We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amberley Castle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 712: English reviews
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel boiler failed. So we had no hot water or heating for one of our two day stay. Hotel staff were very helpful throughout however. Feel the hotel of this cost should have a back up system for the hot water / heating.

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliebW97WG
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear LesliebW97WG Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that your stay was disrupted by the boiler failure. unfortunately this was completely out of our control and we work hard to ensure that there was as little disruption as possible. The back up is the boilers, as there are 2 of then, but the system failed on both,...

Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at Amberley Castle. The weather was poor but this helped to bring more atmosphere to he beautiful location. The castle itself is stunning, quiet and set in a beautiful location. The hotel itself is not imposing but gloriously beautiful. We stayed in 'Crowhurst' room which was a large double. Very clean, lovely touches, immaculate bathroom with shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Joanna W This is a lovely review and we do hope you are able to join us again very soon. Regards Piers Vowles

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We took advantage of a special weekend deal to visit Amberley and the surrounding areas including Arundel and Chichester. It was our second visit and it did not disappoint. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The ambiance was as you would expect of a 900 year old castle...........full of character, suits of armour and open fires ! the breakfast and...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinpauldavies1
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear colinpauldavies1 Thank you for your comments, I am so pleased that you were able to join us agin at the Castle. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Piers Vowles

Bognor Regis
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The setting is amazing. So peaceful. We stayed in one of the Bishops cottages just outside the walls. Suite was very comfortable and clean. We had a 7 course taster menu for dinner. Portions were small however really tasty. Went for a stroll around the grounds and then a quick go round the putting green. They also have a croquet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Mike H Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Piers Vowles

Oxted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the first time and we were in the main part of the hotel, Chichester room. A large room with a comfortable four poster bed and spectacular views of the countryside. The room was large and full of character. The bathroom was modern with a large tub (takes a long time to fill because of low water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip2008
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed at Amberley Castle four or five times already and got married there in 2010. This return visit surpassed all expectations. Lovely refurbished bathroom in one of Manor House rooms. Beautiful bedding. Perfectly clean room and bathroom. Dinner was a work of culinary art. Attentive and friendly staff. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LEAMAL
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear LEAMAL Thank you for you wonderful feedback, I am so pleased that you are able to join us so regularly, I have passed on all your comments to the teams involved who were excited to receive them. we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Piers Vowles

LONDON
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had two deluxe suits at the cottages just out side the walled castle very nicely decorated , we also had the four poster bed, disappointed that the pillows are not feathered, which made our sleep a little uncomfortable, good sitting room next to the bedroom with a 2nd T.V, good selection of tea & coffee for an early drink, The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NAZARLondon
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear NAZARLondon Thank you for your feedback, i was saddened to read that you did not enjoy your meal experience with us. We are looking in to the way we produce our food to look at ways we can improve. I am glad to read that other parts of your stay were enjoyable and hopefully you are able to join...

Clevedon, somerst
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the Bishopric suites just outside the castle walls, which is a short walk from the main reception (we actually booked a superior room but as this appeared to be an upgrade, we didn't mention it!). There was a very warm welcome at the reception and our luggage and car were taken to our private parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glothorn
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Glothorn Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, hopefully you are able to return and join us again. Regards Piers Vowles

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a Birthday treat for my husband and it was such a special place to go- its not every day you wake up looking at a castle outside your window! As well as the gorgeous room (we had a suite overlooking the grounds), and the stunning environment inside and out, the food was lovely. What really makes this place...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 106gretaf
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear 106gretaf Thank your feedback about you experience with us, i am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully you are able to join us again very soon. Regards Piers Vowles

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A rainy overcast day was brightened by the drive to Amberley Castle approached by its own private driveway where we were met by a concierge holding an umbrella who led us to the main reception. We were then shown into a lounge and served champagne and wine and menu waiters were on hand. On being taken to the dining room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorneyman
Piers V, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Jorneyman Thank you for this feedback and i have taken the time to pass this feedback on to all the teams. Hopefully it is not to long before you are able to join us again. Regards Piers Vowles

926 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (508)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (260)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (404)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Classic Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (51)
Viewed
Junior Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Premier Deluxe Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
39.4 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
39.8 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
22.7 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
932 reviews
17.4 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
6.2 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Amberley Castle

Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Price Range: $265 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberley Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amberley Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley Castle Hotel Amberley
Castle Hotel Amberley
Amberley Arundel Castle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amberley Castle staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Amberley Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a door on the bathroom / look.”
 of 5 bubbles lesliebW97WG, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“classic room if on a budget.”
 of 5 bubbles colinpauldavies1, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“depends how much you want to pay”
 of 5 bubbles NAZARLondon, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suites are incredibly quiet being separate from the main building, but would not be ideal for anyone with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles glothorn, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you can, get one of the suites in Bishopric”
 of 5 bubbles 106gretaf, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay