We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Principe Grand Samana

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2882)
Room & Suite (492)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Exclusive discounts!
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 all-inclusive in Punta Balandra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive discounts!
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,514 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in a stunning location, Bahia Principe Grand Samana is celebrated for its serene beach setting, ideal for guests seeking relaxation. While the hotel boasts very clean facilities and spacious rooms with ocean views, some visitors have encountered dated decor and room change issues. The service receives mixed reviews, with commendable staff interactions at times overshadowed by instances of slowness. Travelers are drawn to the calm atmosphere, yet the limited dining options due to closed amenities and the remote location's lack of nightlife have left some guests wishing for more. Opinions on value vary, with discrepancies noted in food quality and pricing.
Location
Remote
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Inconsistent
Cleanliness
Pristine
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Limited
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,514Review479Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,090
  • 286
  • 78
  • 33
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jana S wrote a review Yesterday
Burlington5 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
This was a beautiful vacation. The resort is very clean and nicely decorated. The view from the rooms is stunning. Very peaceful place. Everything is close by and the place is small. Food at the buffet was good and the fish fillets were great. Salad was always available and deserts were nice. The place is only at about 40% capacity so this is the reason not all restaurants and bars are open. There was always a place to eat or drink. A La Carte restaurant for lunch with catch of the day was amazing. Service staff was friendly. Beach is nice and clean. It is small but enough to get you tired swimming. Rooms are clean and nice with beautiful views. Bathtub could be improved. Jets in the bathtub do not work. The place is quiet and secluded so you cannot walk out of the resort. Entertainment is low key with live music at the bar every night. Jacuzzi at the spa does not work (only one jet). The gardens are beautiful and lots of birds . There was no snorkelling or water equipment so make sure to bring your own including life jacket if you need one. Last thing and I hope they change this is the almost all inclusive and asking for the room number for even a coffee or water when we purchased all inclusive. It’s annoying and make sure you know your numbers in Spanish lol . Overall it was a great vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure to select all inclusive because any food or restaurant outside of the resort is at...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cidbe wrote a review Oct 2023
Ontario, Canada11 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Loved this hotel. One of my favourite adults only hotels. Small, quaint. Very disappointed to learn that it is no longer an all inclusive. It's in the middle of no where. (which, was the attraction for me to begin with)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: This was my experience when it was an all inclusive.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded Nov 22, 2023
Dear guest We appreciate that you have chosen us as your vacation destination, as well as your comments and impressions about the pleasant experience you had during your stay in our hotel. Likewise, we offer you our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in our wonderful Caribbean paradise, our Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa. Always at your disposal, Annie Rijo Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Arshsahni wrote a review Apr 11
Oakville, Canada24 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
Fabulous small resort, amazing service, good food and enjoyed disturbance free small beach area without vendors!! All inclusive was excellente and samana is a great hilly place with fabulous beaches and waterfalls.. I really enjoyed my time here and would highly recommend this place!! Not a 5 star by any means but a high 4.5 stars!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded yesterday
Dear Arshahni We appreciate that you have chosen us as your vacation destination, as well as your comments and impressions about the pleasant experience you had during your stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for your recommendations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to our facilities. Kind regards Guest Realtions Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karine D wrote a review Apr 8
1 contribution
First experience in an all-inclusive resort and sadly was NOT all inclusive, we had to pay extra for a meal plan, all drinks were not included, we had to pay another extra to get some of the drinks free, about 15 out of the whole menu, and had to fight everytime because the staff didn’t know which drink was included… and had to fight again at the check out cause they charged us a couple drinks that we never took… Worst of all…. I came home with Bed bug bites on my leg !!!! Transportation from the airport was on time but so dangerous and scary … Nothing to do on the resort, no snorkeling, no activites, no dance… small beach, but very clean ! Food was okay but same menu everyday Waiters and waitress were very nice and friendly at least!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded yesterday
Dear Mrs. Karine We are deeply sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience at our resort. We appreciate your feedback and will take immediate steps to address your concerns regarding the service and amenities provided. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority, and we take your comments very seriously. We offer our apologies for any inconvenience or misunderstanding you experienced during your stay. We are committed to continually improving our services to ensure a positive experience for all of our guests in the future. Thank you for sharing your comments and for giving us the opportunity to improve. Kind regards Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Cayacoa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Al D wrote a review Mar 2024
Brooklin, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
Bahia Principe Grand Samana - perhaps our last visit (March 2024) Warning: long review ahead. We'll see if it gets cut short. FYI, My last word is 'suggestions?' This property is still the prettiest that we have found. Which is why we went back for (I believe) the 5th or 6th time. Enough to become 'Black level' Bahia Principe members. Whoopee. To be fair, we returned because we liked the staff and the 'good' aspects of the property, and forgave some of it shortcomings - nowhere is truly perfect after all, and we can live with various glitches. But sadly, this may have been our last time, unless some of the changes made, are reversed, and that is apparently not being considered. What's still good: Gorgeous building, sitting on the edge of Samana Bay. Just 150 rooms, so even if the hotel is fully booked, there is space on the beach and poolside chairs. And with so few guests, there is a good chance to meet nice strangers from foreign places. The views from most rooms, the buffet restaurant and the pool are fabulous. The hotel is rather isolated from others, which is good … or bad if you want to walk anywhere. Also good (to me) is the fact that there is no casino or night life around. To some, that may be a negative, but to the typical guest here, they are looking for a lack of craziness. The property is kept very clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. What was never great: The small beach has severe restrictions. If you want to go on long walks, the 300 meter (?) beach here will disappoint. But admittedly there is a sandy bottom to wade out in, and unless there has been a storm, the water is clear. If you have knee problems, or anything else that prevents you from using (a lot of) stairs, go elsewhere... seriously. The stairs also present a great opportunity for a nasty fall: when wet, the marble is slippery. And they're almost always wet, somewhere. So be careful, and have proper insurance. The newer annex (building "F") is right next to the road, so there is some traffic noise. But the special double doors cut that noise down rather well, and after 10-11PM there is hardly any traffic anyway. But while some people object to the noise, I am not one of them. The hotel is showing its age in several places, like the bathrooms in the older portions, and the jacuzzi. What has changed: The following has been discussed and verified with several co-guests. Repeat guests consistently expressed their dismay, and did not plan to return. But not only due to the 'Meal Plan' wrinkles that I first thought would upset many, but also with the removal of all entertainment. As SarahMarks09 wrote in a review Jan 2024: "Why did you do that?" and "You destroyed our second home". Dramatic, but true. Before we booked, and to our surprise, we learned that Bahia Principe was switching away from an 'all inclusive' model. So I inquired about the availability and costs of in-property lunches. Sadly, transparency was lacking in the responses. When finally the "Almost All Inclusive" was offered on the website, we decided to take the plunge and booked, hoping for the best… It turned out that lunches (for us) were 'included' as long as we chose from the Marked (**) lines of the limited snack bar menu. Drinks were included at "bar is open" times, but that had a cute aspect as well: no evening pool side bar, and no beach bar at ANY time. Changes indeed! At our first day's dinner, we noticed something that was extremely weird: not a single person was having a glass of wine. Not one. Wine could apparently be "had" at $58 per (full) bottle... a major and unwelcome change to the old all-inclusive method where wine was "all included'. Also, whenever we ordered a bar drink during the day, we needed to sign on an iPad to charge the room. If the ordered drinks (or lunch at the snack bar) were 'covered', there was no charge at the end of the stay. The (negative) point here is that we (and literally all guests we spoke to) prefer all-inclusive vacations because they want nothing to do with "where do we eat" and "paying out of pocket" for anything on their holiday. The "Almost All Inclusive" was an affront to that failed expectation. Almost universally, the sentiment was "Charge a bit more per week if you have to, but get rid of the iPads". It should be mentioned that the staff were equally unhappy with the pay-for situation. It takes away from the experience. Although we were offered 'advance restaurant booking (which did not work in the app) the 'Specialty Restaurants' were closed during our stay. That was a surprise - it may have been because the place was less than 50% booked (A new occupancy trend? I don’t know … yet). Perhaps that will change when they switch back to "All Inclusive" in April 2024. But chances are that you won't find out until you're there. Another strange situation: No snacks between meals for you! While I don't usually partake myself, many guests are used to nibble on something or other. But BP Grand Samana (notably, no longer 'Luxure Samana' - I should have paid more attention to that) decided to cut that out. Another few pesos saved? Also a surprise: the room mini bar is now stocked with … water only. No more soft drinks, beer, rum.. or peanuts. And no more clippers, bath robe, beds turned down, chocolate on the pillow … I suppose that's due to the loss of the Luxury" moniker. Anyway, enough about the meal plan, which was my own biggest fear caused by the uncertainty that resulted from lacking advance cost disclosures. The real horror, for us and other repeat guests, is the utter lack on entertainment. For years, we enjoyed the antics of the "animación" (entertainment) group. These guys and gals dreamed up daytime games for poolside and beach areas. Now, there was NONE of that, and from my discussions with management it appears there are no plan to bring that back. And that includes the after dinner shows like the Michael Jackson show, the Acrobats, Karaoke, etc etc that were attended by 50+ people around the pool. The result is that after dinner, couples went off to their rooms to play cards or watch TV. The lobby bar was mostly empty - maybe 4 to 6 stragglers when we looked. Literally nothing else to do 'downstairs'. Cayo Levantado is the Bahia Principe property located on the island that faces Luxury - pardon me- Grand Samana. We stayed there a few years ago. In the past, Luxury Samana guests were offered a free ferry over to the island beach. To the chagrin of several repeat guests, that ferry is now also history. Now available (I was told) at $100+ one-way. Gotcha! If the above paints a sad picture - believe me, it is not an exaggeration. And it pains me to write this - I really wanted this hotel to succeed. It was our favourite. But my wife said it best: There is no more … fun, and the place has lost its soul. Instead of a starred resort, it is now (only) a nice looking hotel by the bay, with a single small pool and unimpressive beach. Why why why? What we suspect is this: management (in Samana, or more likely Palma de Mallorca) has fallen for the sweet siren song of some MBA who guided them to improve the bottom line by saving costs and cutting services. In my own experience, that mostly leads to great savings that result in zero customers. I predict it WILL fail in Samana, too. Clearly, management has the right, even a duty, to make changes that improve their business. Of course for a vacation resort, guest comfort and enjoyment should come first, or financial goals will not be achieved. Experimenting with established methods is a dangerous game. How can they overcome that? In our opinion, not without a return to their old standards. But that is wishful thinking. So out of necessity, we will be looking for a new favourite place. Because we suspect that BP Grand Bahama will not last too long if they stay on the current path. Finally: I had a sit-down with the "assistant" manager before we left. She was very friendly and accommodating, thanked me for the feedback, but gave no assurances that they plan to make any of the changes that I suggested. She did indicate the upcoming return to "All Inclusive", however my recent experience with transparency has me questioning what that even means for this property. Certainly, she made it clear that entertainment is not under consideration. My guess is that new guests will still come, based on the brochures and old reviews. They may just not come BACK. OK this is the longest review I've written in my life, and I know it's kinda negative. But that is really because I care so much for this vacation spot. Will we ever return? Sadly, not likely given the stripped-down conditions. Will I get a response? If so, I hope it's not Annie Rijo's old and worn: " Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the departments involved so that corrective action can be taken on the points you mention to avoid these types of incidents with future guests." Does anybody care to offer comments for a new favourite place: small, friendly, all inclusive? Does not need to be in the Dominican Republic. Many guests are looking. Any suggestions?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. In relation to the comments in your review, we offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the departments involved so that corrective action can be taken on the points you mention in order to avoid these types of incidents with future guests. We appreciate your contribution to the continuous improvement of the quality of the services we offer to our guests. Your comments always help us to improve. Best regards, Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
beajolley wrote a review Mar 2024
Toronto, Canada42 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
This area is gorgeous and there were whales swimming past where we ate breakfast. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, as is the pool. Our room was spacious and comfy, though it was a little worn. This place is perfect for a very relaxed holiday reading by the pool. Not much of a nightlife and the location is very remote so you’re mostly on the resort. Food options are quite limited and not included in the package. They offered us fairly expensive addition for meals but thankfully our booking company, Air Transat offered us an addition of $100 for all of the meals and some drinks that was worth it. Kind of annoying, and the prices in the gift shop for sunscreen are outrageous. It didn’t have the feeling that I was really at an all inclusive when we had to worry about food, but the staff were lovely and it was an amazing place to be. The food was fine, though i found the lunch restaurant would leave something out of my order or take a very long time to make our food. It felt like they were running on slim margins but doinf their best. Our wifi wasn't working when we first arrived and we were starving and it took a lot to get food, but overall we really enjoyed our time. Learn some Spanish, it will really help you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: See if you can find a better deal for additional meals, definitely learn some Spanish words for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Danielle Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and for your comments and impressions about the pleasant experience you had during your stay at our hotel. Likewise, we offer you our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Kind regards Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roam158189 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Beautiful location and nice but small beach. Food and drink needs improvement. We've been to better Bahia resorts Food and drink: -Too little choices, in a week time you'll repeat the meals. -À la carte meal for lunch with limited options at no extra cost for almost all inclusive package was inconvenient -No snacks available between mains meals -If you need coffee in between meals, no way you can get one until 4pm when lobby bar opens! -Dinner starting at 7pm is a bit late -Check out at noon, no more food after that. We had to pay late check out in order to have lunch. We arrived at 8:30pm and left at 4:30pm, not even a full 24 hour cycle. Even so, we weren't granted lunch for free. First time this happens in our 15 years going South. -Annoying the fact that you have to sign for every single drink you have, even a soda! Pool Water paddles here and there and we've seen people slipping and falling due to that
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination, as well as for your comments about our views and services, All your comments and suggestions are very important to us, thank you for offering us the opportunity to learn through your survey. We are definitely committed to improve the details that our guests let us know in order to improve our service every day. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Bahia Principe Grand Samana. Best regards Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kristin L wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
There are NO restaurants, entertainment or beach bar open until April 1st, and you find that out upon arrival when you ask. The buffet looks like food that would be served at a prison, no exaggeration. Terrible service, waiters are unaware and bartenders struggle to make drinks with multiple people working on making 1 drink while customers wait way too long to be served. The staff complained to us they are working 12+ hours and the exhausted team reflects in the horrific service. The one “restaurant” open by the pool is similar to food you’d get a bowling alley- frozen pizza’s etc. This trip was the only time I’ve ever gotten extremely sick in DR, could be bad luck, but probably wasn’t, considering the hair found laying across the dessert. The beach looks like a junk yard with the highway noise behind you and broken down kayak’s, crates and junk all around. You pay for drinks and lunch with an all inclusive package. The bartender decided to randomly start charging us double for the same drink we’d ordered every night- when we noticed, she said she gave us doubles. We never asked for doubles, nor was it a double. They are not only disappointing but also scammers. The lounge chairs by the beach were few and dirty. Absolutely nothing to do at night, no entertainment aside from a few nights they had a singer with an iPad. It’s so secluded you wouldn’t want to leave the property, so you’re stuck in complete isolation with nowhere to go except for the same series of chairs on the deck, night after night. The rooms were clean and beautiful but that’s where the positives end. Would never go back! Not one to complain or care much about food on vacation, but this was exceptionally horrible. This is a 2 star hotel claiming to be 5. Go to Iberostar Bayahibe instead!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Three hour car ride from SDQ- not worth it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest We are sorry to hear that our new modality did not meet your expectations. In relation to your review, we offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the departments involved so that corrective action can be taken on the points you mention in order to avoid these types of incidents with future guests. We appreciate your contribution to the continuous improvement of the quality of the services we offer to our guests. Your comments always help us to improve. Kind regards Gest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Khrystyna P wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My boyfried and me spend our last vacation in the Bahia Principe Grand Samana and it was absolutely unforgettable experiece I wish sincerely eveone can do. The hotel exceeded our expectations. On the one hand a very nice building, on the other hand extremely clean and cosy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A special thank you to the manager Haindra, who always took good care of us. A super large selection of good food: there is something for everyone: meat, fish, vegetarian dishes, fruit and vegetables. As soon as we have the opportunity, we would love to go on holiday there again. In addition, the surroundings of Samana are an absolute dream, a paradise on earth.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to bring dollars with you in cash. Bank charges or convertion to pesos involves high bank...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at Bahia Principe Grand Samana, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the great variety in our cuisine, quality and service received from our staff, especially from reception. We are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations and made your stay memorable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eli C wrote a review Mar 2024
Quebec City, Canada16 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
I’ve visited this hotel from March 2nd till the 9th on a solo trip. Rooms were lovely and the AC worked well. I booked a superior room with ocean view which was absolutely worth it. The staff was awesome. Special thanks to the waiters/waitresses who worked at the buffet in the morning and at “Las Olas“ for lunch. They were all very sweet and welcoming. Another thank you for the girls who work at the lobby bar. Their service was impeccable. The beach is gorgeous, chairs are always available. There are a lot of waves! Pool was great too, super quiet and the view from there was beautiful. Overall food was good. However, I thought 20usd for the lunch buffet was quite expensive. If you’re only a little hungry and/or would like a snack, there are no options available so you have no choice but to pay the full amount. Otherwise, prices for the a la carte lunch and for drinks were reasonable. Portions were huge! It is a very quiet resort, there is not a lot of entertainment. It would be awesome if the sunset bar was opened during the evening. It was fun to sit in that area but the bar would be a great addition. All areas of the resort were kept very clean and the views are truly gorgeous. On the last day, a worker entered my room at 7:30 am. I thought this was a bit weird considering how early it was in the morning and it was not someone from the cleaning staff. Therefore, I am unsure of why someone would come into my room that early?! Besides that, I loved my experience and would probably return once it becomes an all-inclusive again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Rijo, Propietario at Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Elisabeth Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination, as well as for your comments about our location and view of our facilities, the quality of service received from our staff, the variety and taste of our cuisine. We are glad that we have exceeded your expectations and made your stay memorable. On the other hand, we would like to inform you that we have taken note of your suggestions and they will be taken into account for the improvement of our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards Guest Relations Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Punta Balandra area.
PRICE RANGE
C$168 - C$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grand Bahia Principe Samana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSamana ProvincePunta Balandra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
149
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Bahia Principe Grand Samana - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Samana
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
Nearby attractions include Samana Bay (7.3 km), Tainopark (7.1 km), and Cayo Levantado (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant-bar Moreno Y Ruth, Cayo Levantado. ( Isla Bacardi) en Samaná., Le Royal Snack Bar & Restaurant, and La Hacienda Grill & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Samana have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Samana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Principe Grand Samana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Samana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.