We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

UY Proa Sur Hotel

Save
Share
Avda. Nicolas Solari esq. Del Faro, La Paloma 27001 Uruguay
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (13)

About

#2 of 10 hotels in La Paloma
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

See why so many travellers make UY Proa Sur Hotel their small hotel of choice when visiting La Paloma. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a trendy setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

UY Proa Sur Hotel is a trendy small hotel offering air conditioning, a minibar, and a refrigerator in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The small hotel features 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and beach chairs. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting La Paloma. For guests with a vehicle, street parking is available.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out La Esquinita and Fulana Cafe & Resto, which are some Italian restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Museo De La Paloma.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at UY Proa Sur Hotel as you experience all of the things La Paloma has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
29Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
278Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 134
  • 65
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Lesecrins wrote a review Aug. 2018
Brazil35 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel for two nights. We had been a year and a half ago before. The accommodations are good, clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly. And it has an excellent location, near the beach and restaurants. It is a good option when staying in La Paloma.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Fernando T, Gerente at UY Proa Sur Hotel
Responded Aug. 13, 2018
Thank you very much for your comments, for us it is extremely important to offer a service according to what each guest looks for and it is extremely rewarding when we achieve it. We appreciate your return, we will continue working to achieve it. We wait for you again. Best regards from UY Proa Sur Hotel
Read more
Steve Y wrote a review Jun. 2018
Silver Spring, Maryland4,125 contributions464 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights and was really disappointed, everything that was advertised and looked good on the website was inferior in reality. Firstly there was the issue of a storm on the first night that I stayed. There was a power loss and though the hotel had a generator, it wasn't turned on at all. During the power outage, no one checked on any of the guests to see if they were ok. Now it was a storm, not a life threatening situation, but still at least for courtesy, a member of staff from the hotel could have checked. What I thought was a disgrace was the pool (which was really small and of poor sanitation) and the sauna. This was the worst sauna in the entire world that I have ever experienced. It was like a closet and couldn't warm up. I even asked the hotel maintenance staff and they couldn't do anything. The only reasonably good thing was breakfast. I was utmost disappointed with the price I paid... Apparently, as part of my tour I should have stayed at a Glamping in La Perdera. However after paying for the entire tour, Lares Tours told me in a sneaky way that there was no room and that the option was to put me up in Hotel Proa Sur. Hence I was put up in a hole and they refused to provide me with a refund... I highly DO NOT recommend using Lares Tours or dealing with the hotel UY Proa Sur. Both parties displayed skulduggery.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Stay someplace else and don't use Lares Tours to book
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Fernando T, Gerente at UY Proa Sur Hotel
Responded Jun. 18, 2018
Dear Mr. Steve; First of all we want to thank you for sending us your comment. For us the experiences of our guests are the main tool we have to work on the quality of the service. We are really very sorry for your comments and we would like to know more about what happened. Faced with this, we look for it in the register of our guests and also of Lares and we can not find it with the name that appears in this channel. If you were so kind, it would be very helpful to get in touch with us to be able to work in each of the areas you mentioned and improve, as well as knowing the date of accommodation. We are at your service for what you need and we hope you can give us a vote of your confidence, to receive it again in our hotel. Contact: ftoranza@proasurhotel.com Best regards,
Read more
Andymaria2016 wrote a review Dec. 2017
Rio de Janeiro, RJ22 contributions3 helpful votes
The good - the staff, the breakfast and the bed The bad - the room had a hole on the floor, paint coming of walls, rust on a lamp base, rotten floor wood and the bathroom leaked water when taking a shower, ended up with the corridor of the room all wet
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay away from room 211
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Getaway wrote a review Nov. 2017
9 contributions
We stayed 26th November 2017 and were very pleased with the standards of this hotel. Critical reviews are outdated and some perhaps have a hidden agenda. We found the hotel clean, modern and well-appointed. The staff were young and very keen to serve our needs in the best way they could. If you like a location convenient to good restaurants and the beach this hotel will suit you. It can be recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Michel W wrote a review May 2016
Brussels, Belgium417 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
We were very pleased. very close to te beach, very comfortable, modern and clean rooms. Very happy on this hotel. A major difference compared to most of the hotels we stayed in Uruguay. Staff was also very helpful and gentle.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
UruguayRocha DepartmentLa Paloma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about UY Proa Sur Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to UY Proa Sur Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Faro Cabo Santa Maria (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at UY Proa Sur Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at UY Proa Sur Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at UY Proa Sur Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at UY Proa Sur Hotel?
Yes, secured parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to UY Proa Sur Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Upalala, Las Rocas Restó, and Lo de Edinson.
Are there opportunities to exercise at UY Proa Sur Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is UY Proa Sur Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of La Paloma.
Are any cleaning services offered at UY Proa Sur Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at UY Proa Sur Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does UY Proa Sur Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.