We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Hartbeespoort

Glen Afric Country Lodge

Save
Traveller (218)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (11)
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“wild at heart”(35 reviews)
“elephant walk”(13 reviews)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (136)Write a Review
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
86
27
10
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
86
27
10
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild at heartelephant walkelephant interactiontv seriesbig catslion cubsfilm setstable blockostrich steakvolunteer projectgame reservesunday lunchcouple of nightsgreat memoryfiletgin and toniclions roaring
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful hidden gem of a place. Beaufiful setting - cabins around a small pool and the restaurant looking out over the valley. We were a mixed party of adults and small children. Three of us went on the game drive with Mel, who...More

Thank ElizabethFlan43
Response from Rowan B, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Afric Country LodgeResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, Elizabeth for your awesome 5-star review and Feedback. we are so glad you not only enjoyed our facilities and the scenery and most of the experiences with our animals. We hope to welcome you back to Glen Afric again soon. Regards Rowan Bouwer...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely family reunion here at Glen Afric! The wildlife is abundant! We saw zebras, giraffe, ostrich and elephant ! We took the “Elephant Encounter” experience it was FANTASTIC !!! What awesome animals! We had dinner st the lodge it was delicious!! This...More

Thank Tina v
Response from GlenAfricGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Afric Country LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Tina for you review and fantastic feedback. We hope you will be back soon - perhaps to experience our Sunday Lunch Buffet and Elephant feeding

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I was fortunate enough that I found this place. They offer elephant walks, in their own environment but up close and personal. This is a bucket list item not to miss if you going to SA. Staff information was excellent. Small group sizes so the...More

1  Thank G8928WMsandrah
Response from Rowan B, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Afric Country LodgeResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back to Glen Afric perhaps to spend a night or two with us Rowan Bouwer Marketing Officer

Reviewed 7 December 2017

To John, Jenny, Nikki and all staff involved at our wedding 2 December. Your beautiful venue, your hospitality, making us feel like your family, your food. it all made our wedding an exquisite day. We had the fairy tale, bush wedding we always wanted. Thank...More

Thank jinty174
Response from Rowan B, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Afric Country LodgeResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you Alex and Jinty for choosing Glen Afric for your wedding. We are so pleased that we were able to facilitate your special fairy tale bush wedding and christen our new venue. Please stay in touch and we look forward to celebrating your 1st...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017

I wish we had got the chance to stay here as it really looks beautiful. We did the magical walk with the elephants. Plenty of photo opportunities, the guides were great at taking them for us. It was an amazing experience and would recommend it....More

Thank SPP7
Response from GlenAfricGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Afric Country LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 Star review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Glen Afric and we hope to welcome you back soon

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345626
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (218)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (6)
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Bathroom (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sparkle95
7 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GlenAfricGroup | Property representative |
Glad you received our booking confirmation. Unfortunately this platform does not allow us to view your complete profile other than your account handle 'Sparkle95'. If you need further assistance please contact us through... More
0
Votes
82Poppy
10 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from GlenAfricGroup | Property representative |
Hi Samantha So sorry to hear you haven't had any reply to your emails regarding your accommodation enquiry. I will search our system this morning. In the meantime would you mind forwarding the email to me at marketing at... More
0
Votes
Saskatoonscots
10 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GlenAfricGroup | Property representative |
Hi Traveler We run a fleet of courtesy vehicles so yes we can collect and drop you off at Pretoria Station. The cost of which will be R650 per trip (ie R1300 return for 1 to 6 passengers) Please email the details via our... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Just a day trip"
Read review
"we stayed in Bushcamp Cottage"
Read review
"We had the thatched cottage by the watering hole. It is huge and fabulous."
Read review
"No AC but we were there in mid summer ad it was fine, stay in the cpttges near the animals but jnoe the lions..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite