We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (19)
Overview
9 High Street, Wendover, Aylesbury HP22 6DU England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
280
221
118
46
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
280
221
118
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionthe pubhigh streetcoaching innraf haltonstaff were welcomingsingle roomtowel railpiebed was comfortablecar parklots of characterevening meal and breakfastfamily roomnight's sleeplambstayed here for one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 694 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

we visited for a evening to go to a friends party in the locality. the room was tired and needed a good clean. curtains hanging off the rail, bathroom, well. needed lots of attention. disappointed.After telling the receptionist that we were disappointed, her quote was...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rose C
Response from Red L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion HotelResponded today

Hello Rose C, Thank you for your feedback. We do encourage guests to speak to a staff member during their stay so any issues can be rectified straight away, however, I have passed your comments on to our Head Housekeeper. We are due to have...More

Reviewed yesterday

Everything was good in this wonderful location in the Chilterns. Food was just right, great value for money and service solid. Beer was also in good condition and if anything didn't go to plan the staff dealt with it promptly and corteously

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jsteel2018
Response from Red L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion HotelResponded yesterday

Hello jsteel2018, Thank you for your lovely feeback and we do hope you will visit again soon. Kind regards Fiona and the team at The Red Lion

Reviewed yesterday

poor standard of room and fittings, especially bathroom. Poor quality (maybe because it's a disabled room) is not acceptable just because the room rate is not expensive. No bathroom light switch made it very dangerous for smeone who's disabled!

Thank Richard P
Response from Red L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion HotelResponded today

Hello Richard P, Thank you for giving us your feedback. Just to clarify, there is no light switch as the light automatically comes on when entering the bathroom. We do hope you will visit us again. Kind regards Fiona and the Red Lion team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose the Red Lion to be near a family celebration. GOOD: Staff friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. Room and bed adequate. Car parking facilities. NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: cramped en suite with stained toilet.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DavidPNash
Response from Red L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hello DavidPNash, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us including your breakfast and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards Fiona and the team at The Red...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business in September. Nice, smart town centre Fuller's pub with a great restaurant and nice rooms. Really nice staff and friendly, relaxed but professional service. Good range of beers, wines and food and amazing breakfast! room was large, comfortable, in the main...More

Thank MrCreosote21
Response from Red L, Reception at Red Lion HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hello MrCreosote21 Thank you for your review of your recent stay we're glad that you enjoyed it and that you'd stay with us again. Your feedback is appreciated. Kind regards Jasmine & The Red Lion Team

View more reviews
About
Description
Set in the village of Wendover near Aylesbury, The Red Lion is a perfect hotel for a weekend break or a family holiday. Just 45 minutes from London and sporting one of the area's finest restaurants, The Red ...More Lion offers excellent real ales and warm hospitality. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Room Service
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms, Suites
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms, Suites
Number of rooms
23
Price range
US$87 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Red Lion Wendover Hotel Aylesbury
,
Red Lion Aylesbury
Location
United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Wendover
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms, Suites
Number of rooms
23
Price range
US$87 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Red Lion Wendover Hotel Aylesbury
,
Red Lion Aylesbury
Location
United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Wendover
Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (19)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
116 reviews
3.32 km away
West Lodge Hotel
211 reviews
4.32 km away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
388 reviews
4.83 km away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
847 reviews
5.47 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 30 restaurants in Wendover
The Raj
286 reviews
.14 km away
Tres Corazones
410 reviews
.18 km away
Rumsey's Chocolaterie and Coffee Shop
254 reviews
.09 km away
Lady GreyTea Room
168 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 attractions in Wendover
Go Ape Wendover
83 reviews
2.21 km away
St Mary the Virgin Church
8 reviews
3.21 km away
The Bell - Stoke Mandeville
31 reviews
4.70 km away
No2 Pound Street
54 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jane64Southampton
August 20, 2016|
Answer
Response from Red L | Property representative |
Yes we have a private car park at the rear of the hotel. Kind regards Red Lion Team
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Courtyard rooms might be noisy"
Read review
"Avoid room 11. Overlooks smoking area and walls of paper"
Read review
"One enjoyed the bacon and cauliflower mash and I enjoyed the plaice dish"
Read review
"Rooms towards the back of the hotel are probably quieter than thos overlooking the smoking area and main..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing