We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cheshire Cheese Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cheshire Cheese Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Good evening meal, good choice of beer and wine, super breakfast, very friendly staff. Room ok, comfortable but could do with a proper clean. Dogwood Rose an unexpected treat of a Folk band made it a great night :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nichola S
loffless, Owner at Cheshire Cheese Inn, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm very sorry to hear that you felt that the room was not up to standard. If you had mentioned it then we would have done our best to rectify the situation. All our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and as you will see from other reviews...

Reviewed 26 October 2016

This pub has a very nice homely feel to it with an open fire and many lovely traditional features. They serve a range of ales but the food on the day we visited was a bit disappointing. We were there for a Sunday roast. It was all a bit bland, tasteless and some of the food felt a little cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toadseyeview
loffless, Owner at Cheshire Cheese Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. We do try our best to make sure that meals are prepared to high standards. If you had mentioned it at the time we would have done what we could to rectify the situation. I am glad that you have previously enjoyed your visits but it is a shame that you have...

Nottingham
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely little pub with great beer and fantastic home cooked food. The soup was amazing. The pub is quite small so book ahead. its a five minute walk from the main road in hope but well worth the short walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akeroyd
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Went twice in two days - went for fajitas both times complemented by some lovely ales (a very good range). Would definitely come back and will think about staying here next time too (though I've no idea about the rooms). Kids liked the food too and were very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely pub, great food, great drink and I had great company. If you want a relaxed atmosphere, a nice pint and great food this is the place to go. Always a warm welcome and the fire will be on soon so toasty on those winter nights. The veggie options are also great, plenty of choice, and the desserts are yummy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We visited on a Tuesday evening looking for some pub food and a nice pint. This very old country inn dates back to the 16th century and is packed with character and charm. The low beams, stone walls, furnishings and open fire place add to the cosy feel. Good selection of food including veggie options. Excellent beer and friendly staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 659martin
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

After wanting to visit the Peak District for a holiday, we were invited to the outskirts of Sheffield for a wedding. One of the recommended places to stay from the bride and groom to be was here as it was less than a mile from the wedding venue so an easy commute. Although they had never been there before we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Called for an evening pub meal. Excellent service throughout. We were offered a nice varied traditional menu. Big portions. We would eat here again. The pub is in a very scenic location but parking is slightly difficult.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Went to this pub on Wednesday evening having eaten there several times over the last few years. Last Wednesday several of the popular choices were not available, leaving a limited menu. The food arrived quickly and was the best we had eaten around Hope. However the service once the food was served was NIL. Main course plates were still on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin b
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped off for an evening meal before the long journey home after a very long day and a tough walk. The service was excellent, the staff were very helpful and informative about what they had to offer. The food was amazing and I'm not even sorry that I over ate and still felt full the following day, it was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
1.1 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.5 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
354 reviews
13.3 km away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 166 in Peak District National Park
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
346 reviews
2.3 km away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
253 reviews
14.8 km away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Cheshire Cheese Inn

Address: Edale Road, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Price Range: $123 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cheese Hotel Hope Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cheshire Cheese Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cheshire Cheese Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the four poster room”
 of 5 bubbles rhodes120, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A great British pub, high quality with heaps of character”
 of 5 bubbles Llanungar, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Dined only”
 of 5 bubbles CJeremyL, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“We found Room 3 quite noisy and cramped.”
 of 5 bubbles Karen_USGER, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pub has 4 rooms to choose from”
 of 5 bubbles chelsea098, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5