We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wessex Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wessex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wessex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

just got back from a 5 day break here and it was one of the best breaks my husband and I have been on, everyone was so friendly , room ,great , food amazing and entertainment every evening. cant praise it enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunnyboy492
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, I'm really happy to read that you had an enjoyable holiday with us, We appreciate you taking the time to write this for us, We look forward to welcoming you again Kind regards Jamie Duty Manager

South Brent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We have just returned from a Majestic 3 night weekend self drive holiday, this hotel is beautifully located for exploring Somerset and Wiltshire. The hotel doesn't look much from outside but quite pleasant reception, bar and restaurant, our room 212 was lovely, spacious, modern lovely bathroom with bath and shower and separate toilet, all mod cons you would expect. One...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey S
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I would like to apologize that you felt your room was to hot. Our heating system has been recently updated. You radiator could have been turned off if you wished for this, but i hope a fan was able to provide some comfort. I am sorry to read you...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The hotel was comfortable and in reasonable condition, however, the outside appearance needs some attention. The food was well presented and served. A vaired menu each day, breakfast was the usual full english, cereals,fruit and toast. The rooms were a good size and clean, heating was a bit hit and miss bathroom towel rail never worked, the main radiator came...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eugene L
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I'm glad to read you found some aspects of the hotel good and enjoyed parts. I can only offer my apologies regarding the heating issues you may have found. But if it isn't reported to us we cant rectify this issues for you. Our towel rails in...

Clacton-on-Sea
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We were with two coach loads enjoying a festive break. We were very well. looked after, enjoying a full English breakfast and three course dinner each day. Tuesday was our Christmas day, complete with Santa and a present and Thurs was our New Year's Eve! Very enjoyable. It was a shame that the hotel is very, 'tired' needing a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnD64
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your Christmas break you had with us, I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, We really appreciated your positive feedback if reported to us we always endeavor to make sure a comfortable room temperature is achieved. Our maintenance team would have looked at this for you or a heater could...

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I stayed here last week on a Voel trip. The previous reviews are just about right. Excellent value but somewhat dated. The rooms were clean and warm with complimentary hot drinks. Meals were very good with excellent choice of menus and the service was excellent. I'm not commenting on the entertainment which did leave something to be desired but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Motait
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We really appreciate your positive feedback. We are currently going through some refurbishment at the hotel. We hope you come to see the changes that are being made. We look forward to welcoming you to the Wessex hotel again in the near future Kind regards Jamie Duty Manager

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Stayed at the Wessex Hotel at the end of November for a Line Dance Weekend. What a fabulous ballroom, never expected one that size in a small town like Street. A very wecoming hotel,lovely staff, good food. A very enjoyable weekend. The Wessex is right in the heart of Street, idealy for Clark's Village, about 3 miles from Glastonbury and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivienjones500
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback and great comments! It's great to read you had an enjoyable stay with us for your line dancing weekend. I'm glad you find our ballroom to be fabulous. It really is a lovely dance floor. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Wessex Hotel on another dancing holiday! Kind Regards Jamie Duty...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

After reading the tripadvisor reviews we were apprehensive about our visit to the Wessex for a line dance weekend but we were very pleased with the hotel, the amenities and the staff. Our room was spacious and clean and pleasantly warm. The staff were friendly, entered into the spirit of the weekend and efficient. The food was good with breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We really appreciate your positive feedback. I'm glad to read you have re booked for this year! Our bedrooms have just received new beds and we will be working through our rooms to give them a little TLC. We look forward to welcoming you to the Wessex hotel soon!...

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Just had an overnight stay on Sunday. A perfect choice after a good days retail therapy. Do not listen to the moaners. This hotel was excellent value for money. It was clean. It was warm. Most of the furniture, bed and tv were new. The staff were helpful, pleasant and informative. The atmosphere was very welcoming in the reception and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry G
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We really appreciate your positive feedback. Our team work hard to make our guests have a pleasant stay and i'm pleased to read you found this was the case. We look forward to welcoming you to the Wessex hotel again in the near future Kind regards Jamie Duty Manager

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Arrived at hotel, seemed calm on arrival, the apprentice on reception couldn't find the booking, tried ringing the manager-no reply- the apprentice put us in a room with jacuzzi bath and a four poster bed - which we had only paid for a double room, on arrival to the room, it was clean, with tea and coffee facilities, had evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate all feedback positive and negative to help us to improve our services. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and i will be sure to pass on your great comments to Phil our apprentice. We look forward to welcoming you back to...

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We recently visited the Wessex, but never again. Room very cold with a terrible draft through windows. No heating to bathroom or toilet, the bed had a huge ridge right down the centre.Breakfast served nearly cold with at times broken fried eggs. No wine glasses in the bar, I was once asked to go to the dining room and take...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank derekeales1
wessexgm, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your stay. I'm sorry to read you were not totally satisfied with your room or some food you had during your stay. Should any problems be reported to a member of staff we would have immediately rectified them for you. Our restaurant staff do check everyone is happy with their meals and should...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.1 km away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
85 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
11.5 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
425 reviews
5.8 km away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
122 reviews
10.9 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Price Range: $112 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wessex Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Eckington, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Wessex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“WE had a room on the side which was very quiet .. I think rooms on the front tend to have some traffic noise, being on a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles bezza919, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front are very noisy at night”
  • Missing grout
  • Unfinished tiling
 of 5 bubbles Eleanor_Sug, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor, less noise (as opposite a busy road).”
 of 5 bubbles pennymarie2016, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back don,t get any traffic noise,a lift is available to aid the elderly”
 of 5 bubbles 219clivem, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles trevor138, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5