We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Villa Tarentaal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Villa Tarentaal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Villa Tarentaal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 230: English reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

My husband, our 3-year old son & myself stayed in the Fish Eagle cottage for 4 days. We were so lucky with the beautiful weather & got to enjoy scenic Tulbagh to the fullest, but were just as grateful for the fireplace on our last night, when it was cold & misty outside, yet cozy & romantic inside. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Marilyn B Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Berenice and Theresa must get full credit for taking such good care of you in my absence. The fire places in each cottage are wonderful for creating heat, as well as that cozy atmosphere. Thank you for noticing the attention to detail. Look forward to...

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Nicely tucked away with beautiful views . Excellent service. So ever helpful. Gorgeous and comfortable stay . Lovely nights spent by the fireplace in a beautiful suite . everything was perfect from the time we arrived to the time we left. Thank you everyone at Villa Tarentaal for your awesome hospitality 😄

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine M
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Justine M Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are lucky to have been able to assemble such a great team, able to work together to make sure our guests get great service and the very best stay possible. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Graham

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My sister, niece and I spent 4 days at Blue Crane Cottage, Villa Tarentaal. From the welcome by Brandi and her 2 dogs, we felt immediately at home. The cottage is so tastefully furnished, and we all felt delightfully spoilt and pampered. We had 4 choices for breakfast, which is served in the cottage. All I can say about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatherineAnna
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening KatherineAnna Thank you for taking the time to review Villa Tarentaal. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, our tastefully furnished cottages, and those awesome breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you in the future! Graham

Matjiesfontein
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Tarentaal on a cold winter day. With the wonderful fireplace and friendly staff it was no problem. Beautifully finished accommodation and breakfast served on the verandah....pure bliss. I forgot my coat in their cupboard the next day and the owner went out of his way to deliver it to me the next week. We will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L4683MVsandrap
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening L4683MVsandrap Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to that return visit! Graham

Langebaan
Reviewed 3 June 2016

I spend one night at Villa Tarentaal .The only complaint I have is that the 2nd bedroom does not have a dressing table or mirror. Otherwise very comfortable and a fabulous breakfast is served on you own patio by a couple of smiling and very attentive ladies. The position of this establishment is very peaceful and a longer stay would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sportsbunny
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Sportsbunny Thank you for taking the time to review Villa Tarentaal. Sorry about no dressing table the room you were in is usually used by children as it is the second bedroom in the family cottage. There is a full size mirror on the inside of the closet door. Breakfast here is always an event, and we are...

Cape Town
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Two couples stayed in two separate cottages (Fish Eagle and Blue Crane), which were very comfortable and tastefully furnished with all mod cons. We were warmly welcomed by Graham Hunter and later met his wife Brandi.Graham took our orders for breakfast; a choice of four different breakfasts. If the weather had been kinder, we would have been served breakfast on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Veronica W Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Breakfast here has become an event, we are glad you enjoyed it even though you were inside due to the weather. Looking forward to your next stay and lets hold thumbs for some good weather. Graham

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Being very tall it was therefore fantastic to find country accommodation with a king bed and very spacious rooms and shower room and very tasteful decor. Extremely welcoming owners and staff very concerned about their clients well being. The breakfast outside with stunning morning views of the mountains was excellent. Highly recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidBo48
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening DavidB048 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a good experience, and that you are confident in recommending us to others. Look forward to your next visit. Graham

Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

I would highly recommend Villa Tarentaal to anyone. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage. It was a really lovely cottage, but what made it special was all the little touches. There were flowers everywhere, plenty of toiletries and an excellent supply of tea, filter coffee, sugar and milk. The grounds and views from the patio were stunning. The hosts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonKaren103
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening SimonKaren103 Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We go out of our way to add special touches. Thank you for noticing them all. We are fortunate to have a good staff that enjoy working with us and the many guests that stay here. We are glad to have been a part of your special occasion! Until...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Wow, Villa Tarentaal is in a beautiful location. We felt relaxed and so well looked after. Our room, the Swallow Suite, was incredible and my wife and I both agree it was the best room that we stayed in in our four honeymoon destinations. Graham was incredibly attentive, he even had our car washed for us after it had been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank H7250BBdanielv
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening H7250BBdanielv Trust the two of you had a wonderful honeymoon and made memories for a lifetime! Thank you both for taking the time to write a review. The Peacock suite otherwise known as our Honeymoon suite is a favourite amongst many who use it. We are glad it was one of yours as well. You should try it...

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Great hosts and staff, stunning views, comfortable neat rooms and delicious breakfasts! Our small family went on a road trip through the Western Cape in December 2015/Jan 2016. We stayed in a number of B&B's/guest houses/ hotels - all rated between 3 and 5 stars. Some were good, some bad, most were adequate - but Villa Tarentaal is our pick...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amvisser2016
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Amvisser2016 Thank you for such glowing review! For taking the time to share your experience. We strive to make sure every guest that passes through our doors, leaves the way you did. We are fortunate to have a great team. Look forward to having you all back in the future! Graham

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.6 km away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
288 reviews
3.8 km away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
1.0 km away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
585 reviews
1.9 km away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
47 reviews
1.3 km away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#6 of 19 in Tulbagh
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers boutique style accommodation, every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, breakfast served to you at your cottage each morning, and extreme hospitality. Our three private cottages offer space to relax. All cottages are equipped with kitchenettes, living areas, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions and aircon. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest and the most unique bed and breakfast in Tulbagh! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Price Range: $132 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Tarentaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Villa Tarentaal staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Villa Tarentaal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for rooms that have full mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles ght1948, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fish Eagle cottage was in a separate building attached to another cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles Skyfall_Ryan, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fish eagle room very luxurious”
 of 5 bubbles roslynn563, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good, be it for one person or a family. Quiet and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles KatherineAnna, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All cottages are private and each has its own garden.”
 of 5 bubbles veronicaw803, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5