Ruby Lake Resort

Ruby Lake Resort

15426 Sunshine Coast Hwy, Madeira Park, British Columbia V0N 2H1 Canada
Traveller (146)
Room & Suite (35)
view of main dock and restaurant from the second dock
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#4 of 4 hotels in Madeira Park
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nestled between the Caren Range Mountains and gorgeous Ruby Lake, we are situated in a natural paradise! Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway or some good family fun, a wilderness retreat in one of our Safari Tents or rustic Wood Cabins, or a full comfort stay in one of our well-equipped Cottage Suites, we have accommodations to suit all needs! Our 80+ acre property includes 11 cottages suites, 12 safari tents, 5 wood cabins, an outdoor amphitheatre, a lagoon and natural wildlife sanctuary, an onsite Italian restaurant with picturesque patio seating for those balmy summer evenings and a real wood fireplace for the cooler months, a small beach and waterfront area with private dock for guests use, and plenty of walking, hiking, and cycling trails. We also offer onsite canoe, row boat, and stand up paddle-board rentals, as well as lakeside yoga classes, swimming, hiking, and more!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Boating
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Yoga room
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
185Reviews5Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 36
  • 19
  • 22
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stefanie C wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were great - friendly, helpful and available. Our accommodation included a kitchenette and we were provided with everything necessary. The lagoon and lake provided a stunning surrounding... We enjoyed the location and nearby trail access to the Suncoaster Trail. We had drinks in the restaurant one evening and enjoyed the wood details and architecture, as well as the heated patio area. The only negative thing I could possibly say was that the rooms were slightly humid/musty, and so we needed to keep the heat on most of the day. However, I am sure this wouldn't be an issue in the summertime, as we visited in October and the weather was very wet/rainy! We would recommend this place and hope to visit again in the future! Thank-you, Ruby Lake Resort!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruby Lake, General Manager at Ruby Lake Resort
Responded Oct 17, 2020
Thanks for your lovely feedback; it was a pleasure hosting your family here with us! Hopefully you will have a chance to enjoy our area sometime in the warmer, dryer, summer months as well :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ani wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have been to Ruby Lake Resort a couple of times and every time we return it feels peaceful and relaxing. The Cottages are clean and rustic, close to the lake where you can go for a swim or rent a canoe and just enjoy the outdoors right at your doorstep. It's a peaceful and magical place to just be.
The restaurant that is part of the family owned resort is definitely something that should not be missed. The food is spectacular and you get to try special dishes such as Wild meats and fresh seafood combined with fresh herbs and vegetables organically grown on the resort. The biggest impression that stayed with us while being there was the amazing staff and the way we were looked after. A place to definitely visit again soon :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruby Lake, General Manager at Ruby Lake Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Thank you so much for your amazing review :) A shout out to our staff goes a long way, and we are so very happy to read this feedback and be able to share it with our team. And of course, we are so happy that you enjoyed and embraced this little paradise that we are situated in, the food in our restaurant, and the fact that much of it is grown here on site. We look forward to having you back!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cookiemonst3r wrote a review Aug 2022
Vancouver, Canada87 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a great stay at Ruby lake in the Rainforest Tent.

I loved how there wasn't any other tents and cabins beside it and had it's own little area, fenced off and a private "portaloo" which was enclosed and clean.

Tips I learned:

For check-ins, the registration hut is right beside the La Trattoria Italiana Restaurant. Our GPS brought us to the first entrance of Ruby lake resort where most of the other accommodations are but not the registration area.

Bring a large water jug as it is not recommended to drink water from the sink or the shower at the Rainforest tent. You can fill up at the community hut.

The fireplace in the tent kept the it nice and warm at night, as I get cold easily i was very toasty and didn't have to use the extra blanket they supplied.

The Shower water is no longer just cold but hot water running approx 10 min or so. (longer hot showers can be done at the communal washroom)

It didn't have a coffee maker during my stay but had coffee and an electric water kettle which worked out way better for us as i brought my own tea.

There is electricity in the tent and next to the sink in the gazebo area. I loved how they had a light there brighter than our flashlights while we brushed our teeth.

When we arrived the tent was tidy and the grounds were clean around the seating area and around the tent. It did rain hard one of the nights, we rolled down the outside covers for the windows and everything stayed dry inside including the floors.

Parking is fairly close by on a long grass area. Slight incline when walking to the tent but not too bad.

Staff was nice and informative when we arrived and throughout our stay.

La Trattoria Italiana Restaurant at Ruby Lake was amazing. The location of the tent was just a short walk over the lagoon. Only downfall was it's not open on Wednesdays or we would have eaten there every night of our stay, the food was fantastic.

We rented a SUP and a kayak for an afternoon on Ruby lake which is one of the warmest lakes in Canada. You just rent at the registration hut and then head across the street and to grab your boards to head out.

We had great time at Ruby Lake Resort and it will most likely be an annual go-to with the hubs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Rainforest Tent is short walk to the restaurant, and its private
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SBG wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Ruby Lake is lovely for a paddle or swim but skip the resort. It is a very rustic place charging resort-like prices. We rented a cabin for $150 a night- it was very small with a double bed, small table and bench. Hot and stuffy with one lamp plugged into an extension cord, no fan. We didn't get much sleep because the cabin was so stuffy and the roosters woke us up at about 3 am. We love camping and are used to tenting in remote places with limited facilities, so we were so disappointed when we splurged on a "resort." We would have had a better sleep in a tent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruby Lake, General Manager at Ruby Lake Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Glad that you enjoyed the gorgeous lake, and sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in the rustic wood cabin. We do try to be very transparent about all of our different accommodation types, and it sounds like you would have been better suited to one of our safari tents or cottages.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy C wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We rented the best cabin on site for 5 nights. Good thing I guessed what to bring regarding meal preparation as there was very few utensils. Barbecues were not available due to Covid but the website did not specify that - the frying pan provided would not have done the trick…fortunately I brought my own electric pan. Although there is an expensive Italian restaurant on site, who would want to eat Italian every night? Staff were mildly pleasant and did not go out of their way to provide service. Boat rental was pricey given row boats were in disrepair (couldn’t use oars as oar locks were broken so were given paddles), one of the canoes was leaking and another guest had to quickly return to shore. Guests were not given any preferential treatment for boat, canoe or board rentals. We came here hoping to find a resort that we could return to every year but it won’t be this one!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruby Lake, General Manager at Ruby Lake Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2021
Hi Judy, We appreciate your honest feedback and we are very sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. However, there are a couple of things that we would like to correct from your review : 1. You did not rent our "best" accommodation - you stayed in one of our "double cottage with kitchen". Based on your review, our best accommodation (the Upper Suite) probably would have suited your needs much better. 2. No where on our website does it say that we provide BBQs. 3. We have both traditional row boats with oars as well as others which we rent with paddles because that is what most people who rent the row boats have requested. 4. Our staff is absolutely amazing and they do go well out of their way to accommodate guests. We are truly sorry that you did not feel this way, but we love & respect our team and know that they are much more than "mildly pleasant".
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil N wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for peace & quiet you will find it here, There is no wifi in the cottages, and cell service is minimal. they do not provide a microwave or hot plate to make meals, only provide a two cup coffee machine and a mini and I mean mini-fridge. the restaurant boasts Italian. however, the decor is a hodgepodge of different themes and more of a pub feel, with no Italian theme at all. when it came to the food both my wife and I had bruschetta appetizer, bread was cut so thin I thought it was paper. Our main dish was pasta, my wife and I found the food very bland. nothing screamed Italian. The meal definitely not worth the expense. Overall experience for this location I was not impressed for the price, I could have gone to a 5-star hotel in Vancouver or VIctoria for the same money and have a better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aldo Cogrossi, General Manager at Ruby Lake Resort
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Hi Phil, It sounds like you managed to enjoy the natural surroundings and a peaceful break from the hustle bustle of a city, such as Vancouver or Victoria. This is a big part of what you and other guests pay for here on the Sunshine Coast. The rooms have no wifi which is what many of our guests value, a nice break from the screens. Cell service totally depends on your provider, some work better than others. Some of our rooms have kitchenettes, some have full kitchens others have only a mini fridge and coffee maker. Should you have expressed that you wanted cooking facilities we would of tried to change you into a room that had. As for the restaurant, our head chef/owner was born and raised in Northern Italy, as is our sous chef and baker. Perhaps the italian cuisine you are used to is different from the Northern Italian cuisine served here at La Trattoria Italiana. The Italian family that own the resort & restaurant immigrated to the Sunshine coast 29 years ago, they brought a lot of the art and decorations found in the restaurant over from Italy, but of course how would you know that. As for all the wooden structures and native art & sculptures, this was purchased in Canada. Its important for the family to incorporate both their culture and Native/Canadian culture which is what leads you to be confused of the restaurants "theme". Irregardless, thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lauren m wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I will preface this review by saying our families had a wonderful time at Ruby Lake Resort; kids were begging to stay after three nights. The lake is beautiful, warm, and clear to the bottom. It's also quite large, with many fun places to explore – tiny islands, rope swings, and a dock. We luckily have our own paddle boards and spent the better part of 3 days out on the lake. There are kayaks and paddle boards available to rent (at $25/hr) if you need them.

It's hard to describe the resort itself; it's undoubtedly eclectic, and there is a lot to love. The tiny cottages and most safari tents are well situated to take advantage of the beautiful grounds and offer a little privacy. Each had its own unique vibe, and I imagine they were lovely to stay in. However, we booked the family safari tents, and I had severe buyer's remorse.

The family tents, as described on the website, are situated smack in the middle of the resort. They are perched on a hill, with very no privacy or shade, and get full sun about 10 hours per day. There were also no fans, so the tents were uninhabitable between late morning and dinner time. But again, with so much to do on the lake, we weren't too put off by that. What did bother me was that my husband had to spend a good 10 minutes picking up scraps of garbage – napkins, food wrappers, bits of cardboard – from around the site and the giant white wedding tents set up about an arm's reach from the family tents. I understand it's probably difficult and expensive to remove those structures between events, but they were really off-putting and took away from the quirky charm of the place.

Other than that, the kids loved the aviary. We found an old bike pump track that the dads tried (and failed) to clean up, which could be cool if someone decides to fix it up, and the restaurant was good. We will unquestionably be back to visit Ruby Lake again and maybe even Ruby Lake Resort, but I would definitely choose other accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emilia W wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at Ruby Lake Resort with our kids (age 5 and 7) and another family. We stayed in the Family Tents, which was perfect, gave the kids lots of space to play and explore. The resort felt quiet and that we had enough privacy, despite being close to the washrooms and cooking area.

The best part about it, for the kids, was the aviary, where they have chickens, geese, pigeons and a peacock, and baby ducklings. The fellow who works there, Koca, was so gracious with the kids - inviting them to feed the birds every morning, and even asking for their help to corral the peacock when he escaped one night. I was worried the kids were pestering him, but he went so far as to thank them for all their help. It really felt like a welcoming place for families.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruby Lake, General Manager at Ruby Lake Resort
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Thank you so much for sharing this nice feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and it especially warms our hearts to hear that your kids had such a great time with the birds. Thanks for the shout out to Koca - we will pass on this feedback to him :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
canneharrison wrote a review Nov 2020
Powell River, Canada2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Was not a good experience.Cabin geared for warmer weather.No heat and it froze that night.
Dogs were charged and they was nothing to hurt this bear bones room?
Restaurant..740pm reservation and we did not leave until 1030. Not able to serve the people in good time.Food was not good.
Very disappointing experience which we were looking forward to. It has the beauty around it. Could have been just off season?
Hope so..
It was far too cold to rent out the cabin without us having camping gear.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruby Lake, General Manager at Ruby Lake Resort
Responded Nov 3, 2020
Thank you for sharing this feedback, and we are so sorry that you found your cabin to be cold. In all fairness, you did book into our "rustic wood cabins" in late October, and we did try to be very clear with you that the wood cabins are not for the faint of heart at this time of year - that they are very rustic and pretty much a camping experience. Although they do have electric fireplaces, this late into the year they can definitely be cool. You would have faired much better spending an extra $20 and staying in one of our cottages, which are fully insulated, with in room heating, they are warm & cozy, private washroom, satellite TV, mini-fridge, etc etc.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keara G wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had our wedding here in August, and had the most amazing experience. Everyone who attended had a great time and loved the venue. It's such a beautiful location, and it was so great to have a range of affordable accommodation to meet everyone's needs.

Sasha was so great to communicate with. She was super helpful throughout the planning process. Planning a wedding during COVID can bring some challenges, but she made it feel very easy. Since Ruby Lakes does so much, it was such a stress free wedding process. Would really recommend hosting a wedding here.

All our family and friends commented on how great every staff member was. Everyone was so friendly, welcoming, and helpful all weekend. Such great people!

And the food! We had people say not only was it the best food they have had at a wedding - it was just some of the best food they have had ever. Aldo did a great job, and people loved the open grills. It was all delicious and there was SO much food! They also so kindly wrapped up and put away extra desert and late night snack pizza for us to have the next day.

We can't wait to come back to Ruby Lake, and so grateful for all the special memories we have here <3
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruby Lake, General Manager at Ruby Lake Resort
Responded Oct 16, 2021
Awwww, thank you SO much for your amazing feedback!! We are sooo happy that your special weekend was so smooth and full of joy, that everyone enjoyed the food & venue, the service, and the opportunity to get together and celebrate after such tumultuous times leading up to your wedding (pandemic). You and your entire group were SUCH a pleasure to host!! And you were so lovely to work & communicate with the whole year+ leading up to the weekend. Thank YOU for being amazing guests, we are so honoured to be a part of these special memories, and can't wait to have you back!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Cookiemonst3r
Vancouver, Canada87 contributions32 helpful votes
Rubylakeresort. com/accommodations I believe you have to book through their website. When you pick the type of cabin/tents and the dates , it will tell you the rate . :)
Lawrence F asked a question Sep 2020
Calgary, Canada
Is there WiFi at this resort?
RomyLow asked a question Mar 2017
Abbotsford, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
Is the one bedroom cabin three beds??
Answer from Aldo C
Sunshine Coast, Canada1 contribution
Although the one-bedroom cabins listed within the online inventory as seen on pages such as bookingcom, expedia, & trip advisor, are generally with 2 beds, we do have two one-bedroom cottages with 3 beds. If you contact us directly, or put in a special request, we would of course be happy to accommodate you in [one of] these cottages, based on availability.
Answer from MsTchr
Vancouver, Canada20 contributions8 helpful votes
If you rent a lagoon room WITH a kitchen, yes, there is a full stove/oven (and refrigerator) and all the dishes you will need. Only three of the ten rooms have the full kitchen. The others have a variety of mini-kitchens, like what you would find in a motel room, ie) half fridge, a couple of glasses, and depending on the room, a hot plate.
Carlos S wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The food is awesome, they grow all their own vegetables and its an amazing spot for weddings"
Read full review
Cookiemonst3r wrote a tip Aug 2022
Vancouver, Canada87 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Rainforest Tent is short walk to the restaurant, and its private"
Read full review
Mae wrote a tip Jul 2020
8 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Carefully check the webpage, some of the larger cabins have facilities. Tent cabins seemed better vented, airier and bigger."
Read full review
Brian L wrote a tip Sep 2019
9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no rooms with a view"
Read full review
Teresa H wrote a tip May 2019
Texada Island, Canada6,334 contributions573 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"#6 was guiet"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Madeira Park area.
PRICE RANGE
C$165 - C$267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ruby lake hotel sechelt, hotel ruby lake
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaSunshine CoastMadeira Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Ruby Lake Resort - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Ruby Lake Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ruby Lake Resort?
Nearby attractions include Skookumchuck Narrows Provincial Park (5.3 km), Egmont Heritage Centre (4.9 km), and Iris Griffith Wetlands (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ruby Lake Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Ruby Lake Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Ruby Lake Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Ruby Lake Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ruby Lake Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skookumchuck Bakery & Cafe, Backeddy Marine Pub, and La Trattoria Italiana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ruby Lake Resort?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Ruby Lake Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ruby Lake Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Does Ruby Lake Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lagoon view available here.
All Madeira Park HotelsMadeira Park Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Madeira ParkHotels near Ruby Lake Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars