We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amberley Castle

Booking.comUS$251*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

795 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amberley Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 785: English reviews
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I had a traditional afternoon tea in the charming lounge of this old castle. The gardens and castle ruins are beautiful and the renovated Elizabethan buildings that house the hotel and restaurant are charming and comfortable. Naturally, the food and tea were scrumptious with elegant service. The village of Amberley is also quite beautiful and merits a leisurely stroll before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ckgerson
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Ckgerson, Thank you for taking the time to review our afternoon tea, and I am glad that you enjoyed it. It is always nice to pass on good feedback to the team, and this is one of those moments. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, maybe for a dinner this time. Kind regards Bruce Marques Deputy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Loved the whole thing - the castle and its grounds are a delight; the food is heavenly; the wine list awesome; the breakfast worth getting hungry for; and there are lots of helpful staff always available to tender to your needs TokyoJacko

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TokyoJacko
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear TokyoJacko, Thank you for your wonderful comments about Amberley Castle, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed time with us and that you found our team helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Amberley Castle very soon. Kind Regards Bruce Marques Deputy Manager

Bordon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I'd been wanting to visit Amberley for ages but only living an hour's drive away felt that I couldn't really justify spending a night there. On the other hand it was just a little far to go for dinner. I was, therefore, delighted to receive a voucher for a 'champagne afternoon tea'. First impressions did not disappoint. The castle is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison52
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear alis0nhead, Thank you for taking the time to review Amberley Castle, I am sorry to read that you found our cakes overly sweet, I will pass your comments on to our pastry chefs. I hope to welcome you back to Amberley Castle in the near future. Kind regards Bruce Marques Deputy Manager

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This was a special 70th birthday lunch for me. We had a private room as there were 7 of us. The food was excellent, the wine menu comprehensive and the staff very attentive. Yes, it's expensive, but it is special. It's a genuine Norman castle set in superb countryside. Maybe not for your everyday lunch (unless you're very well off),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drdelboy
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Drdelboy, What a delight to read such great feedback, I am happy we were able to assist in making your 70th birthday lunch a roaring success, and that you enjoyed our teams service. Our wine list takes our sommeliers a long time to compile such a comprehensive list, and I am sure they will be glad to read that...

Radlett
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

On a beautiful summer's evening we asked the receptionist where we could have drinks outside: she didn't know! This should have alerted us to the evening ahead, Drinks were eventually orders for the four of us and took an age to come. No nibbles but were informed that there would be plenty once we were seated st the restaurant. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank floorboardfreak
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Floorboardfreak, Thank you for your review, however it is never nice to see one of our guests did not enjoy their time with us at Amberley Castle. Having read your comments, I have passed the necessary feedback to all managers involved on the evening and we will be doing training with the team members involved. As we are always...

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I had a amazing night stay at Amberley Castle in May. I do not often get the opportunity to get away with my wife, but this was just perfect. The staff, food and surroundings allowed us both to completely relax. I cannot wait to return. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveluk2016
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Traveluk2016 Thank you for your wonderful feedback, and I am glad to hear yourself and your wife enjoyed getting away for an evening and that you chose Amberley Castle for this. I have passed your wonderful feedback on to my team and hope to see you very soon at the castle. Kind Regards Bruce Marques Deputy Manager

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Great hotel lovely setting room good. Food dreadful service worse I have experienced. Service very slow and portion sizes so small, left desperate for bread. Quite the worst experience in a restaurant this was a special anniversary totally ruined. Do not bother with the restaurant dreadful. Complained on the evening but left frustrated by experience. Serious issues here quite the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smiffy1955
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Smiffy1955 I am sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us at Amberley Castle. I am sorry to read that you did not find our food or service up to an acceptable level, and have made my head chef and restaurant manager aware of your feelings, and they will be making the necessary changes to ensure...

Fareham UK
Reviewed 4 August 2016

oh what a shame. been coming here for special occasions for over 15 years. Think its changed ownership but it does not live up to its reputation and cost. Went on a Secret Escape overnight DBB but still £250 for myself and my daughters birthday treat. E mail week before informed me I had reserved a table for dinner at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denwoodd
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Denwood, Thank you for taking the time to review Amberley Castle, although it is saddening to read you did not enjoy your time with us. I am glad to read that you found our head housekeeper jolly, and helpful. I have passed all feedback on to the management team, and we will be doing the necessary training to better...

chichester, uk
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

From the moment we drove up to the portcullis we knew we'd chosen the right venue for such a special occasion. With lots of luggage we were fortunate to be greeted at the turncircle by the deputy manager who was quick to introduce himself as Bruce and offered to look after our luggage and park our car. He showed us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecca8634
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca, It is with a large grin that i write this response, it is always wonderful to read good feedback online. We do strive to give nothing but the best service at Amberley Castle, and I feel on this occasion we have delivered. I hope to welcome you back to Amberley Castle very soon. Kind regards Bruce Marques Deputy...

UK
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Amberley Castle really is a castle, or was. Originally built in the 12th century, many of the walls remain, but only as ruins. They surround beautiful gardens and the more modern, though that's a relative term, hotel buildings. The hotel can provide a full history and it makes very interesting reading. We were here for a birthday celebration. On arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grahamft
Piers V, Deputy Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review

Dear Grahamft, Thank you for your kind words, and I am glad to read you enjoyed some aspects of the room, and have taken your comments of the shower and extractor fan into consideration. I have asked my maintenance manager to source quieter extractor fans for the rooms, and to investigate why the extractor in Seffrid is so loud. I...

993 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (575)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (303)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (404)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Classic Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (51)
Viewed
Junior Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Premier Deluxe Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
22.7 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,538 reviews
39.3 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
39.8 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
17.4 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
12.6 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Amberley Castle

Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Price Range: $341 - $962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberley Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Amberley Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley Castle Hotel Amberley
Castle Hotel Amberley
Amberley Arundel Castle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amberley Castle staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Amberley Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Arundel is amazing”
394jow, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As a real castle has a mixture of very individual rooms with varied prices as with different sizes and features”
michaelrV515XQ, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Chichester Suite is very luxurious”
RnR_Medway, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had the Bodiam room, it was great and not too expensive. ”
Kimobi, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Bishopric room, which are just outside the main gate.”
laurieb480, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$251* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$251
Hotels.comUS$251
Expedia.comUS$251
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates