We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms

Booking.comUS$107*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Arms
 Click to rate
Elstree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At first I was surprised by the latish check in of 3pm but when we arrived a little early we were let in as soon as the room was ready. There is no parking and finding the sister hotel where we could park caused some angst but having done that it was an easy walk back to the Kings Arms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rolinuk1
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hello rolinuk1 Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review for us. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that your breakfast was both generous and gorgeous. As for our spontaneously singing waitress - we aim to start everyone's day off on the right note! We look forward to welcoming you again when you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I decided on a roast dinner, not had one before here. Sat at my table, waiting for quite a while and a table of six that came in after me where served first. I wasn't asked if I would like a drink, just sat there like a lemon. Eventually I had to get up to ask someone. When I explained,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Joanna K We're sorry to hear of the mix up at the beginning of your meal - this certainly shouldn't have happened and you should have been attended to immediately. We can only apologise. We're sure you'd agree that reaction to food is a very subjective thing and whereas you weren't happy with the way your roast was presented...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

AVERAGE. Don't get your hopes up ! Great location. Lovely atmosphere nice welcome. I love Berkhamsted. Very average food with very little taste and flavour which was very disappointing. Berko has some amazing restaurants but this was not my favourite. Sorry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee B
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Aimee B Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - we welcome all feedback as it is a means of us improving ourselves. We're sorry to hear you had a disappointing meal with us - definitely not what we like to hear. All our dishes are made with locally sourced, fresh produce and so the taste...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed whilst attending a party locally. We had room 3 which was over the main bar and a lovely size. The only issue to be aware of is that some of the rooms, like this one, are facing the high street so you do get quite a lot of noise from locals leaving other venues but this didn't affect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvieC
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi YvieC We thoroughly agree with you that room 3, one of our character suites, is absolutely lovely and we're pleased to hear you appreciated it. We do understand that it can be a little noisy at times but The Kings Arms is situated in a busy town and comes with all the associated hustle and bustle. There isn't a...

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely pub with a big open fire, friendly staff and really clean establishment. Will definitely return for a drink and a meal. Actually attended a special event so didn't have time today eat. Would totally recommend the Kings Arms and look forward to returning for a meal sometime soon. Please click below if you found this review helpful. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathinski
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Cathinski Thanks for taking the time to write us a great review. We're pleased to hear you were impressed with your first visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you can sample our extensive menu. Regards Aaron and The Kings Arms Team

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

A lovely find! Good reception and fab food. We would recommend it to everyone and hope to go back soon. We had a luscious Bloody Mary followed by a few specials and a main, soup was fantastic and the selected wines rounded up the whole experience !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Rosie H, Thanks for the fab review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! All the best, George and The Kings Arms Team

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Visited for dinner, no trouble getting a table even though we hadn't booked. Was pretty noisy, music was competing with a couple of large family groups, including obviously bored, restless children. Otherwise the ambience would have been fine. The staff were good, friendly and efficient. The food was very good, quite large portions, we both really enjoyed it. My wife's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cascboss
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi cascboss, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us - we do aim to please. Our apologies for the noise but children will be children, we all loved to be a bit loud when we were younger did we not. We look forward to seeing you again soon....

Kent
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We were really impressed with every aspect of our stay at the Kings Arms. The rooms was large, well furnished - raw silk curtains, full length mirror, mini fridge etc and the bathroom was fully equipped with great little touches like conditioner and flannels (why don't more places provide flannels???). The shower was great too. Photos don't do it justice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manxlynn
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi manxlynn, Thank you so much for your kind review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay (we agree with you about the flannels - they're a must!) We hope to see you again soon, you can even try something from our new Spring/Summer menu which will be going live in the next few weeks! All the best, George and...

Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed here as part of a birthday celebration with some friends. Ideal location on the High Street and not far from the restaurant we were visiting. The only downside was lack of parking, but we did get parking at their sister hotel 5 mins up the road. Not ideal but parking was free. The room was good, lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean K
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Dean K, Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you found our prime location so appealing. Parking in Berkhamsted is always a bit of a nightmare so we consider ourselves very fortunate that The Penny Farthing team allows our guests to use their car park. In regards to the mini bar we shall take your...

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

A group of us went in for an early supper. I had a pizza from their great pizza oven installed last year. Thin and crispy where it should be, yet soft and tasty in the middle, also as it should. Good service and good wine choice too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
OISite, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Paul R, Thanks for the review, aren't our pizza chefs the best! We hope to see you again soon for a glass of wine. All the best, George and The Kings Arms Team

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.5 km away
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
115 reviews
5.0 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
384 reviews
6.4 km away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
402 reviews
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
470 reviews
7.4 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms Hotel is a fine dining restaurant, boutique hotel and bar. Recently refurbished this historical building has been modernised offering quality in all departments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Price Range: $145 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay here!!”
Heather1702, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 15 for a family”
holibobsue, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Over priced drinks, it's berko not london..”
Johnmarcrich, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We didn't actually use the Hotel so I can't comment on it. Definitely recommend the food though!”
sheenas443, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would be quiet I think. Front rooms well apointed”
elainem369, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$107
PricelineUS$107
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates