We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Australian Sunrise Lodge

Expedia.comUS$49*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$107*
US$49*
Great Deal
US$51*
US$51*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Australian Sunrise Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Australian Sunrise Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Wyong, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Well, for 1 night in Sydney before flying it's very convenient. We booked a room with private bathroom, it was very clean but very small and very dated but this is Newtown on a budget. On the Main Street so every type of eatery imagineable is right outside the front door. Free WiFi in the lobby worked perfectly and although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MargL506
Zhaobo L, Owner at Australian Sunrise Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Margl506, thanks for your lovely feedback. We are glad you have a good stay with us, as we described we are budget hotel located at Newtown King ST, specially you can have fun at Sat &Sun here. We offer reasonable rates for all the guests, you do not need pay lots of money for accommodation for your travel, and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Stayed here for two nights with 2 friends in a Double room with private bathroom. For the rate is great to stay in funky-town Newtown. The beds is comfortable, the property is not that big hotel, but it is nice and clean, I decide to book this hotel the main point is good location and budget rates, you get what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anjun L
Zhaobo L, Owner at Australian Sunrise Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anjun, thanks for your lovely feedback, we are looking forward to see you soon. Have a good day!!!

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

I checked (or at least tried to) at about 7:45pm at night only to find the place completely deserted and just a giant locked iron door with a phone to call "reception" on. After using the phone to advise that I had arrived and would like to check in, I had to wait outside for about 20 minutes (and make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neko S
Zhaobo L, Owner at Australian Sunrise Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for you feedback!!! We are disappointed you had unwell stay with us, we are budget hotel in newtown and we offer lower rate than any HOTEL in Sydney. Please note SUN & MON we usually offer 79$ for the DOULBE ENSUITE, but FIR n SAT the rates are different like SUN to THUR, because every hotel does...

Canberra
Reviewed 13 August 2015

It is a very basic room and amenities but it is very affordable for inner Sydney. It is in the heart of funky Newtown with heaps of restaurants and boho shops and only 8 minutes by train to Central. Yes it is not on the harbour, but it has a cool Sydney vibe.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haggis_BJ
Zhaobo L, Owner at Australian Sunrise Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest: Thanks for your lovely comment, our hotel always be the best services all the time, we are pleasure to see you soon. Have a goo day!!!

New York
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with 2 friends in a triple room with bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was $298 for two nights but other options in Newtown were quite expensive. The room was clean and tidy but a bit small. It faced onto busy King Street and the blind was not blockout. I suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murtajewel
Zhaobo L, Owner at Australian Sunrise Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thanks for your lovely comment, we are 2 star hotel located in the heart of Newtown. We offer but rates to save more money for the guests. As guest described we are budge accommodation, it is great value to stay with us and have fun in funkey town newtown. Regards

Shoalhaven, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2015

We booked a room for 5 teenage girls who were going to a concert at the Enmore Theatre. It was perfectly placed, very clean although basic. But all we wanted was a good bed and clean bathroom which we got. Beds and linen were great. Quiet and we even had a room facing King st. Old decor but we only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 422jenniferj
Zhaobo L, Owner at Australian Sunrise Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your feedback, we are looking forward to see you again. Regards

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Not five star, nor does it pretend to be.. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient.. I have stayed here many times on business trips to Sydney and have never been disappointed. Great value in a funky place like Newtown. For the record, I'm 64 not 24.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graeme J
Zhaobo L, Owner at Australian Sunrise Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your feedback, we are looking forward to see you again. Regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

On arrival the staff member at the check in desk was very friendly & helpful. Check in was very prompt, we were given a room with a balcony and ensuite bathroom. The room itself was extremely small but had all the amenities you needed. The bathroom was tiny, the smallest bathroom I have ever seen! Even though the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClareL31
Reviewed 20 March 2015

I booked a room at this lodge and the day of the booking they call me to tell me that they have double booked the room very poor service on there behalf cause of that they have left me with nowhere to stay I would advice not to book here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blake P
Zhaobo L, Owner at Australian Sunrise Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We are sorry you had bad experience with us, due the busy season the PMS made error for the overbooked, We guarantee you this kind of issue won't happen again. I would like to offer you FREE accommodaton next time when you are booking, please directly contact our hotel to get your booking as a gift. Australian Sunrise...

Reviewed 4 February 2015

This is really a nice place to stay. We have been there for three weeks and the hospitality was awesome.The cleanliness of the rooms and the service was great. I would love to stay again we visit Sydney next time for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shrushrita S

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
447 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#45 of 175 in Sydney
636 reviews
Surry Hills
Central Private Hotel
Central Private Hotel
#49 of 62 in Sydney
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Newtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Newtown
A Bohemian inner-west suburb known for its alternative music scene, Newtown is a diverse community offering a multitude of restaurants, art galleries, performance spaces, thrift stores and bars. Home of some of the best live music venues in the city, shows can be found everywhere from the official theatres to the neighbourhood pubs. From its humble beginnings as a neighbourhood primarily known for its many Thai restaurants, Newtown has evolved into a foodie's paradise with a delightful array of highly innovative cuisines from around the world. It is still possible to eat on a budget, but if you crave a more sophisticated menu, Newtown will not disappoint.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Australian Sunrise Lodge is a budget accommodation in Newtown, we offer excellent hotel/motel rooms which is suitable for singles, couple, family or groups. Hotel offer bright sunny country style rooms, most with private bathroom and balcony look out over the LEAFY hotel garden. All rooms feature LCD Digital TV, Fridge, Microwave, Tea and Coffee making facilities and Internet access. Hotel offer FREE spring water or milk for all registered guests on arrival. Hotel is Nestled in the heart of Newtown, only 10 Minutes to Sydney CBD, Sydney Airport. Opera House bus at door, 5 mins to Newtown railway station, Enmore theater, RPA hospital, Sydney University, UTS, TAFE college... everything you need is here on 485 King Street, Newtown. Australian Sunrise Lodge will be pleased to see you soon, the hotel operates on a genuinely human scale, friendly personalised service, and one of the best locations in Inner Sydney Newtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Australian Sunrise Lodge

Address: 485 King St | Newtown, Newtown, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Newtown > Newtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Price Range: $62 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Australian Sunrise Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Australian Sunrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australian Sunrise Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Australian Sunrise Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Australian Sunrise Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room 16, it is good”
_G6300XX, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Back rooms seem best for a good quiet nights sleep and comfy beds”
shellm234, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“there are none”
rOtty2014, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“They said our room 22 was best in Hotel”
  • Room 22 top floor
  • Room 22 top floor
  • Room 22 top floor
  • View from Window of Room 22 top floor
ToniBee, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stay anywhere else in Newtown - at least you know what to expect.”
119becm, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$51
PricelineUS$51
AMOMAUS$107
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates