We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Over the Mountain Guest Farm

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Over the Mountain Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Langebaan, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean tidy rooms. Supper and breakfast was great! Swimming pool looks like fun for warmer days! Nights are super quiet, good time to read and enjoy a peaceful nights sleep! No TV in rooms, just in lounge! Take own toiletries!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elmien G
Gerrit B, Owner at Over the Mountain Guest Farm, responded to this review

We find that many of our guests prefer not to have a TV in the rooms.

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had coffee and and pancakes, great pancakes. The coulis with the ice cream was very good too. But the most amazing thing about having coffee and pancakes at Over the Mountain is the view. It was a great stop to start the fantastic Montague mountain pass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VPVerwey
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

My friend and I booked in on the Saturday in preparation for the Karoo to Coast. The rooms were lovely furnished and the views stunning. We enjoyed a braai organised by the patrons for all their guests the evening and shared plenty a tale about mountain biking escapes. We had a great evening with all. We also enjoyed a bobotie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janmdev
Cape Town
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The guest house is old but clean has nice linen. We stayed in the post office, the walls are paper thin, could hear every word from next door and ended up having to whisper in order not to also be heard. It would have been nice if the management welcomed up on a cold and wet evening with a fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
Gerrit B, Owner at Over the Mountain Guest Farm, responded to this review

It is of paramount importance to us and we work hard to make sure that all our guests have a pleasant stay at Over the Mountain Guest Farm. We regret that it wasn't up to the Guest's expectation.

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We were a bunch of cyclist ariving 2 hours before they opened. Still they went out of their way to accomadate us. We had an excelent breakfast and awesome coffee. Will be difficult to ride past without stopping in the future 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaco K
Bellville, South Africa
Reviewed 27 July 2016

A lovely place seeped in history where the owners created a wonderful atmosphere in keep with this historic buildings. Although it was out of season and we were the only guests, we were treated with extra special meals. It was bitterly cold, so the bed warmers were a wonderful surprise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tannietryna
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Geyser was off when we arrived and took ages to warm up, rooms were freezing but three oil heaters were supplied to try and heat up, toilet leaked all over the floor and makes a noise all night. Bathrooms and decor out dated and impractical. Food was good and well served. Hosts were kind and interesting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bains320
Gerrit B, Owner at Over the Mountain Guest Farm, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that the Bain's family did not have the perfect stop over that most of our Guests have. The faulty toilet has been repaired.

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We were welcomed so warmly and our guests went out of their way to accommodate us. Then to top it all they spent time with us as we tried to piece together some history of the area. Thank you so much for this. We hope to be able to visit you again one day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrev979
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Even though it was a Sunday evening when we arrived - Sunday lunch being their busiest time - our hosts took every care that our needs were met - not easy as our catering needs ranged from Vegan to Banting! The food was delicious, the rooms warm and comfortable what more could a group of hikers ask for. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doreeng458
Cape Town
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Situated over the beautiful Oteniqua mountains, this little treasure is comfortable, spacious and warmly rustic. It was a perfect quiet getaway, and yet close to George and many tourist attractions in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samthurgood

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herold
12.4 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
46 reviews
0.0 km away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 57 in George
32 reviews
0.0 km away
Ibis Place Country House & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 57 in George
188 reviews
14.0 km away
Pine Lodge George
Pine Lodge George
#3 of 9 in George
124 reviews
18.8 km away
Surfari Accomodation & Venue
Surfari Accomodation & Venue
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Over the Mountain Guest Farm

Address: Main Road, Herold, George 6615, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George > Herold
Price Range: $53 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Over the Mountain Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Over the Mountain Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just had the pancakes and coffee”
 of 5 bubbles VPVerwey, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms depends on what you need. Tell the owner what you re requirements are and they could give u a description of availalibility. Some self catering which I prefer others just rooms with a veranda.”
 of 5 bubbles susandph, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay