We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glenribbeen Eco Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lismore
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glenribbeen Eco Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Eco-friendly lodge, owned by 2 very interesting people. In the middle of the nature surrounded by trees and colourful flowers. As my wife got a special request for breakfast (she's vegan), they prepare for her an amazing breakfast. The room is essential but quite and comfortable, everything is designed to reduce the impact on nature. Once again we'd like to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Stefano B
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found Glenribbeen over the internet when I was looking for a place to stay in or around Lismore, the "Eco-Lodge" aspect made me curious. It's a lovely place, nicely hidden away from but very close to the main road between Lismore and Cappoquin. My room was very nice, well decorated and spotless, I like the carafe of fresh water....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank katjaphoto
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived to two dogs barking but they turned out to be absolute softies! Peter and Els greeted us and, as it was a beautiful day, took us to the colourful front garden where Peter sat with us discussing everything under the sun whilst Els presented us with a tray with coffee/tea and biscuits. Peter is incredibly interesting and has...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Caravellejet
London
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My lovely email exchanges with Peter before arriving at Glenribbeen had my travel companions and I very excited for our fun evening away at this quirky eco-lodge. We envisioned bbq-ing outdoors, a bat walk, perhaps even archery lessons. So it came as a huge shock when we arrived and were so rudely greeted by the hostess, Els. First, she was...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank suzrose1
pfiddle56, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello - firstly my sincere apologies for the awful "welcome" you received. It was really unfair of Els and I can't say sorry enough. We had indeed agreed that you could have one family room, use the (gas) BBQ etc when first you booked for 2 nights. Later as you explained, you could only stay one and I didn't want...

New York
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have never been to a more charming Bed & Breakfast, than Glenribbeen Eco Lodge in Cappoquin. Nor have I met better hosts than Els & Peter O’Connor. Their hospitality is spelled with Capital Letters. Each day’s breakfast would have won awards anywhere. Els cooked varied mouthwatering dishes that were presented like a work of art. The accommodations were very...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Dylan G
pfiddle56, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review - and indeed your company that week - really enjoyed getting to know you. I wonder how Els' recipes turned out when you tried them - especially the Glenribbeen baked egg :-)

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2012

overall fab but a bit like fawlty towers. some really good bits - food and bedrooms and location for example, but some a bit more quirky - the lady of the house has clearly been educated at the british rail school of charm. no problem with the latter really and won't give any examples - added to the quirkiness. couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thisbe
pfiddle56, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi - thanks for the review - Hmmmm I wonder just what was so quirky? Most people use that term about us - yet i feel this time it was a wee bit negative. I'd love to hear more. Please feel free to write to me directly. I'm genuinely interested. Happy though that overall you seemed to enjoy your stay...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a lovely little B&B its exactly what you think they should be like. The most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The breakfast is enough to keep you going for most of the day.. fresh fruit eggs from hens that are in the yard outside and local jams and honeys. When you book you can also have...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank seany76
pfiddle56, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for a great review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay here. And glad that my lack of (best-half) partner didn't seem to hinder your enjoyment. Hope you come again - soon.

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We were greeted with a toasty warm wood stove going, and Els right away brought out some tea and cookies, which we enjoyed by the fire while reading their many books about Ireland and the local area. The lodge is very tastefully decorated, without all of that stuffy Victorian pink lace and doily decoration you can typically find in a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Graceann D
pfiddle56, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi _ my sincere thanks for such a great review. Oops the creaky bed again. I'll try get that sorted on the morrow. You'll definitely will have to come back and check out the archery - I a set of medieval arrows and an English war(long) bow - since you were so interested in history it was remiss of me...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I booked here for our family of five following the good reviews on tripadvisor in two rooms at the end of August beginning of September for three nights. Good Points Peter the guest house owner was very friendly, informative and helpful ie: spending time with our son showing him how to improve his guitar playing. The rooms and communal areas...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank madowninguk
pfiddle56, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write the review. I'm truly sorry that Els wasn't in good form when you arrived. We had had an incredibly busy couple of months and as Els need a new hip and has other problems - well she can sometimes get a bit down. Judging by the other reviews she does manage...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed at the Lodge as we were attending a wedding locally, our room was lovely clean and bright there was everything you need hairdryer, kettle, books, local guides etc right down to a chocolate snack biscuit on a tray and a carafe of water, we were asked what we would like for breakfast and as a I don't eat...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank YorkshireGal354
pfiddle56, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time and effort to write a review. I find it especially heartening that you work in tourism and remain so positive about Glenribbeen - That's really great to be judged by a peer - and brill that we 'scored well'. As for the breakfast - that really is where we believe we can shine. I'm always...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lismore
4.7 km away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
102 reviews
3.4 km away
Lismore House Hotel
Lismore House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lismore
186 reviews
2.4 km away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#1 of 3 in Cappoquin
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award-winning B&B and self-catering apartment in our own home.Set in beautiful gardens and 10mins walk from Blackwater River. 20 mins drive from harbor with boats and beaches. We offer great beds and best breakfasts as well as garden-games, canoe, bikes, kites, hill and river-walks and much more.Experience a holiday without the footprint. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenribbeen Eco Lodge

Address: Glenribbeen, Lismore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Lismore
Price Range: $17 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenribbeen Eco Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Glenribbeen Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I loved my cheery downstairs double room with bathroom and shower. Large and Sunny!”
 of 5 bubbles dylang991, 27 Jun 2013 | Read review
“There is wheelchair accesss in this property”
 of 5 bubbles seany76, 29 Jul 2012 | Read review
2 of 2