We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid for a tent site and it was ok. Nothing special, common areas also typical camping. It was so far the most expensive camping in NZ for me and definitely not the best one. Free Wifi codes that we got were not working at our site and also not in common areas... Nice thing that the restaurant is nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mateusz Ż
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Camping is camping, not glamping. Not the most expensive that's for sure, it does include showers, common room, wifi, dvd hire. But it is more expensive than DOC, which is heavily subsidised by the local taxpayers for our overseas visitors who now feel that we are ripping them off at $20 for all facilities, so probably need a wee reality...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed overnight here on a weekend trip down around the Catlins area. The location of the Holiday Park is lovely surrounded by bush and with the Whistling Frog Cafe & Restaurant as part of the complex, then this was the ideal place to stop. It was a cold night so our electric blankets were most welcomed. The room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JazzyPerth
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks for your very honest review...

Rome
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice well-equipped cabin. Kitchen and bathroom old, small and needs renovation. No cancellation possible when booked. Very stricked to their well stated policy... However good starting place to explore the Catlins

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjirk F
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks, we are doing our best, but don't have an unlimited supply of money to do everything at once...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Location and accommodation were fine, but my biggest grievance was the wifi implementation. When there's no mobile coverage you're relying on wifi, but implementation here was poor. I have no issues with a 100MB cap, but I do have issues with repeatedly having to re-enter the access code on the same device time after time. It would also help if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveXNZ
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

We just spent $5K upgrading, there were issues but all sorted now...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Pulled-in to get something to eat at the Whistling Frog and ended up staying the night in a cabin. Staff were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a old single mans quarters unit from the hydro power plant construction. We were impressed with how comfortable the beds were and how quite it was. Also notable was the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nglenjarman
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review.

Paris, France
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Hôtel on the road in the Catlins. Don't expect luxury but decent hotel. Mattress could be better, apart from this everything fine. Rooms are not made up if you stay more than 1 night, and it gets pretty cold during the night inside the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franco8375
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

This is a holiday park, sorry, not a hotel...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stayed here two nights while exploring the Catlins. Staff are really friendly and helpful and it is a bonus to have the Whistling Frog cafe and bar on site. We had a motel unit and were impressed with how comfortable the bed was. A shower with decent water pressure is an added bonus. Units are not well soundproofed but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
ISPIDunedin, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

The restaurant is very popular, my future son in law, is the chef and runs it with my two daughters. I am very proud of what they have done. They really are so caring and do a wonderful job, day in and day out. It is,a really tough job. The motel rooms were soundproofed, but they are 'motels'. Always going...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We stayed at the McLean Falls Kiwi Holiday Park as it is located perfectly in the middle of the Catlins. It was the perfect base for us to explore this wild area. The facilities are super clean, the team extremely helpful and the cafe food is delicious! Choice! Nothing but raises for it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Laura
ISPIDunedin, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Wow, thanks for your lovely comments. A breath of fresh air... Everyone on our team tries so hard to please. Hospo is sometimes a thankless job, I have to say! We love it when people take the time to say how much they enjoyed their experience. We have thousands of people come through every year. I would say 90% have...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Surprisingly good location and even more surprisingly great food! Whilst this is promoted as a campground it is much more than that. There are not many places to stay in the Catlins that serve good food so if you are travelling this route and need somewhere that caters this is it. We were headed for Papatowai... then discovered their motel/store...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleskinz
ISPIDunedin, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feed-back. Have passed it on to the staff members. We will take a look at the entrance and signage to reflect ourselves better. Our property has changed a lot in the passed 10 years and we are positioning ourselves more as a resort. Really appreciate you taking the time to compliment us and offer some great...

Reviewed 18 October 2016

The food in this place is simply unbelievable! Who would expect such great quality in such a remote location? We extended our stay here as our kids got engaged, the staff really went out of their way to make their day special and partied with them after work. We made some good friends and had a great time. The facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenelle W
ISPIDunedin, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. So glad you chose our venue to celebrate your special occasion.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaslands
28.1 km away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
42 reviews
17.3 km away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 2 in Waikawa
101 reviews
28.3 km away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
39.8 km away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
20.9 km away
Catlins River Ridge Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Do you want value for money, free wifi and to stay at the most central location to all the iconic attractions? The Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls is perfectly situated in the heart of the Catlins Rainforest. This provides an ideal home-base to enjoy not only the nearby McLean Falls and Cathedral Caves, but North and South Catlins attractions as well. Our Accommodation ranges from budget beds to luxurious chalets and cottages, suiting everyone's needs and budget. We even have all your meals sorted with our very excellent acclaimed Whistling Frog Cafe, which is our fully licensed restaurant and bar for all day dining and evening meals. One of the few places in the Catlins that offers such amenities and convinience. Ideal for couples, families, tours and groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls

Address: 9 Rewcastle Road | off Chaslands Highway, Chaslands, New Zealand (Formerly McLean Falls Motels & Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Chaslands
Price Range: $78 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose a simple cabin, super quite”
 of 5 bubbles michelleskinz, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid staying in a motel room if you want don't want to hear the neighbours”
 of 5 bubbles jmW6290DW, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The motels rooms are nice with ensute. there is a well set up communal kithen. But the chalets are all self contained and very special”
 of 5 bubbles 361micks, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“instead of a motel unit, perhaps a villa is better value”
 of 5 bubbles 604roberth, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Standard cabins are lovely, number 5 is closest to the shower block!”
 of 5 bubbles AdamJ725, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay