We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rijks Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rijks Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rijks Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Beautiful vistas, excellent accomodation with very comfortable bed, lovely spacious bathroom (with separate toilet ). Very friendly staff and very good breakfast .sitting on the terrace...so nice to have a platter delivered to your table with muesli , yoghurt , cheeses, meats and fresh fruit kebabs etc rather than getting up and down to a buffet table. Only thing we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennyapples
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Jennyapples Thank you for sharing your experience of Rijk's Country House with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the breakfast was the best you experienced in South Africa. I am saddened however that dinner was dissapointing. Our menu is seasonal in order to ensure that the ingredients used are at their peak. We have...

Ireland
Reviewed 19 February 2017

This was our second visit to Rijks and we will visit on our next trip too. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are big and a renovation of the guest rooms started on the day we left. I hope they don't make too many changes, as we loved the rooms exactly as they were. Big, cool with a fabulous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl7
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear holidaygirl7 It is always lovely to have people return to Rijk's. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here a second time. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Rijk's Country House Hotel for 3 nights. Comfy, well-appointed rooms and friendly, helpful staff, especially Zondre, who couldn't do enough for us, including setting up a lovely picnic in the garden and driving us to town for dinner. Very good breakfast and an all together enjoyable stay, despite the brown water in the rooms due to "tannins" in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewDAM
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear AndrewDAM Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Rijk's Country House. It is always wonderful to hear, when a member of staff goes the extra mile for a guest - well done Zondre! We are looking forward to welcomming you back - hopefully soon.

Angmering
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We went for a light lunch and to taste some wine. The open sandwich and Blt caught our eye and we ordered. The maitre de had said due to a group of 14 food was a little slow but he would organise matters for us which he duly did. We wine tasted at the table by ordering different glasses of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Steven M Thank you for your lovely review of Rijk's Country House. I am so pleased that we could exceed your expectations and enhance them even more with the wines produced on the estate.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We spent a lovely evening at the hotel. The room's are very spacious, beds very comfortable and room amenities sufficient. The dinner we had was okay, but with room for improvement... The breakfast was decent. I really liked the concept of the cold breakfast platter. Some of the staff are not to clued up on the surrounding areas - it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catharina_Mi
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear carien_heunis Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our new breakfast concept. We have quite a number of new staff that have joined us so they are still learning the area but will be well aquainted shortly.

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We ate dinner here last week. We phoned to book and were told they only had tables at 6 or 8 p.m. We reluctantly went for 6. On arrival there was no one else there and indeed tables were free until we left at about 8.15. What was all that about? The meal was ok, nothing amazing. When we asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winrod50
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Winrod50 Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant. The reason why we allocate times to tables is to ensure that you as the guest has a smooth and special dining experience. As the other time slots were already booked, the only two slots available were 18h00 or 20h00. This is not a new...

Berrynarbor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights, good welcome by the staff, shown around and to our room, which was a good size, one thing another reviewer mentioned was the artificial plastic type wood effect floor, it was very odd. We wanted to go for a swim as it was very hot when we arrived, but they had been cutting the grass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamly
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear jamly Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the property. Our breakfast includes the patter which is delivered to your table as well as a hot option as well. This is clearly stated on the menu. Sorry about the pool, but the gardeners were busy trimming the grass and cannot trimm and clean the pool...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 28 January 2017

A country hotel with so much potential but the restaurant is a huge disappointment. Staff friendly and helpfull but the tables and ambience outside is really outdated. Food bland and below average. Will recommend to stay but definitely not eat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine J
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Nadine J Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am not sure what you mean when you refer to outdated ambience? You were here for a late lunch. People were leaving the restaurant already as they had finished eating. You ordered a greek salad without any dressing - it will be bland!

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

No idea why but who cares. Our cabin was huge, well furnished ( two bedrooms)separate toilet and bathrooms and just perfect. Wonderful views, super staff and lovely grounds. Everyone deslt extremely well with a power cut that lasted 10 hours yet faiked to ruffle any feathers. Meals/breakfasts were huge, too big actually and it's for that reason I'm downgrading them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithf50b
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear keithf50b Thank you for your review. It was wonderful having you stay with us and been able to spoil you with a compllimentary upgrade - because we can! Looking forward to having you stay again.

Cheshire
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Lovely situation with beautiful views. Great welcome. Spacious rooms, cannot understand previous reviewer saying rooms are tired, they are lovely! Beautiful grounds and pool. Breakfasts and dinners excellent with great service. We were only there 2 nights but will definitely stay longer on our next trip to South Africa! Thanks to everyone for a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RODNEYANDPAT
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear RODNEYANDPAT Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back.

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulbagh
26.3 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
278 reviews
1.8 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
635 reviews
2.4 km away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
1.5 km away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
2.3 km away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the beautiful Tulbagh valley, this exquisite four star country house offers travellers and day visitors an exceptional experience in both service and facilities with remarkable attention to detail and a graceful elegance. Rijk's Country House is situated on the eminent Rijk’s Wine farm, home to Rijk’s Private Cellar, five minutes from the centre of Tulbagh. High trees and an abundance of Iceberg roses welcome you onto the Estate from where you can see hills of vineyards set against the Obiqua and Winterhoek Mountains. Restored Cape Dutch style buildings are the frame-work within which you will experience classic furnishings and a warm and relaxed ambiance. Should you wish to sample or purchase wines from the Estate, enjoy the Polo wine bar and tasting room where visitors can sit around a large restored wooden table, or outside on the terrace with its incredible views of the valley. Otherwise, relax in the charming lounge where you will find a library of reading materials and a cosy fireplace. International and traditional cuisine coupled with impeccable service can be enjoyed in the hotel’s intimate restaurant, Que Sera, or at a high table in the private dining area, Mon Ami. Alternatively, the outside Iceberg terrace is the perfect place to relax whilst having a decadently large cup of coffee, a glass of wine or dining al-fresco overlooking the dam or under the stars. Luxury and Superior rooms and Family Cottages - evident of innovative design and stylish fittings – have their own private terrace overlooking a river - along which you will find a swimming pool, braai and lapa area, the French game of boules and hundreds of beautiful roses. In the evenings you can sit on your terrace and watch the sun set behind the surrounding mountains, leaving the vineyards and trees silhouetted by a brilliant pink and orange sky. Picnic on the banks of the river or enjoy a romantic walk through the vineyards and rose gardens. Explore the town with its quaint shops and restaurants, travel the surrounding wine routes, or – for the more adventurous – go hiking or horse-riding through the vineyards and up the mountains. An all-encompassing luxurious experience with a beautiful view out of every window, Rijk’s Country House is sure to leave you feeling rejuvenated, relaxed and like you have discovered a little piece of paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rijks Country House

Address: Van der Stel Street Ext. | Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Price Range: $147 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rijks Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rijks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rijks Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the terraces have great views”
PJLP, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay at the hotel, we were here to sample the wine.”
wegetaround_42, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have lovely views.”
AnophelesLondon, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All good. Leave time for the in-house tasting especially the Pinotage.”
, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Superior Rooms are perfect for any couple!”
Stephan909, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5