We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loma De Puerto Escondiao, Santa Barbara de Samana 32000 Dominican Republic
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (8153)
Pool & Beach (1747)
Room & Suite (555)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 all-inclusive in Santa Barbara de Samana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4,777Reviews829Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,412
  • 1,584
  • 507
  • 164
  • 110
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tetiana Y wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
+1
It was our first trip to Dominican Republic. Very happy to choose this place! Extremely peaceful, convenient and awesome views! We are very satisfied with food quality and choice! The resort has all necessary facilities, the staff is friendly, the beach is cleaned and the water is warm and shallow. 7 days just flew so fast, hope we will be able to return again once))
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Tetiana We appreciate that you have chosen us as your vacation destination, as well as your comments and impressions about the pleasant experience you had during your stay in our hotel. We are glad to know that we made your first time in the Dominican Republic memorable. Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your review of your stay with us. Kind regards Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Annie-sur-la-Rouge wrote a review Mar 2024
Grenville-sur-la-Rouge, Canada69 contributions93 helpful votes
+1
This was my second visit to this resort (first time was 12 years ago). I visited March 2-9, on a two meal plan. Although I have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and Mexico, this is my favourite hotel. It is small, close to town and has great views. The food is still excellent, even though it is no longer all inclusive ( less waste anyway in my opinion). The hotel is bright, clean, with many places to lounge ( terrace, pool, small beach). The staff is very friendly. I will miss it and hope that employees can return once new ownership is established. Thank you for a memorable holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Annie-sur -la-Rouge We appreciate that you have chosen us as your vacation destination, as well as your comments and impressions about the pleasant experience you had during your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our new service and that we made your stay a memorable one. Thank you for visiting us Kind regards Guest Relatiosn Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Expedition28965 wrote a review Mar 2024
Ottawa3 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
This has been a truly wonderful vacation. I bought the almost all inclusive and I can’t tell what is not included! The lobby bar is a peaceful place for pre-dinner cocktails, the pool always has chaises available. The breakfast and dinner restaurant has lots of choices and we have never gone hungry. The lunch restaurant serves huge meals and we have found that at midday all we really want is fruit and/or ice cream. Too hot for much more than that! The hotel is exceptionally clean (except the pool itself). The beach was very disappointing and it’s worth doing at least one or two excursions to other beaches in the area. We did two excursions: whale watching half day, and national park/caves/beach. Both tours were exceptional! We would like to thank Enmundo (air Canada rep), Maria at the front desk (an angel and a delight!), Victor who works at the restaurants (who is very professional, and attentive), the bar tenders (Esteban at the Lobby bar and someone whose name I didn’t catch at the pool bar) who are always smiling and make great banana mamas! The one thing I wish was that the tourists would tip more. I realize it’s not part of every other culture, and some others think that because it’s all-inclusive (or almost), tipping is not required. Given how hard the employees work, how little they get paid, it’s a nice token. We left $3 for our maid daily, $3 at breakfast and lunch, and $5 at dinner. $5 from each of us for half day excursion and $10 for full day. We always tipped the bartenders too. USD only. They can’t use Canadian coins.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded Mar 16, 2024
Dear Guest We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at our Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa. We sincerely appreciate your comments about our facilities, services and staff. Regarding your suggestions, we would like to inform you that they have been transmitted to the corresponding departments so that they can be taken into consideration for the improvement of our services. Thank you very much for visiting us Kind regards Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dohre wrote a review Mar 2024
Samana Province, Dominican Republic29 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Truly spectacular place. We loved ALL of the Super friendly and helpful staff. The pool, beach, restaurant, location, and room with beautiful views were just what we were looking for. Thank you to everyone that helped make our stay so amazing!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Dear Dohre We appreciate you choosing us as your holiday destination, as well as your comments and impressions of the pleasant experience you had during your stay at our hotel. Thank you for visiting us Kind regards Annie Rijo Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sandy C wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
BEWARE This hotel is closing and will reopen under a new brand. This rebuild is due to the creation of a new harbour which will accommodate cruise ships. Good for the economy, probably bad for the whales. In the interim, facilities at this hotel are minimal, rooms are tired, our jacuzzi bathtub was broken and only one cafeteria style restaurant is open.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid coming here until they rebuild the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded Mar 4, 2024
Dear Mr. Sandy C First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay at the Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa hotel. In relation to the comments made in the survey, we offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the departments involved so that corrective action can be taken on the points you mention to avoid these types of incidents with future guests. Thank you again for your comments and contribution to improvement. Kind regards Guest Relations Bahia Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Footprints179758 wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
nice resort situated on a large property full of nature, has no private beach and even though it is advertised as adult-only resort has kids. the most inconvenience is the fact that the property is situated close to town where music is played extremely loud every night util 2-3am and then restarted at 6am. impossible to rest even with ear plugs. so for those that get rooms on the bay/city side, forget resting this vacation
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: make sure your room is not towards the city
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded Feb 29, 2024
Dear guest In relation to the comments in your review, we offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the departments involved so that corrective action can be taken on the points you mention in order to avoid these types of incidents with future guests. We appreciate your contribution to the continuous improvement of the quality of the services we offer to our guests. Your comments always help us to improve Kind regards, Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gabriel T wrote a review Feb 2024
Toronto, Canada3 contributions
Had a great time at Bahia Cayacoa! Splendid vistas, excellent service and great dinning! A special thanks to Maria (hotel manager) who was able to address a small issue related to my room expediently. Will definitely come back next year, this time with my wife!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded Feb 29, 2024
Dear Mr. Grabriel We appreciate your choice of us as your vacation destination, as well as your comments about the quality and service you received from our staff, especially from our front desk manager, we are glad to know that we met your expectations and that you had a memorable stay. Thank you for visiting us Kind regards Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Climber58170601471 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Avoid at any cost. We only have been 2 days and there is noo way to sleep because of music. It is 3:28 am and still going. We paid premium to have a view but the noise was terrible de first night. We insisted to change, the manager gave us something smaller (downgrade)after saying there was nothing and after some back and forth. We really hoped that it would get better but there is still music as if we were inside a club. We really just want to have a decent night of sleep. We are in a hotel and it feels that we have been robbed of a basic need. We have been here only those 2 nights and we are getting more exhausted then relaxed. The staff did not appear too cooperating as we had to go multiple times to try to solve the issue.I don’t know how we will enjoy our time in Samanà without sleep. It is disapointing in soo many leve: no sleep, no energy, bad mood,migraine
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded Feb 21, 2024
Dear Ms. Myriam Thank you for your comment, we have verified and spoken with the corresponding department so that they are verifying where the music is coming from, since the music placed in our facilities is turned off at 10:00pm, On the other hand, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope you feel comfortable in your new room and that you can continue to enjoy your vacation. Kind regards Annie Rijo Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Relax594888 wrote a review Feb 2024
Olympia, Washington5 contributions
We booked a room for 3 nights that included breakfast and dinner for an amazing price. The next morning we extended for 4 nights and then 4 more for a total of 11! In a country difficult to navigate without Spanish we appreciated all our needs attended to that included a beautiful hotel, room, delicious buffet meals and lovely staff who spoke some English. Here it is possible to have a REAL VACATION and there are many interesting tours from this otherwise underwhelming city in a gorgeous location. Guests are from all over the world. We were sad to discover that our great deal resulted from this place closing and changing hands within a few months )o: that said if can go now - do it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded Feb 14, 2024
Dear guest We are very happy to hear that you shared your review of your stay with us, the fact that you extended your stay by 4 more days is an indication that you enjoyed it to the fullest. We appreciate your compliments about our beautiful hotel, the delicious buffet food and our attentive staff. Thank you for visiting us and for being loyal to our chain. Kind regards Annie Rijo Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alex wrote a review Dec 2023
Mississauga, Canada1 contribution5 helpful votes
We were fifth time at CayaCoa, so we can compare. It seems it is a good decision of owners to switch resort from all inclusive to half-board. With AirTransat we got very good price for our vacation and two meals, (cheaper if compare with old all inclusive). Excellent breakfast and dinner menu available at resort's buffet and restaurant was good enough for us, so we don't feel any discomfort with two meals option. Also bar has good menu of drinks, for additional charge. It seems that with "half board" CayaCoa resort don't have anymore problems with heavy drinking tourists (because they need to pay for drinks now!). Also known old problem with noisy and messy crowd (happened before on weekends when resort was on "all-inclusive") - DISAPPEARED now (!): no crowd anymore of annoying "one day weekend tourists" who arrived to hotel just for free lunch and free drinks. Resort now quiet and everything in order everywhere on all days of week. Definitely we will return to CayaCoa during summer. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Responded Dec 29, 2023
Dear guets Thank you for sharing the review of your stay with us, we are glad that you have fully enjoyed our new modality with the peace and tranquility that lives in our facilities, excellent cuisine and good service received by our employees. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Affectionate greetings Annie Rijo Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Barbara de Samana area.
PRICE RANGE
C$144 - C$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe cayacoa hotel, gran bahia principe cayacoa samana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSamana ProvinceSanta Barbara de Samana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
295
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
Nearby attractions include Samana Bay (0.6 km), Tainopark (0.8 km), and Malecon (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Royal Snack Bar & Restaurant, La Hacienda Grill & Bar, and Taberna Mediterranea Bar Restaurant - Tapas & Wines.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.