We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 300: English reviews
Krefeld, Germany
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Nice hotel & place but to be improved. The sleeping room was small & niceley painted, but the old carpet, ants & finally a cockroach in our bed makes the stay not confortabel. The floortiles in the shower should be renewed due to get them clean. The restaurant at the hotel is perfect with the best food & quality in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you kindly for your participation in The Tripadvisor community. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your food and that I was able to make you feel comfortable. I have noted your concern with regards insect activity; I must mention that during some times of the year we do have tiresome critters which are airborne in our locale as...

Melrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We had on overnight stop here on a journey from St Francis Bay to Hermanus. Whilst some might regard the room we had as a bit old-fashioned (it had everything we needed), that was part of the charm of De Doornkraal for us. Delightful and tranquil garden to enjoy refreshments in. The highlight was the food in the restaurant which...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darnickfolk
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 12 February 2016

A lovely old building with some great rooms and excellent food. The staff were extremely good and obliging. We stopped on our journey from Cape Town to Knysna and as a stopover it was first class. However, there seems to be little to do in the area so a longer stay, while it would be very comfortable, would be about...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulbA8006WJ
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Hotel was very good to stay and decided to have dinner there which worked out great. The menu had an Asian influence, well presented and more importantly everything we had tasted great. Didn't have high expectations but very delighted with the outcome. Manager/Chef came by several times, very friendly and informative.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bent-crow
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your participation in the Tripadvisor community ! I am thrilled that you enjoyed you stay and it was an honor to cook for you. We shall continue to work hard at improving our offering and hope that one day we will have the privilege of being of service in the future.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 31 January 2016

This is a little oasis for us on our travels down the garden route. Christopher and his staff are amazing and make one feel completely at home in such a beautiful setting. The food from the restaurant is a treat - we always look forward and are never disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 770shelleys
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and participate in the Tripadvisor community! It is always a pleasure to be of service to yourselves and thank you for you constructive contribution apropos our wine list which will be receiving the owner's personal attention soonest. Kindest regards and Keep Shining !!

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We had a great one night stay at the De Doornkraal - it's a lovely hotel in a historic old building - the staff are all very friendly. The meal in the restaurant at night was fantastic - real fine dining ! Would definitely stay again if we're in the area!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your participation within the Tripadvisor community. Your kind words are much appreciated and we shall count the days until your possible return - where we will aim to improve on your first visit. I hope that your onward journey was pleasurable and that you were spoilt rotten.

Stilbaai, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We have stayed in De Doornkraal before looking after bicycle races between Houw Hoek and Knysna. It is a beautiful old building, nicely if spartanely refurbished. We have never had a chance to eat there before, and as it looks to me after this visit, we will not in future either. The rate af around R1.5K for a couple per...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cmcbm
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for you participation in The Tripadvisor community; I had a thought to instead of being defensive (thereby giving credence the aspersions above) - to respond with a review on our experience with yourselves; since your review is Spartan apropos it truthfulness so much so that I have no choice but to state that it is libellous. I...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We chose to stay at De Doornkraal because we liked the idea of the General Manager also being the Chef. Christopher's cuisine is superb. The level of service from the whole team at the hotel was excellent, nothing too much trouble. Even to the extent of sending two fans to our room on a 40° day, and keeping us supplied...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 746sheilao
London
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Great little find in a beautiful setting - Lovely accommodation and wonderful food! Staff were attentive and helpful and very polite. Perfect stop over along the garden route! We will be staying again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q7591HHjenniferh
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We decided to overnight at the hotel since it's conveniently located between Plettenberg Bay and Hermanus. The room was okay (few bugs though) and dinner at the restaurant was good (kudu steak especially delicious). Breakfast good, too, but service slow and the hours (one hour - 8 - 9 am) were puzzling. What we did not like was that although...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohannaKL
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your participation in the Tripadvisor community ! I sincerely thought that your request for a quiet room based on the fact that it was your honeymoon and birthday; was satisfied ! No other requests were made and I apologise that I was not able to make more of a fuss of yourselves (as I would normally...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (123)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riversdale
32.4 km away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
37 reviews
1.7 km away
Fynbos Guest House
Fynbos Guest House
#2 of 8 in Riversdale
49 reviews
0.1 km away
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
#3 of 8 in Riversdale
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 km away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
924 reviews
35.9 km away
Charlotte House
Charlotte House
#2 of 12 in Stilbaai
43 reviews
31.9 km away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#1 of 12 in Stilbaai
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
- Experience charming countryside hospitality in South Africa - We are committed to providing service excellence and ensuring that our guests feel that they are at home whilst away from home. Our good-natured team are proud that De Doornkraal has been recognized as the best four star Country House in South Africa, as well as the best in our province two years running at the prestigious Lilizela Tourism Awards – 2014 and 2015. In addition we also are proud recipients of The TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013, 2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Address: 8 Long Street, Riversdale 6670, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riversdale
Price Range: $117 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room fronting onto the stoop was spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Mrsfromgorton, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The garden cottage is small and not convenient with a lot of luggage, the vineyard cottage would be a better choice.”
 of 5 bubbles ettemar, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room had a silver lining, great value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles 111TWIGAMINHAAFRIKA, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The cottages in the garden and vineyard are beautiful and a bit secluded”
 of 5 bubbles rxkok1, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room no 3 and it was separated in 2 rooms (living and sleeping), very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles kurtkatharinamars, 21 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5