We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tindiga Tented Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Tindiga Tented Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
Rome
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Tindiga Tended Camp is a very nice location near Lake Eyasi and the perfect starting point for the adventurous hunt with Hadza tribe (for this experience you can ask the support of Giorgio, a great guide who will support you in a fantastic visit to Hadza and other local tribes! ) The tends are wide and nice and the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank solemareh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We only stayed there only for one day. We had some special request from the staff and the staff was happy to help us. Alcohol was a bit expensive but it's expensive most of the places in Kenya and Tanzania (where we stayed) Food was very good, breakfast was not.

Helpful?
Thank charith902
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2016

i wouldn't go all the way to lake eyasi especially to stay there, but if you're in the area it's a nice place to be. the staff are nice and reliable but a bit over friendly (not harassing or anything, just trying to be funny and flirty all the time to get tips and it's annoying). by the way if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gal V
MoivaroLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Tindiga Tented Camp, responded to this review

Dear Gal, Thank you for staying with us at Tindiga, and posting your comment. Our camp is small, tents are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms, the grounds are well-maintained and our staff is attentive and friendly. We regret that our enthusiasm was perceived as something negative. Our staff is trained to give our guests attention and good service. Asante sana. More 

Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We stayed in Tindiga Camp for 2 nights visiting the Datooga and Hadzabe. The stay was organized for us from our Tour Operators (It Started In Africa) so we do not know the exact pricing details for these nights. The tents were spacious, nice and clean. They beds were decorated with lovely flowers and leaves when we arrived. The shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lake_Eyasi
MoivaroLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Tindiga Tented Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit to Tindiga, and sharing this feedback. As you mention, the whole camp is very well-tended and details are looked after with much attention. The tents are also well-appointed, awarding privacy, and have the facilities necessary to make for a comfortable, pleasant experience. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Karibu... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We stayed for one night here too allow an early start to visit the Hadzabe and Datoga tribes. The tent we stayed in was a little basic but it did have unlimited hot water for a shower which is a treat. The food was OK and the beer was nice and cold. I really liked the sunken fire pit which... More 

Helpful?
Thank JayDee6699
MoivaroLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Tindiga Tented Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jay Dee, Thank you for your stay at Tindiga and posting this comment. Our constant goal is to offer our guests a comfortable, pleasant experience. A unique feature is the sunken fireplace, indeed! It is a lovely place to relax in the late afternoon/evening. Our location is also ideal, for anyone planning to visit the Hadzabe and Datoga tribes.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed at the camp for 1 night, booked directly through our safari operator – meaning we didn’t know the price until we checked afterward. I remember us saying how nice and low-key this place was, and how it probably cost $50 or $70 a night. Which would have been a fair price considering the location (after all, this isn’t... More 

Helpful?
Thank pawelx
MoivaroLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Tindiga Tented Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Tindiga Camp, and posting this feedback online. As you mention, we are located in a remote area, off the beaten track, where access to electricity and many basic supplies, is not possible. The logistics of running the camp and supplies, mean that we need to hire trucks to bring in many of the... More 

Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015

This was a great stepping point to visit the Hadzi bushmen and the Datoga tribe - there are few options around that area. We were welcomed warmly and briefed in the sunken pool-like fireplace area, very confortable. Our tent (number 8) had a great view of the hills and the beautiful lighting at night. It was peaceful and quiet. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler21century
moivarolodgescamps, Guest Relations Manager at Tindiga Tented Camp, responded to this review

Dear Traveler21century, We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at Tindiga. Our camp's proximity to both tribes, as well as the mesmerizing Lake Eyasi, make Tindiga a unique place to stay. Our tents are large and comfortable, and manager and staff always friendly and willing to accommodate. We hope you will visit us here at Tindiga, or our other Moivaro... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night, booked directly through website. The lodge is a typical one you see along the safari routes, the reception / restaurant is made in a Masai style building. Shower was permanent, so can be used at any time, water was hot. Food was quite average: onion soup was not bad, but the meat was so tough and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalia I
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Tindiga Tented Camp, responded to this review

Dear Natalia l, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Tindiga Camp on Trip Advisor. We are very disappointed to learn that we fell short on meeting the mark with you during your stay at the Tindiga Tented Camp. Tindiga Tented Camp is situated right next to the Qaund_ded Village in Lake Eyasi and all... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This tented camp lodged in rural Tanzania takes advantage of the fact that there are not that many other options in terms of lodging in this area where the Datoga and Hadzabe tribes reside close to Lake Eyasi. (Note that lack of lodging options is about to change, as two new places were being built when we were there). For... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HAPA100
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

During the long and extremely dusty drive in, we did not expect to find a small but rather pretty camp with the best campfire arrangement - a sunken "Fire Pool" complete with cushions and armrests for that sundowner drink! There were few guests, so the small dining room was ours as we sat longer than usual into the night with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Petra S
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Tindiga Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying in Tindiga Tented Camp and for sharing your experience. This is very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed our sunken fire pool,rooms ,small dining area and service in general. It is a pleasure to hear that the camp met all your expectations and you enjoyed the 'near camping' experience. With warm greetings from... More 

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
0.0 km away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
588 reviews
0.0 km away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#26 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#22 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Migunga Tented Camp
Migunga Tented Camp
#10 of 38 in Lake Manyara National Park
166 reviews
0.0 km away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 38 in Lake Manyara National Park
239 reviews
0.0 km away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are proud to present our Tindiga Tented Camp: a beautiful and smalltraditional camp, ideally situated only 1,5 kilometers from the stunning Lake Eyasi. This great landscape is home to the indigenous bushman, the Hadzabe, and the nomadic Datoga tribe. This is the only place in Africa where you can go hunting with the Hadzabe, the last known tribe that lives by hunting and gathering honey and fruit.Tindiga Tented Camp is situated on a hill overlooking the shrubland of the Eyasi Ecosystem, with Mount Masumbuku in the west and the hills of the Ngorongoro area in the north, offering a magnificent view. The camp has 10 spacious tents with en-suite bathroom, containing a shower and flush toilet.With only 10 tents the camp is small and offers a personalized service and quality. The camp blends in beautifully with the natural environment and is run with an eco-friendly approach; protecting and preserving the natural resources. The camps restaurant is built by Datoga women, reflecting their culture and lifestyle. Staying at Tindiga Tented Camp offers a unique and ultimate “Africa experience.” ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tindiga Tented Camp

Address: Qaund_ded Village | Lake Eyasi, Karatu, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Price Range: $411 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tindiga Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tindiga Tented Camp Tanzania/Karatu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tindiga Tented Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there is a special space whew you can light a fire outside and sit around it on cushions, very attaractive for young people”
 of 5 bubbles elhanans, 22 Oct 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay