We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2014

The hotel is very clean, the staff extremely friendly. Great location in the hills, car is necessary. Best price value! Very peaceful and quiet. Has a nice garden with outdoor pool as well as an indoor pool which are very clean. Guests are very nice. I can highly recommend staying in Vila Valverde!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathrin B
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Everything would be fine with this hotel if the rates were a half - even less - than charged. On arrival one must climb a steep slope carrying the baggage (there's a golf cart, but it was unavailable). Once settled, there's no room service nor a restaurant or a bar. The breakfast is poor (Nescafe coffee!), and one cannot order...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marmontel
Luis Tavares V, Inhaber at Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr(s). Marmontel. Thank you for your feedback. However, we would like to make some corrections to your observations, as we find them at the least very odd. Vila Valverde offer its guests room service from 07:00 to 22:30. The hotel during the day offers a light meals menu and for the dinner offers its guests a full-course dinner consisting...

Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a very bad experience with this hotel. Our reservation was confirmed, by arrival there was no room available. We did't get a choice, the only option was to stay at an other hotel. We booked this hotel specificly, for a travel - business purpusise. Our money back was not an option! Terrible service, with an Owner who did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Annetvanlimburg
PortugalTraveler31, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Limburg. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry but there was an error from our side that made our property come to an overbooking situation and unfortunately it was not possible for us to to have you a Guest. To minimize the situation we offered you an alternative for your stay, with no extra-costs in a superior hotel...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After having staid in Vila Valverde three years ago, we returned in August and found back the same relaxing nice place as it was before…The former country house has been refurbished into a fancy cosy design residence were every detail counts. Luxury rooms, spacious public areas with appropriate soft music, an immense garden and an outdoor swimming pool we often...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank LucDBrussels_Belgium
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely breathtaking and by far the most spectacular place I've ever stayed. For my wedding day I wanted to get ready (and to come back to!) somewhere special, and Vila valverde did not disappoint. The pictures in the hotel and grounds were beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gemab20
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were looking for a boutique hotel away from the crowds and Vila Valverde certainly fitted the bill. Our room was very spacious, with great facilities, including a large balcony. Dinner is available, upon request, though with so many good restaurants in Lagos and Praia Da Luz, I would recommend dining out. The service was very friendly, but don't expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fireflybeijing
Madrid
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Vila Valverde, There is an ambiance of relaxation, comfort and quiet efficiency in beautiful surroundings. Luis and Margit are very welcoming and friendly and will do anything to help you make the most of your stay. My room was luxurious with all the amenities one could wish for and with amazing views. Frankly I would have been happy to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank caroline t
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in dreamlike and peaceful location Very friendly staff Something off the beaten track ( direction Sagres)and yet nearby to Lagos (aprox 2 kilometer ) Car recommendable For relax - vacation very recommendable Due to the hillside location some nice views of the sea in front of Praia da Luz. Lovely inside and outside pools!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MFrampton
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel really did live up to the expectations we had having read the other reviews on here. It was a fantastic boutique hotel just outside of Lagos and Luz. Margit and Luis go the extra mile to make sure you have a great stay by offering personal recommendations for places to eat and beaches to go to. This knowledge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carol k
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I have always used trip advisor to check in advance the places I visit but never got motivated to make any review until my last vacation in Algarve. I stayed in Praia da Luz in the end of september, the weather was magnificent and part of the summer crowd was already gone. At the vila valverde hotel we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John E

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
4.1 km away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
1.2 km away
Hotel Baia da Luz
30.4 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
340 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
261 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very nice design, with special emphasis on aesthetics, functionality and comfort turn Vila Valverde in an exclusive place for individualists. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel

Address: Estrada da Praia da Luz | Valverde, Luz 8600-209, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Price Range: $160 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Valverde - Design And Country
Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel Valverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Vila Valverde - Design & Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor with access to gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Anthony4646, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“go for the superior if you want your own balcony”
 of 5 bubbles smosar, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for luxury room 13 with a big terrace and sea view even from under the shower !”
 of 5 bubbles LucDBrussels_Belgium, 20 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Be careful because my key worked for other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Thebunnychick, 24 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Some rooms have little privacy since they share the same terrace. Room 14 has its own very secluded terrace”
  • Room 14
 of 5 bubbles Maximu5, 3 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5