We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lion & Swan Hotel

09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Lion & Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
Start your review of The Lion & Swan Hotel
 Click to rate
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This evening my extended family of 22 people met to celebrate a Golden Wedding. Having sent a pre-order list to the hotel about two weeks before, I was hoping for smooth service, great food and a happy evening. This was exactly what we got! Although a couple of meals were a little later than the others, the staff soon sorted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would just like to say after I had a bad experience here a few years back I was reluctant to book here for food. Well I was pleasantly suprised I'm now glad I did choose here, there was 9 of us and we all ordered steaks they all came out at the same time and they were delicious. Cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wattywatso
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although this is an old coaching inn, just be aware that many rooms have water beds, which are not ideal for elderly. We were there last sat for a 60th golden wedding anniversary which was booked before Christmas and there was no mention of water beds . My husband and I found this most uncomfortable as did other guests who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Littlehedgehog6
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we booked an overnight stay hoping to see a little of the area, unfortunately Storm Doris arrived at the same time! The inn has a traditional black and white exterior but the inside has been updated,with a pleasant dining area. We were able to park in a secure car park situated at the back of the hotel. We booked in,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caron L
Clarkston
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 4th of March. It is run down, dirty and poorly managed. Staff wear hiodies and their normal clothes rather than uniform. Went to check out and staff member was eating breakfast at reception desk!! Room was OK cleanliness wise but public areas lead a lot to be desired. I would not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
STAFFORDSHIIRE
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The 2nd time we have visited this hotel, prime location ideally situated for the town centre. Ample free parking behind the hotel. Nice clean room wifi available. At check out Emily refunded us breakfast price as at the time of our booking we had not realized breakfast was included. Enjoyed our stay will deffo return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ELAINE T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

I arrived and was "pointed" in the direction of my room. Sometimes similar priced hotels escort me to my room with biscuits .... not here. The room was good, no problems. Back down for dinner and the same "helpful staff" (the girl was good) Food was ok, dry pub food. It had gravy with the pie that helped it down....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seanmckerrell
PeterJepson123, Front Of House at The Lion & Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Seanmckerrell Unfortunately we do not escort people to there rooms with biscuits as we find this rather condescending, I would also like to point out that all of our food is made fresh on the premises, And we use local produce. I am sorry that the red wine was late but we were pretty full in the hotel. I...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I booked this hotel on the basis of excellent reviews and in addition because of its central location. Indeed the hotel is well located in Congleton centre and within easy walking distance of bars, restaurants and shops and has the advantage of a good size car park. In my view the hotel is not as good as the majority of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janet t
PeterJepson123, Front Of House at The Lion & Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Janet T I'm sorry that you have only given us 3 of 5. If you had called down to reception and told us about the light we would have moved you to another room, Unfortunately we do not find out about lights not working unless people tell us, As for you room being at the back of the hotel,...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Fab stay great staff and excellent food especially the breakfast good service at evening meal couldn't ask for more. Room was large and clean. Stayed for one night but felt very comfortable. Great location and can't wait go back. This was our third stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracy485
PeterJepson123, Front of House at The Lion & Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tracy485 Thank you very much for your wonderful review, I enjoyed chatting to you and your husband, And i am glad your stay was enjoyable. We hope that you choose us next year for your birthday. Regards Emily

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

3 Issues - Firstly upon arrival, the member of staff was sat at a table with friends, we had to ask to be booked in. The Suite was satisfactory, a big space, spa bath, relatively clean. Secondly, I visited the bar an hour later, the same member of staff was still sat at a table with friends, I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank A TripAdvisor Member

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Other (1)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congleton
1.1 km away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
286 reviews
8.2 km away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
628 reviews
10.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
2.6 km away
Whitethorn Farm Bed & Breakfast
2.9 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 12 in Congleton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Lion and Swan Congleton. Visitors to The Lion and Swan Hotel Congleton frequently say that of all the hotels in Congleton it provides possibly the most welcoming service, stylish yet comfortable rooms and high quality regional food dishes of all the hotel accommodation Cheshire has to offer. A traditional coaching Inn. This family owned and operated Tudor tavern assures you of a warm welcome and invites you to experience a delightful 16th Century ambience with 21st Century style, comfort and convenience.Quality food, local ingredients. Specialising in prime beef steaks and traditional fare, we offer only high quality food made from the finest local ingredients, with a discerning wine list and good cask ales.Relax in elegance and comfort. Totally refurbished in a contemporary yet sympathetic style, every room exudes historic charm whilst enabling you to luxuriate in up-to-the-minute comforts and modern conveniences.Business and social events. With our spacious function rooms and on-site parking, we offer the ideal venue for all kinds of business meetings and conferences, and a special focus on weddings, social gatherings and local societies. Why not explore beautiful and historic Cheshire with our weekend leisure breaks? ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lion & Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Bank, Congleton CW12 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Price Range: $100 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion & Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Lion & Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lion & Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Lion & Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay the little extra for a suit which was a big space”
 of 5 bubbles DB1MUSTANG, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check where wifi works.”
 of 5 bubbles martinwM8032JW, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good value”
 of 5 bubbles publinko, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared for a bit of a route march. Some rooms are deep in the sprawling building but this adds to its charm.”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethG467, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel room.... somewhere else”
  • Advertising card encrusted with food and stains
  • Bathroom window blind covered in dirt and dust
  • Bedroom windowsill, thick with dust
  • Back of toilet with urine and dirt stains
  • Glass shower partition covered in dirty water marks
  • Inside of bathroom door covered in dirt and stains.
  • Tea and Coffee tray covered in dust
  • Dirt and hair on bathroom glass shelf
 of 5 bubbles 808patj, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
LateRooms.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates