We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howards Mountain Lodge

TravelocityUS$63*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$63*
Great Deal
US$64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howards Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Great location and easy walk to local restaurants. Self catering kitchens great and the two lounges well stocked with fire wood . Friendly staff who rang us before we arrived and arranged for our room key and room to be open for us . A great base for skiing in winter and tramping in spring or summer ..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John K
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and good to know you had a good time with us. Hope to see you again soon, perhaps the crossing this summer would be to your liking ?

Reviewed 29 August 2015

Howards Mountain Lodge was by far our favourite palce to stay in New Zealand. The staff were really helpful, they live there, and work hard each day to keep the wood chopped, fire warm and everything clean. There was a free private spa, great kitchen area, and awesome community area with with a pool table, cable TV, free movies, games,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zane J
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Very kind of you to choose us as your favourite stay. Always fun for us to have cheerful people like yourselves around the place as well. Perhaps you could try the crossing in summer as well ?

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Everyone was friendly helped our group with all gear hire and transport to and from mountain. Warm fire place which was maintained 24/7, close to everything such as the pub and mountain, very clean, comfy, great for groups, hot water that didn't run out after 8 girls had a shower, great location and great people.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlott_Cou
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Always a good thing that the hot water lasts and I'm happy to say it - usually - does. Still plenty of snow here if you want to give it another shot this winter.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Great location for skiing at Whakapapa. Grant and Rita were very helpful with the rental of the skiing equipment, booking tours for us e.g. Tongariro Crossing as well as to extend our stay (we had to extend for two days). Both are very easy to deal with. The rooms itself are simple but very clean. Although the bathroom is shared,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Theresa S
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Glad the extra days worked out for you and made the trip even better. Thanks for taking the time to post your review and your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.

NZ
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Clean, basic, warm room. Amenities clean, showers ggod, expensive wifi, location great for skiing and close to a few cafes and bars. Nice warm lounge with fire going. 200 charcters is too long as a min

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helenhpf
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. Good news is that wi fi is now FREE, National Park finally leaps into the 21st century. It's a load of our plates as well I assure you !

Thailand
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

worst motel throughout my life, rude and disgusting staff, please don't come, i am going to lodge a complain to the authority or police for the rudeness, disgusting and threatening service. i come in with a group of friends, so i am not sure wht had been converse between staff and my friend, and i came in early to check...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Wong Li Y
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

It's never pleasant to hear comments like yours but your own behaviour is the root of the problem. Being a paying guest is not a lciense for you to behave however you like. Far from arriving'early' as you say you were in fact here at 11.20 pm. At that point you began banging on our door (annoying but OK) as...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Great place to stay, best staff that made us feel welcomed! Highly recommend this place, apart from Grant & Rita, the other lady working there was super helpful, feel bad we forgot her name! We definetly looking forward to visit again soon! Williams family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne_Williams_Snow
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking then time to post a review. Always good to hear people had a good time with us and in the area. You'll be happy to know it's been nothing but more snow since you left and it goes on (and on) even as I type. That said, we hope to see you ehre again soon.

Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Lodge is located in an ok spot and it was very clean. That's all the positive things about the lodge. The owner isn't that friendly and terrible to deal with. The room was so dim that in the evening we had to use our phone flashlight. The lodge is so badly built that we could hear noises from all the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Aini Matilda A
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We accept that we didn't show you around when you arrived but please accept this was due to a "child crisis" behind the scenes and that normally you would have been given a tour. You should be a bit more honest though. You left after one night becasue (A)...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I think this place is fine to stay for one night, but I had to stay an extra night and do the crossing the next day because of bad weather. I wouldn't stay here longer than a day. Here are the cons I found: - very cold rooms. Only a bed warmer is provided to keep guests warm (no central...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah L
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I'm sorry you didn't like your stay with us but I must put you right about a few of your comments. It is unfair to say our charging for wifi is 'greedy'. Believe me that we are not sitting around here rolling in our wads of wi-fi cash. This is not...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Cute and cosy place to have a get-away-weekend. It is easy to do the walks when you can rent everything from the lodge. The staff is really friendly and helpful and flexible with breakfast hours :) Thank you! /Ann-Marie

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annmarie464

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.7 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,521 reviews
13.1 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
424 reviews
25.7 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
493 reviews
0.3 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
246 reviews
0.4 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: $62 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howards Mountain Lodge New Zealand/National Park Village
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howards Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the ensuite rooms , great value”
, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“book direct and ring with questions- there are more options than the website suggest.”
stuarto556, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loft rooms are great for bigger groups own a budget”
PhiliJSoul, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor in main building, mountain view!”
marcusJ965, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed over a quiet period, I would bring ear plugs during busy season as the outside doors were hard to shut quietly :)”
mrskask, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$63* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$64
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$63
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates