We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lambert Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lambert Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lambert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 584: English reviews
Homer City, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I really don't know where to even begin from. No soap in the rooms or the toilet in the restaurant? - unacceptable. Forced to wait a full 2 (yes two) hours for the room to be prepared (Room however was booked a whole month in advance) The service is terribly slow most likely to the hotel being understaffed, although the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thesmog358
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and Im sorry to hear you had to wait for your room due to a delay in it being ready. We thank you for comments which we will take on board for staff training.

Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Breakfast service ends at 9:00! Rude staff at breakfast service - should be sacked immediately; Unclean facilities; Poor appliances and furniture; Not worth even a low cost consideration; In nearby locations there are much better options.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank FNRGoncalves
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, if you would like to discuss your experience further, please do email manager@lambertarms.com

Cowlinge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We booked the Lambert Hotel, at the last minute for a party of eight, for two nights, going to a car show at Bleinham Palace. We didn't know what to expect, but the stay, which included a meal on the first night, far exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was quiet with a very comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, we are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you here again next year!

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We have stayed previously at the Lambert Hotel and found it very acceptable. On this visit the staff were very helpful and attentive and the breakfast was good - individually cooked and presented quickly. But the room. This spoilt the whole trip. We were allocated Room 4. It was located in the old original section of the hotel, refurbished, which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Y0P0
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive feedback on the staffing, and thank you for your comments regarding the room allocation. We are restricted with updates that can be done to the original rooms in the building but will use your comments when undergoing future upgrades.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Good size room on 2nd floor with lift access. Nice hotel with decent resturant. Had 2 evening meals, both of good quality and presentation. Hotel offers enticing packages that include tickets to venues such as Bleinham Palace, birth place of Sir Winston Churchhill. Quite small bar area for such a large facility. Gym out of action at the time of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 123savery321
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your extremely detailed description of the offering here at The Lambert Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to write your comments and will bear your comments in mind when making any future changes to the interior.

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016

“Name”? “Car No”? Almost without looking up these were the first words uttered by the sullen faced woman at reception. This is possibly OK for most people, especially business customers but, call me old fashioned and quaint I like a bit of friendly service now and again, especially when I’m on a short break. We were on a short break...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank raycarew
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience at The Lambert Hotel which we fully take on board and will use for forthcoming staff training.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We needed a place to stay for two nights while attending a family gathering in nearby Wallingford. It fitted the bill perfectly. We were given a large, comfortable, well-maintained room, a few yards from the main building. For those opting for the Full English, the breakfast was of generous proportions. Five of us ate dinner together and enjoyed a variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnachtRambler
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of your stay here at The Lambert Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback regarding the soup. Many thanks also for the feedback regards staffing, which we will use for our internal training.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Me and my husband stayed at the Lambert for a few nights at the end of June. The housekeeping was poor, on the verge of non existing. The service in the bar and restaurant was slow and the food quite disappointing. 1st of July - the breakfast was a total disaster. There were probably a hundred people in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Denitza P
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, which we find extremely helpful. We are sorry that staffing levels were below standard on the date of your visit and will be rectifying this. Many thanks again for bringing this to our attention.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016

came with a booked group for lunch, and lets just say you expect more, i have had al dente before but this was silly, it was as though the veg was shown the water but not put in it, and the meat was nearly still breathing. was never asked how we would like it cooked. (well cooked would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank oxjay
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are so sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience. If you would like to email manager@lambertarms.com with more details, we would be please to hear from you directly.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I booked this because at short notice it was all I could find. It was very conveniently placed for Garsington and the staff were friendly and helpful. In terms of accommodation it is a rather basic hotel but it is comfortable and we slept very well. On the whole we felt we got what we paid for but the one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate B
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response, and we are pleased that you chose to stay with us for your trip to Garsington Opera, as many guests do. Many thanks for your feedback with regards to toiletry provision which we will pass on to housekeeping.

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewknor
9.1 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,636 reviews
6.2 km away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
210 reviews
4.1 km away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
35.7 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,174 reviews
10.4 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Kite Restaurant & Bar
Kite Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful traditional coaching inn, retaining its original historic features, with a modern twist. Comfortable and friendly, with open-fires, real ales and mouth-watering food overseen by Chef Chris Coates, and with a great choice of stylish and spacious bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lambert Hotel

Address: London Road | Thame, Lewknor OX49 5SQ, England (Formerly The Lambert Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Lewknor
Price Range: $111 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lambert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lambert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lambert Arms Hotel Aston Rowant
Lambert Arms Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lambert Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Chinnor, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Chinnor, United Kingdom
3 months ago
New York
11 months ago
Solihull, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Lambert Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 1 for creaky flooring, poor plumbing and the strange beer-garden staircase.”
868grantt, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms i think are better but you can hear a heavy person occasionaly if they stomp.”
126clints, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely”
852tic, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“courtyard room was nice. We were allowed to bring our dog”
5cool7, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are lovely and quiet, if you want total relaxation”
, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5