We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Diani Campsite and Cottages

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Diani Campsite and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 20: English reviews
Berlin
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The cottages are a good choice to spend some relaxed days at Diani (as far as this is possible since the 'boys' are really stalking you constantly once you step out on the street). Simple but comfortable, good value for the money. The only downside is that the kitchens are not very well equipted. Real cooking is not possible, so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank msmaki
Beijing
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I called the morning before arriving in Diani and sent an e-mail asking if any rooms were available. Originally I wanted to stay at the campsite, but when I learned there was no hot water, my friend and I decided to stay in a cottage for 1,000pp. The next morning we arrived in Diani from Nairobi. Andrew had told me...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Star C
South Lake Tahoe, California
Reviewed 27 March 2013

i stayed here for a week with three friends last year. we had the two bedroom with a kitchen, and loved it! it was nice to get some groceries and cook in a few nights, rather than having to eat out all the time. there were basic amenities to cook and store food, which was great. the location was awesome-...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kayla N
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and felt at home in our en suite double with kitchen. There was a problem with the ceiling fan in living room which we reported but nothing was done before we left so it was pretty hot during the day. Also, the mosquito net in the bedroom blocked the air coming from the ceiling fan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BDeF
Nairobi
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We loved staying here, we wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in cottage number three. The rooms are just awesome -clean, airy, just really comfortable. We had a huge fridge, which really came in handy. The cottages also have a veranda for relaxing. I am very scared of bugs and crawlies and I really appreciate the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Powsily
Dallas
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here with a large group. Plumbing doesn't work and toilets don't flush. No hot water and the water trickles out of the shower at best. The Management would say they fixed the issues when you reported them but they never did. Towels and sheets are filthy. They overbooked and kicked us out of our room the last day. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MK4601
Andrew B, Guest Relations Manager at Diani Campsite and Cottages, responded to this review

We would like to first clarify some matters as depicted here,we do understand the plight of hot water was there at the time but that was in relation to a specific cottage and furthermore was due to a technical fault and given that equipment such as heaters are sourced from Nairobi it may have taken a day or two to...

London
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Shocked to read other peoples reviews about this campsite as we had a great time! It was very quiet when we were there only us and one other tent, we stayed 4 nights and had no problems. Good location 2 minutes from the beach, the campsite has fridges to use which is always a bonus, and seating areas which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethan J
Fort Portal, Uganda
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had to stay here for ten days. Due to a severe skin-burn I couldn't drive to another place for more than a week. On arrival the place seemed nice. It looked safe, showers (cold water only) and toilets were simple but ok, there was a cooking area with power and a fridge (!). Campsite is 5 minutes walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank primatetoursuganda
Andrew B, Guest Relations Manager at Diani Campsite and Cottages, responded to this review

It is truely unfortunate that you chose to put up this review but all the same,your case i remember vividly.First off about the price,charges have always been 400 per person and half price for children and if i am not wrong there was two adult and a child.some complaints here even make no sense at all such as the monkey...

Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We came here by chance - called the Stilts, they were full and gave us the details for Diani Campsite. And we really thank them for that! We were welcomed by Andrew, the manager's son, and our cottage was perfect: nice bed, big room, good shower and an amazing terrace with a sofa and couches. And tonnes of sweet cats,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SONJA D
Kenya
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Great place for a beach holiday with children, or just for two. No seaview, but the beach just steps away. Twelve simple cottages, and space for a few tents. The place is clean, the beds good with mosquito nets and fans (no AC). Cold showers only, but who needs a hot shower on a tropical beach. Most cottage have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaktariMzungu

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
1.3 km away
Kaskazi Beach Hotel
Kaskazi Beach Hotel
#31 of 32 in Ukunda
150 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Diani House
Hotel Diani House
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
44 reviews
0.1 km away
Wayside Beach Apartment Hotel
Wayside Beach Apartment Hotel
#33 of 63 in Diani Beach
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
#14 of 63 in Diani Beach
47 reviews
0.5 km away
Galawa Beach Apartments
Galawa Beach Apartments
#40 of 63 in Diani Beach
2 reviews
5.0 km away
Shambani Cottages
Shambani Cottages
#5 of 20 in Diani Beach
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Diani’s Best Kept secret and beauty," a quote we cherish here at Diani Campsite, Winds Bar & Restaurant. Located in Diani Beach. Near The Post office, On your way to the Beach, Diani campsite Winds Bar & restaurant has its kept secret of beach location with ease in accessibility and nearness to the main Shopping Centres in Diani. The Campsite has both Three Bedroom Cottages, Two bedroom cottages, One room Suites and tents for Camping. There is an active bar and restaurant that will offer the extra entertainment communication and Relaxation. Availability of a Broadband wireless internet connection at a fee of kshs 5 per our Clients The very best connectivity for work and home communication. The New Campsite with great capacity and modern camping equipment. Bahari Conference : Good for Meetings and hosting of functions, Kaya Beauty Parlour & Massage, Winds Bar & Restaurant – and The Health Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Diani Campsite and Cottages

Address: Opposite Diani Beach Post Office | Kenya, Coast, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: $27 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Diani Campsite and Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi only available in the restaurant area.”
evcia999, 27 Nov 2015 | Read review
“get a room with the kitchen if you're staying for longer than just a day or two! it definitely opens up the place, and gives the room a more homey and open feel”
KaylaN302, 27 Mar 2013 | Read review
“Ask for the room next to the reception for more privacy and internet access from veranda.”
BDeF, 24 Jan 2013 | Read review
3 of 3