you had mentioned that this was your impression because while we are very happy with how our sites are looking, we are under no mistaken belief that any have lake views. I do wish you had discussed your dissatisfaction after your first night prior to making alternative arrangements for your second night because we did have other sites available that I would have been happy to have shown you. With regards to the refund, as per our terms and conditions, we do not give refunds unless we have not upheld our part of the arrangement. I am glad you enjoyed the grass, we actually laid that in June so that people would not be traipsing sand into their campers so we are very happy that it has taken. We are currently in the process of doing rolling upgrades (hence the brand new 30 amp sites) and while we will be making further improvements (we always want to offer the best environment for our guests), we feel that our campground is looking pretty good.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jenna88B wrote a review Aug 2017
Bonnyville, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
By far the worst campgrounds I have been to!! They have crammed the most sites they can on to their grounds. There is absolutely no privacy between sites, you can't even tell where one site begins and another ends.
The bathrooms at this place were disgusting, I've been in outhouses that have smelled better! And there's signs telling you to clean the toilet after you use it, even pointing out where the toilet brushes are -makes you wonder if they have ever been properly cleaned, judging by the smell I'd guess not. Same goes for the showers - little, dingy, musty smelling rooms, with signs asking you to mop up after you're done. They provide you with a mop and bug infested "cleaning solution" outside every shower. Just looking at those made us think twice about showering!
The staff was young yet very polite and helpful. But watch out for your dogs!! If they are not tethered to their expectations, or accidentally get away you'll be in big trouble - and threatened to be kicked out!
The lake is beautiful! Fishing was amazing. But I would consider staying else where for a more peaceful and enjoyable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JeannineBC, Owner at Northern Cross Resort
Responded Aug 4, 2017
Hi Jenna Thank you for your feedback but I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We offer a wide range of sites with varying degrees of privacy and sizes, to suit all camper sizes and budgets. We also try to meet the varying needs of our clients so we have some that are very wooded and others that are more open. Booking early is the best way to get a specific type of site. Often when people book last minute, there are not as many options available. The sites are defined by either small wooden posts at 4 foot intervals approximately 1 foot high, or by posts with rope in between. We have tried to avoid the enclosing (prison-like) effect of high fences and I have not had someone not notice the posts before, but they are painted a subtle brown to blend in so that may be why you didn't see them. The bathrooms are cleaned at least once a day and if you found them to be less than clean then I do wish you had advised us because unfortunately there are times when other guests do not leave them quite as clean as we would like. This is why we place a toilet brush in the cubicle for the convenience of users to clean up after themselves - not others. Our sign does encourage people to clean up after themselves as unfortunately we are not always aware of when someone has left a mess, and we don't want it looking untidy for the next people. The showers are also cleaned daily, the mop is simply for people to make sure the floor isn't slippery or dirty for the next person (being right by the lake, we do have a lot of sand around). We encourage people to leave the facilities as they would like to find them or as we left them after cleaning. The showers are not massive and the humidity has been high this year so leaving the door open after use is recommended. I wouldn't agree that they are dingy though and they were repainted last year. We have actually received an exceptional number of positive comments regarding the state of our showers and bathrooms but still encourage people to let us know if they have not been left in an ideal manner. We ask all visitors to leash and control their dogs as we are in the Provincial Park and are blessed with the number of deer, fawn, birds and bears. Only last week we had 3 sea-birds killed by dogs that were not controlled properly, this is obviously something we seek to avoid. We also have a high number of families who stay with us who either have children or animals themselves and it is important to us that no-one feels threatened by an uncontrolled animal. We respect our environment, guests and animals (wild or not) and we hope that those who visit us will do the same. We wish you well for the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mccaine wrote a review Jan 2020
Drayton Valley, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have taken our family here each summer for more than 20 years! It's the perfect place for a family to relax and enjoy the natural surroundings!
The grandkids absolutely love the short walk to playground, fishing, beach,candy at the store and of course their trip to Goodsoil for mini golf and ice cream!! As do we!
Jeff, Jeanine and staff are very friendly and make you feel very comfortable!
Can't wait till summer! Thank you Jeff and Jeanine for providing us with such a great resort with natural surroundings for our family vacation! We make new memories each and every year! 😊
The Caine Family
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan R wrote a review Sep 2019
Bruderheim, Alberta6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jeff and Jeanine have a real gem in northern Saskatchewan.
They are really eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We have been staying there as seasonal renters now for the last 4 years and our stay there has always been great. The resort has a really good atmosphere for families that are looking for place to make memories. As we have made many as well as friends.
It would be hard pressed to find such a gem like Northern cross resort in Alberta.
We most certainly recommend this camping resort for your family's vacation.

Bryan
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bill R wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just spent a wonderful weekend at the resort. For us, it was perfect. We rented a cabin, had a fire and cooked over the fire pit each night, went swimming at the beautiful sandy beach, and fished for jack fish in the lake. Good times!
The resort has very friendly staff, wifi, and a store that is open ever day that stocks necessities and fishing gear, etc.
All in all, Northern Cross is a fantastic place for a great getaway! Not our first time visiting, and we are already planning our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JeannineBC, Owner at Northern Cross Resort
Responded Jul 22, 2019
Hi Bill, thank you so much for your very kind words! It delights us to see our guests enjoying themselves in our beautiful environment here as much as you, your wife and your pups do! We very much look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer H wrote a review Mar 2019
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been coming to northern cross resort for over 20 years and it has become a yearly vacation that my kids and I look forward to every year. The lake is clear and beautiful. We love to swim and do water sports and most of all fish! Our hosts Jeff and Jeannine are the best!! The resort is very clean, lots of trees and everything is in walking distance!!! Our little piece of heaven on earth!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JeannineBC, Owner at Northern Cross Resort
Responded Mar 19, 2019
Hi Jenn Thank you for your kind words, we thoroughly enjoy having your family come and spend time with us every year, watching you making the most of every opportunity to get out on the lake. Our regular guests are very important to us and knowing that you enjoy the improvements and work we do means a lot. We look forward to spending this season with you and your lovely family.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loni L wrote a review Jan 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just love it here!! This will be the 5th year coming up this summer and am always so happy to get there and sad to leave. Jeff and Jeannine are awesome people, such hard workers. Staff are really great and keep everything clean and tidy. Lots of trees and nature everywhere. Such a great spot to relax and get away from the grind!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JeannineBC, Owner at Northern Cross Resort
Responded Jan 19, 2019
Hi Loni Thank you so much for both your kind words and your repeat business! We very much enjoy seeing guests such as yourself who come year after year and get so much pleasure from the environment we provide. We very much look forward to seeing you this upcoming summer!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Loni L wrote a tip Jan 2018
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabins or your own camping"
Read full review
emtnesters wrote a tip Jul 2016
Sherwood Park, Canada54 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No cabins have lake views and only a select few have private showers."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Goodsoil area.
LOCATION
CanadaSaskatchewanGoodsoil
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Northern Cross Resort - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Northern Cross Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Northern Cross Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at Northern Cross Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
Is parking available at Northern Cross Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Northern Cross Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.