We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (10)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“ivy cottage”(8 reviews)
“manu bay”(11 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Kitchenette
Family Rooms
Business Centre
2 Star Hotel
YHA Raglan, Solscape makes for a relaxing retreat overlooking the surf. Diverse eco accommodations from beautifully simplistic to luxurious with options to suit all budgets - each lightening our ecological footprint. Our self-contained options offer a comfortable stay with private...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
611 Wainui Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
45.2 km to Hamilton Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
83
69
37
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
83
69
37
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsivy cottagemanu bayunique experienceoverlander trainan amazing viewcommunal kitcheneco retreatyoga classesmain campvegan breakfastdouble bedoverlooking the oceansustainable livingsurf beachgood vibesbeautiful placelong weekend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a relaxing retreat staying in an eco batch- not very comfortable, no storage for clothes so had to live out of my suitcase, very poor lighting, gas hob old and not in good working order, push down plug in bathroom sink not...More

Thank cesunnyvale
Response from SolscapeNZ, Front Office Manager at SolscapeResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, your feedback is most appreciated and valued, and we are addressing now the issues you have raised here regarding your guest experience. We offer our sincere apologies.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Amazing space, area. Fun cabins. We had one of the more expensive rooms and there was no soap in the shower...The cafe was also separate from the room thus had to pay two bills. The vegan breakfast was incredible. Would go back for that!

Thank Edit H
Response from SolscapeNZ, Front Office Manager at SolscapeResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Solscape and our cafe's vegan breakfast! Your feedback is most appreciated and valued.

Reviewed May 7, 2018

Very accommodating as we arrived in super late but they left a key out for us. Great caboose to stay in with hot water bottles and extra blankets for the cool evenings. The facilities are thoroughly cleaned and each and every staff member was friendly...More

Thank Marina T
Response from SolscapeNZ, Front Office Manager at SolscapeResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Solscape and hope you return sometime in the future.

Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

The campsite is in a beautiful setting and has gorgeous sea views. The reason for an average review is that the facilities provided are a little substandard compared to similarly priced campsites. No dump station, no taps to fill up water tanks on campers and...More

Thank Jacqui J
Response from SolscapeNZ, Front Office Manager at SolscapeResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, your feedback on your guest experience is most appreciated and valued. We are currently addressing the issues you have raised.

Reviewed April 14, 2018

Such a cool spot to spend a couple days relaxing, doing yoga, or surfing!! A great vibe that attracts really great travelers. The dorms are set up in old campers, which gives a really unique experience! The top bunk is a little close to the...More

Thank kkaatt41
View more reviews
About
Description
YHA Raglan, Solscape makes for a relaxing retreat overlooking the surf. Diverse eco accommodations from beautifully simplistic to luxurious with options to suit all budgets - each lightening our ecological ...More footprint. Our self-contained options offer a comfortable stay with private facilities for couples, families or small groups. For those happy to share facilities take your pick from recycled railway cabooses and earth domes or experience glamping in our Tipi Forest Retreat set in native bush. The Te Ao Whanga Eco Camp provides a limited number of tent and van sites with solar heated showers and an indoor-outdoor kitchen. Less
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marion075
September 20, 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bruce S | Reviewed this property |
I believe the answer above by Toroa to be correct. We walked bye these Domes and essentially they are just a bedroom with a reading or meditation area. Check out Solscape's website.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Close to surf beaches, yoga, restaurant, and surf camp on site"
Read review
"The Cafe is an incredible adventure into Plant Based Foods. Absolutely delicious!"
Read review
"Caboose dorms are great value but for a bit more you can get a 2/3 person one"
Read review
"The Kabous is probably the best option or the bigger tents."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing