We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Caballo Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Caballo Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for El Caballo Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 May 2016

After reading the reviews on here I was a little worried about staying our over-night stay. However I was very pleasantly surprised! Our room was spacious, clean and warm. We went to a show in the Flamenco Room which included dinner. The dinner was a delicious buffet, with steak, fish and gammon, with fresh salads and perfectly cooked vegetables. Dessert...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
Matthew P, General Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are glad that your overall stay was comfortable and you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay

Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

After reading all the negative reviews I hesitantly booked an overnight stay at El Caballo (to break up a long car trip I had with my family). On arrival, you appreciate how glorious the place was in its hey day - at night the resort looks amazing. The room was clean but it did feel as though I was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desiree P
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Although the staff were friendly - when we did see them, the whole experience was tarnished by the incredibly shabby rooms, very stained carpets - curtains falling off the rails, no wardrobe in upstairs rooms, not very clean, especially bathroom window sills, and furniture that looks like it was reclaimed from a dump site. Regardless of what this resort offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niclux
Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The architecture is lovely, the layout is good, the price was very reasonable. I so wanted to give this place a better mark. On the positive side the rooms were a good size, clean, had a nice bar for a relaxing drink, the golf course is great complete with kangaroos.. What held it back was the spa was very cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Matthew P, Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience We really appreciate your feedback and hope you do give us the chance to make it right. I would also like to take this chance to explain the waiting period in our Restaurant that weekend. We were hosting a movie night for the local kids and we were not expecting their...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

I am a senior reviewer. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, motels and resorts. I feel i am a good judge of quality. This is the new best of the worst. Dated accommodation. Poor service. Food that we could not and did not pay for. The chef would not come to talk to us even though it was end...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank michealbryant
Matthew P, General Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are disappointed and very sorry to hear about your negative experience. We will have a meeting with the Housekeeping, Kitchen & Maintenance department to point all the issues listed on your complaint. Please rest assured we have taken note of your concerns regarding the service...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

I had read multiple bad reviews on here and had zero expectations. Rooms are large and not as bad as we were expecting. Our room (all the way into the room) did flood as soon as we had a shower as did a couple of others (tree roots on pipes apparently), and staff did as much as they could providing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perthgirl31
Matthew P, Front Office Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are disappointed and very sorry to hear that your room was flooded. As you mentioned we are glad to hear that our staff have done all they could to accommodate you. We will have a meeting with the housekeeping & Maintenance department, and point all...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Had a lovely time especially on the Saturday afternoon when they had tapas and a live band. Very enjoyable. The rooms are very basic but clean and quite comfy. Could use a bit of refurbishing though. The staff in general were very friendly and welcoming

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
Matthew P, Front Office Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are glad that your overall stay was comfortable and you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay. Regards, El Caballo Resort

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 March 2016

stayed on weekend just gone had a lovely room overlooking the pool area Yes i agree is a bit outdated but was pleasantly suprised by just how welcoming and relaxed you are made to feel I did enjoy a game of tennis, court a bit old but a lot of fun. The pool area is very modern and lovely to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane c
Matthew P, Front Office Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are glad that your overall stay was comfortable and you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay. Regards, El Caballo Resort

Reviewed 21 March 2016

Great staff good food out of date bedrooms and bathrooms which need a good spring clean very shabby lost in time needs lots of TLC and lots of money bringing it up to scratch. Carpets need replacing badly stained new furniture required and soft furnishings. New towels a must

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We stayed at El Caballo Resort for two nights. Felt like we were transported back in time. The Resort and rooms were dated. Cobwebs were a frequent feature; in hallways, corner of the room, above the bed etc. Our third floor hallway light did not have a light bulb in it. Didn't score any good first impression points when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaRed_56

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooroloo
34.2 km away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
58 reviews
33.5 km away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
23.0 km away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#3 of 3 in Mundaring
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Bickley Valley Retreat
Bickley Valley Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bickley
18 reviews
37.3 km away
The Good Life B&B
The Good Life B&B
#1 of 5 in Lesmurdie
169 reviews
33.7 km away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Caballo Resort in Wooroloo is proud to be offering corporate function packages as well as a range of short term accommodation suites. With over 40 years or rich history El Caballo Resort offers a great function alternative to the traditional city based function center. Nestled in the heart of the Avon Valley and only 30 minutes from the Airports the El Caballo Resort is surrounded by Australian bush and wildlife and is a great escape from the CBD, perfect for your next function. We offer three function rooms all with modern facilities and available with catering and service packages. Only a short 30 minute drive from Midland, El Caballo Resort offers the perfect overnight or weekend getaway. Immerse yourself in one of our two luxury suites and enjoy all the modern features of our resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Caballo Resort

Address: El Caballo Resort 3349 Great Eastern Hwy, Wooroloo, Western Australia 6560, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Wooroloo
Price Range: $156 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Caballo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Caballo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Caballo Hotel Wooroloo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from El Caballo Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want the use of a restaurant check to ensure it is operating during your stay”
 of 5 bubbles Ead19, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose the Spa Room for a bit of Romance”
  • View from the back of our room
 of 5 bubbles kylosm, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't take any of the rooms facing the road, especially No. 8 - loud road noise and rattling windows”
 of 5 bubbles niclux, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“rooms around pool are quite lovely but may be noisy to some from road traffic”
 of 5 bubbles janecQ4086JD, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Check before you book”
 of 5 bubbles christinehT8705MU, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5