We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 508: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
 Click to rate
Castleford
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Today myself and a colleague had a meeting here with a lady we were meeting for the first time. Upon walking in there were 2 staff members stood deep in their own conversation. We had a quick look around, not actually knowing who we were looking for, then headed to the toilet... when we came out we were quite obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JodieKeenan
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

For a small hotel with reasonable rates, the food and restaurant service was very well received. Spent two night and had two delicious evening meals. The restaurant staff were all friendly and helpful. Nothing too much for them. Very efficient. Rooms are basic but expected for the price. Bathrooms are nice and modern.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kariene345
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for 3 nights whilst down visiting family. On the 1st morning my 3 children had a long lie meaning we were not going to make the 9.30 breakfast cut off. I headed down to the restaurant about 9.15 to explain & ask if I could take some food back to the room for us all. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tremont1526
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Tremont1526 Thank you for your review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was fine and the food was great although it could of been cheaper. the staff were amazing and Pete, Amy, Charlie, Matt (squidward), clara, evie, Rebecca and the chefs were all incredibly welcoming, friendly and all had a blatant desire to put guests first. We had a power cut that effected the whole area which was dealt with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sam E
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Sam E. Many thanks for your kind review. I am pleased that my team made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon..

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with National Holidays. The evening meal was pretty awful, the soup was worse than hospital food. The bar was very expensive, £11.50ish for a beer and glass of wine! Staff hadn't a clue about anything! Reminded me of Fawlty Towers!! On a brighter note, the hotel room was great, despite sharing it with a fly... Good facilities, Would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sare-Jane
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Sare-Jane. We value our guest feedback so thank you for taking time to leave this. Our hotel is proud to be associated with several tour operators and I am very sorry to read about your experience at our hotel. The hotel prides itself in providing excellent service so I am disappointed to read that you did not receive this...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff absolutely wonderful and efficient. Particularly Sam doing his Irish coffees. Well done. See you again. Can't say much more about them. There was a wedding however, that the kids were a bit round but it was quiet enough in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe R
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Joe R Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield. I am very proud of my Team and will share your feedback with them all, especially Sam. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is worth every penny - staff friendly and warm, cosy hotel and rooms. Breakfast is tasty especially mushrooms - not boiled like some other hotels. Would definitely stay here again - so quiet and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracy W
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Tracy W I'm delighted you had a lovely stay at our hotel and thank you for taking time to leave us your review. Your feedback has been passed onto my Team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on Sunday the 22nd of January. My daughter in law dropped mine and my sons over night bag at the reception that morning for us as we were arriving late that night. The receptionist assured she would put our things in the room for when we arrived. When we arrived our luggage was missing with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AndyHarry25
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Hello AndyHarry25, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Leeds Wakefield M1 Junction 40, for your lodging needs in the area and taking the time to post a review and rating your stay. I would like to apologize if your stay was less than satisfactory as a result of inadequate service and misinformation as you had mentioned. Despite that, I...

Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Hotel was chosen for its location to my meeting and also being an IHG member. Check-in was pleasant and membership recognised. My room was spacious and clean all be it a little jaded (unlike the photos). My fault for booking a twin which means two singles, not queens. Other issues with the room, TV remote not working and no iron....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JPDKL
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear JPDKL Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield. Your feedback is valuable to us and will be shared with the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Rochford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I was lied to a check in about the room availability and it took me over 20 minutes to get through to room service...eventually I gave up and ordered in person interrupting my work. They do not respect loyalty through the IHG rewards programme at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pfiguy
SarahB190729, Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear pfiguy. Thank you for leaving feedback. I am sorry you experienced issues at check in and room service. I would ask you if you could contact the Hotel Operations Manager to discuss this further.

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.2 km away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
194 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
3.8 km away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
841 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
1.7 km away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Price Range: $78 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
banchory
over a year ago
banchory
over a year ago
banchory
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the very end of corridors seem to be quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 777Tracycw, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“IHG member”
 of 5 bubbles JPDKL, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Mike_P2468, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“every room seems quite,it is on a quiet road”
 of 5 bubbles blainscough, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The choice is yours; all very similar. Away from public rooms. (Wedding on but little noise).”
 of 5 bubbles Dormouse39, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5