We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Griesemount House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballitore
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Griesemount House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Griesemount House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 52: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2014 via mobile

Carolyn and family are very warm and friendly, which only added to the great stay we had in a truly beautiful house. Our room was warm & spacious with a lovely bathroom next door. The surrounding countryside and garden is also beautiful with the house overlooking an old mill, which is a nice focal point during breakfast, which was delicious!...

2Thank peejayhawkie
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Just arrived back from two night stay in this wonderful house.The welcome and hospitality we received was first class.The owners made a huge effort to make our stay a memorable one and they certainly succeeded.I can't praise them highly enough.I really felt like I had arrived home it was so welcoming and cosy.Wonderful hosts.

2Thank larry o
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2014

This was a unique experience for us. The hosts, Carolyn and Robert made us very much at home. We had a large room with a good view over the countryside. At night Robert light an open fire for us, a great place to relax and read one a book. The village of Ballitore is very close and has a fascinating...

Thank Stephen717
Reviewed 15 October 2014

We went to the house and we were shown our room..there was no key to lock our bags and valubles in our room. There was dead flies on the floor i looked for a switch beside the head board cobwebs behind the headboard.not clean old fashioned second hand lamps that you would normally throw out..the bathroom was in the wardrobe..not...

Thank abba055
Geyserville, California
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Griesemount was a treasure of a find. It took some filtering through an overwhelming number of choices on various websites, but the reward was well worth the effort. We were looking for an older house (preferably Georgian), that presented the feel of a period home with a minimum of concessions for the sake of modern conveniences. Inside, Griesemount is rich...

Thank 857scott
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Owner is lovely and extremely friendly. It is a great old house full of character. Unfortunately the bedroom we stayed in was old and tatty rather than old and full of charm. The room could have done with a good cleaning. Very expensive for what the service provided.

1Thank 178gerry
cambridge uk
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We relaxed and felt at home as soon as we arrived in this beautiful house, full of charm and quirkiness. Carolyn and Robert invited us out to a neighbour's private church to hear Readings from the ex-Archbishop of Dublin - this was a unique occasion meeting the Ashe's friends and neighbours and we felt very lucky to be there. Our...

Thank sonia047
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here quite recently to attend a wedding which was nearby. After the positive reviews it sounded great. For the cost of the room I expected a lot more. Too me the room seemed a bit dated and not what I was expecting. The breakfast the next day was cold and probably should have mentioned this at the time...

1Thank David R
Carolyn A, Owner at Griesemount House, responded to this review

Woops!! I was sad to get your review as our guests and their comfort is of prime importance to us. I am sincerely sorry for serving you a cold breakfast, as you just said now ...."you didn't like to complain", well I'd rather you had as then I could have done something about it! Please again accept my apoligy. Luckily...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Loved this place. I would describe it as quirky, but that wouldn't do it justice. It is a charming old house in a beautiful setting. The owners are so friendly and welcoming that you immediately relax and feel at home. The rooms are nice and clean, the views are great and the beds are comfy. What more could you want!...

Thank CongoConlon
Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Myself and my boyfriend flew home for a wedding in February just gone. We got our wedding invitations very late so there were no rooms left in the wedding venue and very few available in the local area. I had phoned a number of places and was seriously worried about having to taxi back to Dublin until I spoke with...

1Thank Tash_bda
Carolyn A, Owner at Griesemount House, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review and so glad that we were able to have the Master bedroom....especially as you had travelled so far from Bermuda...that btw is where my Grandmother met my Grandfather!! Hope we meet again, so enjoyed your company! love to you and Chris from both Robert and I. Carolyn

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (22)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
View from Room (6)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Dining (1)
Other (4)


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
- Built 1817 by the Quaker family of Ernest Shackleton with wonderful views over the valley and the River Griese and surrounded by majestic trees and pretty gardens. Carolyn and Robert enjoy welcoming guests where on chilly evenings there's a warm open fire blazing in the drawingroom.On summer mornings breakfast is served in the Sunroom or out on the Terrace, Griesemount a haven of tranquility and old world hospitality. Come and let us spoil you- ... more   less 

Additional Information about Griesemount House

Address: Ballitore | Co Kildare, Ballitore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Ballitore
Price Range: $47 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Griesemount House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“John Mc Cormack room has a marvellous four-poster and large en suite.”
  • Four-poster in John Mc Cormack room
  • Looking over to the ruined mill
gandbr, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Could not recommend after my experience with booking”
geraldine1956, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Large corner room with canopy bed has great views and large bathroom.”
857scott, 1 Oct 2014 | Read review
“The bedroom with the view of the ruined mill that looks like a castle - beautiful!”
sonia047, 22 May 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in the 2 bed room, but having seen the rest of the rooms, you can't go wrong there.”
AntonK83, 24 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5