We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oyster Smack Inn

LateRooms.comUS$97*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Oyster Smack Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Oyster Smack Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Very overpriced at £80 for one night. Basic room off the car park. Breakfast only provided after arguing for it - several colleagues gave up and left. No option to refund and go elsewhere. Not a bright move on your part - we will find somewhere else next time.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AN O
Trevor800, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

AN O Continental breakfast is served 7.30-10am 7 days a week, cooked breakfast is available Friday to Monday morning from 8.30am.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Amazing meal, excellent room, friendly, efficient staff (with personalities and humour - how rare and wonderful). I booked the great value dinner, bed and breakfast as a surprise treat and we loved it! The restaurant was packed out and buzzing with people from far and wide. A flawless dinner, a very comfortable, well-presented room and enough breakfast to make me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill E
Trevor800, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

Gill Thanks for the nice review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Oyster Smack inn. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed our weekend at the oyster smack, friendly staff, spacious room with an enormous comfortable bed. Room was a little 'shabby' and no bath in the bathroom but we were aware of this at time of booking - didn't have breakfast but had a wonderful dinner on both evenings - would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Busterhymes
Trevor800, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Oyster smack inn, we are currently in progress of up dating our rooms and have already replaced all the beds so i am glad to hear you found them comfortable, like wise i am glad you enjoyed the food. Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive...

Headley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

I was looking forward to staying here, sadly it fell short in a number of ways. I booked solo occupancy for a Friday night in Feburary at a cost of £80. A) The room was OK, but had no window! It had a small frosted pane in the door, and a small Velux style window in the roof, this had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Captain_Grumpy60
Trevor800, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

Captain Grumpy I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. If you had informed one of the staff they would have come in to your room to open the blind on the skylight for you using the pole provided. Thank you for bring the faulty shower head to my attention i will get that fixed today. We have...

Reviewed 7 February 2015

Family stayed there on the coldest night of the year only to find that no hearing was in the rooms this was promised to be turned on, when they returned to the room later hearing still not on. Also went for breakfast in the morning only to be confronted with dirty plates and cutlery which they ended up washing themselves,and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Louilaw
Trevordirector, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I have spoken with the new member of staff who tried to rectify the heating problem in your room unfortunately she turned the wrong thermostat up, i understand that the heating did get put on latter that evening for them. Due to unforeseen circumstances the breakfast supervisor did not get in until...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2015

This Hotel cancelled my confirmed booking and refunded my deposit, as they had overbooked their rooms in May 2015. I booked in early February 2015. I booked by phone and they confirmed my booking by email. They emailed me a few hours later to cancel my room and advise they would refund my deposit. I had booked a room in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Guerin
Trevordirector, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, you are correct we did have a problem with our booking system on that day in May 2015, as you say we took the booking then got back to you a few hours latter by trying to call you then followed up with an e-mail soon as we recognised there was an over booking,...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Just enjoyed a lovely meal with my parents; delicious food which was great value with attentive service. The choice was just right for us, and it was refreshing to have a selection of wines which were not overpriced to compensate for the cheaper menu options. We were able to pick and choose from the set and a la carte menus....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicMS9
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Spent a night here in June and very impressed. The hotel is in a good location in Burnham town centre and the staff were really nice. The room however was EXCELLENT. The room was spacious, ultra clean, very modern and well equipped and I'd be happy to spend a week there. If the room was an ordinary one then it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalerobertyork
Staverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

Checked in was last minute having moved from the Anchor. Warm welcome, good food, comfy WARM room, breakfast is continental only. Parking limited spaces. Stayed once before will stay again. Food. Good choice of food on the menu busy for a Tuesday evening friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ge0rdiestu
Bungay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2014

After another local hotel messed up our booking and left us high and dry with no place to celebrate my mothers 70th we phoned the oyster smack and at a moments notice they were able to accommodate all 14 of us at a time of day that I would imagine was not usual service time (3.30approx) as it was neither...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola O

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
14.8 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
173 reviews
10.4 km away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
723 reviews
9.3 km away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
211 reviews
11.9 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,393 reviews
7.8 km away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#2 of 3 in Rochford
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oyster Smack Inn is a charming local restaurant with rooms, built in the 1800’s. The building is full of character and sets the scene for an outstanding and extremely popular local inn. Owned and run by chef patron Trevor Howell and his wife Claire, the pub has become the first port of call for those seeking excellent food in friendly, relaxed and stylish surroundings. The newly decorated dining room and bar are both classic and timeless, the coastal shades of the decor providing a serene backdrop to the dining experience. Wooden floors and hand-made furniture all work to create a feeling of quiet elegance. The coastal location means that The Oyster Smack Inn can take full advantage of the freshest of seafood and our menu utilises this to full effect. The team in the kitchen are passionate about using the finest produce from local suppliers. Changing seasonally, our dinner menu offers the best of modern British food whilst your favourite classic pub dishes can be found on our lunch menu. Whether you are looking dine out with family and friends or to entertain clients, at The Oyster Smack Inn you can celebrate a very special occasion or simply pop in for a light snack - our kitchens are happy to oblige, whatever your needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oyster Smack Inn

Address: 112 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Price Range: $94 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oyster Smack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Oyster Smack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oyster Smack Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oyster Smack Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Oyster Smack Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best value and easiest method of booking is through Late Booking.com”
christiancX9408OS, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No views but Room 9 is very spacious”
R0bbie78, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't bring an expensive car, unless they have changed parking arrangements!”
sophieG1736LP, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask for one of the refurbed suites”
DEGALR, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Room faces south, only 1 small step into shower.”
1954dorset, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$97
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates